We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #289 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Sofitel for 2 days. I really enjoyed the grounds, the hotel was really beautiful. The only bad part was the slow service at the pool and terrace. Took a really long time to get drinks (40 minutes for tea!!). The rooms were very lovely cleaned twice a day. The pool area is very clean and large many seating space. The room service was not bad. The lunch was also good. The hotel is in a prime location right near the casino, SO night club as well as Theatro. SO is really a great club and hotel guests don't pay cover. This hotel is great for those who want to be in a more modern and fancy part of Marrakech. For those who want authentic, stay in the medina

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    814
    437
    132
    76
    45
See reviews for
234
622
41
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed a week in Marrakech at this lovely hotel, for which this review is long overdue :-/

We stayed in August which ment some of the hottest temperatures I have ever experienced. The hotel was awesome, upon our arrival our bags were taken to our room while we checked-in. Cold towels and some fruit while we organised the room- which had been upgraded due to my partner celebrating a birthday during the holiday - compliments of the hotel!

Our room was cool and relaxing which was the perfect escape from the some 40 degree heat. An enormous bed and balcony.

The pools are first class with large loungers/couches and beds. Staff can't do enough for you, I don't think I opened a door the whole week!

This is a relaxing holiday and hotel, there is not much to do and the heat really takes it out of you. The hotel is expensive.... We ate at the pool a couple of days and the restaurant one. Lunch in the restaurant was very expensive and not really worth it to be honest - 90 quid for two.

Awesome if your looking for a week of nothing, the real noise an fun is only a 15 min walk.... The hotel itself doesn't have much to hold your attention.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montecito, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Certainly not a great hotel. We stayed here because my husband was attending a conference and this hotel was selected by the organizers. Although we arrived at the official check in time, we were forced to wait over two hours which was excruciating as we were tired and growing angry watching newer arrivals go straight to their rooms. I had to call four times until someone finally showed up to make the twin beds they assigned us into a king. Also had to call several times until they send a repair person to fix the television. The people at the front desk and the concierge were very busy during our entire stay and barely polite. On the plus side, the room was comfortable and attractive. Nonetheless, we could have stayed in a fabulous riad for the price we paid for this standard, rather charmless large hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

This is a very overdue review of our honeymoon hotel, but anyway...

We visited this hotel in Sept 2011. We wanted a short haul flight that took us somewhere very hot. The area, Hivernage is close to the Medina but you are able to retreat back to the hotel and away from the madness.

Rooms: The hotel provided us with a complimentary honeymoon upgrade to a superior room, which was very kind, with THE most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The room itself was spacious and well presented. The only downside was that the hallway, where the wardrobe is, was very poorly lit, so you could just about see what you were wearing before you stepped out of your room. Our balcony overlooked the pool and the terrace bar so when we returned in the evening, we could listen to the band/music from the bar.

Pool: The pool area is very clean and well maintained. The pool is surrounded by sun beds and a few loungers. We regularly saw guests that were offended that they were expected to use a lounger rather than the more desired beds. The pool area is very much the place to be seen...lots of people with money talking loudly on mobile phones, trying to get everyone else to look at them. It cannot be helped though, by the end of our stay, I even found myself peering over the top of my book at every newcomer to see what shoes, bag, hair-do and gadget they had. One highlight of my trip was to witness a lady put on her 4 inch heels, teeter 8ft over to the pools edge, take the shoes off and get in to the pool and do the same when she got out.....I giggled so much I that I dropped my catalogue pose that everyone has to adopt whilst sunbathing at this hotel. The pool itself is a good size and very refreshing in the heat.

Food/Drink: Great food. The prices for food and drink are very high at this hotel. Considering the quality of the food you get in the Medina, the prices at the hotel really are not justified, regardless of the clientele. We visited Cafe Extrablatt which is 5 mins walk, many times for breakfast and lunch. There is a supermarket 10 mins walk from the hotel if you run out of anything. It's also handy for getting extra water bottles for £0.30 if you get fed up of spending £7 on bottles around the pool.

After days of trying to find it, we actually found a lovely place that had been recommended to us, Cafe Arabe. Great place in the middle of the medina.

This is a great hotel but not for anyone who is looking for a casual break in shorts and flip flops. This is a top hotel in one of the richest parts of Marrakech. Therefore, it caters for the upmarket residents and clients. Looking back, I had been slightly naive and hadn't researched enough about the area. This hotel is in the equivalent of Beverly Hills and whilst we had a great time, it could be slightly intimidating. The prices do put you off too and you go on holiday to relax not to see if you can afford to have something to eat where you're staying.

The only bad experience we had during our stay was at check out. We were asked to pay the bill, which we wanted to check as the prices had been so high, and we found that someone had had a meal at the So Lounge on the night we arrived and charged it to our room...£150. I explained to reception that we had never eaten at the So Lounge and I definitely remembered where we ate that night as it was our first night. Reception showed me the receipt that was kept with the rest of the slips you sign for and said 'yes, this is in your folder'. I pointed out that the slip didn't have a signature on it and asked to see the manager of the So Lounge. After discussion, they agreed to take it off our bill, but if I hadn't have gone through the bill, as I'm sure most people wouldn't if they were used to these prices, we could have been very out of pocket.

Everything said, this is a very good hotel. If you like Dubai, etc but don't fancy travelling that far for a short break, then this would be perfect for you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I endorse the comments of other reviewers as to the high quality of the location, staff, rooms, pool area and breakfast (which was a wonderful experience when taken on the terrace). Bar prices were, however, exorbitant. So much so that, as a matter of principle, we simply didn't buy anything - so both the hotel and we ourselves lost out a little (although we did feel very virtuous). Overall, though, a very good hotel which I would certainly re-visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Just arrived back from Marrakesh and stayed at the Sofitel Hotel.
Had always wanted to try Marrakesh and was not disappointed.
The hotel is in a great locatipn has a wonderful pool area, bar and club.
The breakfast was buffet style and there was a great selection.
My only critisisms of this hotel are that the service is slow, tables not fully laid at breakfast. Although the staff were extremely pleasanr.
The rooms are just a little on the small side. We had a twin room and the beds were pushed together.

Other than that its an excellent base in Marrakesh.

The Medina is an experience. The clubs and bars are of good quality and have great live bands.
I can see why its gaining a reputation amongst the young and trendies.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great service, great food, lovely rooms beautifully decorated.....very relaxing pool area with comfy beds. Service was a bit slow....but I suppose you are in Africa...no-one seems to be in a hurry in Africa. Breakfast was fantastic too. Great location...would defo stay here again. Great little touches like buggy's and car seat available so you dont have to bring yours from the UK...and all very clean and new looking. Cant wait to take the hubby & Baby there...

Room Tip: Spa section was trendier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#110 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#184 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a splendid garden and fountains, Sofitel Marrakech is a premier Marrakech Morocco hotel. Its 346 Marrakech hotel rooms offer terraces or balconies with views of the mountains, swimming pool, or gardens. Guests at this luxury hotel in Marrakech, Morocco, will enjoy restaurants serving local and international cuisine, 3 bars, a nearby nightclub, a poolside snack bar, 3 bars, an indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre with a Jacuzzi, and a Turkish steam bath and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.