We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a budget hotel, you can't really knock it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Marrakech Centre Gare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Marrakech Centre Gare to your Saves list
Ibis Marrakech Centre Gare
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Hassan II | Place De La Gare, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #354 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“For a budget hotel, you can't really knock it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

First and foremost, I'll get the obvious things out the way. The hotel was clean, and friendly, and very good value for money (i booked this online, and got a further 20% off). We stayed for 6 nights and 7 days. The checkout time was 12, but as we was leaving that evening, the staff put away our luggage and we were free to continue enjoying the onsite facilities.

The location of this hotel is right next to the main train station in Marrakech, the Gare du Marrakech. Literally. On the other side of the wall of the hotels garden are train tracks and platforms. Don't be put off by this though, this isn't Clapham Junction or Euston. One train comes around every 30mins (that I noticed whilst I was there), if that. The trains were electric (i think?!) so the noise wasn't even loud. I actually found it quite nice to hear the odd train now and then, just to give a sense of location. The trains stop in the evening too.

Location wise - amazing. Again, for a budget hotel, your located IN, what's known as, "New Town". This is basically the modern side of Marrakech as opposed to "Old Town" which is the old-skool side (it's surrounded by walls and is where the main square, Jemaa el-Fnaa, is located along with the Souks). New Town's centre is probably around 10 minute walk turning left out the doors of Ibis, where you will find big brand name shops, amazing bustling restaurants and public gardens. Keep walking down the road for another 15-20 minutes (depends on how fast you walk I guess) and you will hit Old Town. If you don't mind walking, you'll save around 30-40 Dirhams on a taxi!

As for the hotel itself, the service was friendly and courteous. English is down the list of languages spoke in Morocco. It goes Arabic (conversational), French (official), English (totally, totally optional). If you speak English, they will do their very best to speak English back to you. The hotel manager speaks very good english and is very friendly. The hotel waiters will usually attend to you within minutes of sitting down, even if you don't want anything and just want to use the free Wi-fi. The bar food is satisfying if you want a snack, and there are a decent selection of Beers and Soft drinks (remember that alcohol isn't easy to find!).

For a budget hotel, this exceeded my expectations. Room was cleaned every day. Seen some bad reviews: just remember it's a budget hotel! If you plan to spend a lot of your time in a hotel, don't go for a budget hotel. Will be staying there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    197
    214
    89
    45
See reviews for
94
235
83
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Arrived early (9am)and were given a room straight away. Rhe first room was a smoking room so we asked to change and this was done without any problems. The reception staff were extremely helpul and polite. Great location if you are travelling onwards but probably wouldn;t recommend as part of a city break as it's a bit far to walk to the medina. NIce pool area and great breakfast and lunch (snack by the pool). The room was clean and comfortable with a great shower and even better air con - just what we needed to escape the heat. I will stay at an IBIS again.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
364 reviews 364 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 183 cities Reviews in 183 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

The hotel was clean but basic but also reasonaly priced. It isn't anything special but we would go back again as the staff were friendly and helpful and it was clean and tidy throughout.

It is located right next to the train station and taxi rank but neither caused us any disturbance. It is about a 10-15 minute walk into the main town from here which we did 2 or 3 times a day.

We only had breakfast at the hotel as wanted to try the local cuisine for our other meals but this was ok, just the usual type of continental style, not a huge choice but there was enough to start the day.

We would recommend this if you are on a budget and want somewhere cheap but ok.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the road may be a little noisier than pool view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

As the Ibis is so conveniently located, we have stayed here several times, but after staying in a couple of other hotels nearby, i would be inclined to shop around. For what the hotel offers, i think the standard rates are way too high, although they do offer cheaper rooms online sometimes. The rooms are small, the bathroom is even smaller, the towels are so small that you can't even wrap them around yourself and the bar of soap that you're given to wash with, is miniscule! That said, if you're familiar with the chain of hotels i imagine you would expect nothing more, and despite the size of the rooms they are clean and the air conditioning units work. They can be a little noisy at times due to the hotels location, as can the grounds, but the pool area is a nice space to unwind in after the hustle and bustle of the city. The staff are always pleasant, although at times they could do with an extra person on reception, and one member of staff was even kind enough to go out of the hotel and purchase some cigarettes for my husband, without asking or expecting a tip for it, which was a rare treat in Morocco!!
There is nothing terrible about this hotel, but neither is there anything brilliant about it, it does what it says on the tin!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We went to this hotel because we stayed before in others Ibis, so this is an average one, nothing really special. The price is not cheap but acceptable for what you get: Clean rooms and European standards.
Good hotel for a middle budget travelers.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Marrakech Centre Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Marrakech Centre Gare

Address: Avenue Hassan II | Place De La Gare, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #354 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Marrakech Centre Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 km from the airport, between the European district, La Palmeraie, and Jamaa El Fna square, the hotel IBIS Marrakech Centre Gare hotel offers all the amenities for a pleasant holiday: swimming pool, terrace, bar open 24/24 as well as LA TABLE restaurant. The city centre of Marrakech is a few min away on foot and public transport is accessible 20 m away. The 103 rooms available for booking are air-conditioned. You will find tennis courts and golf at 3 and 10 km respectively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Marrakech Centre Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Marrakech Centre Gare Hotel Marrakech
Accor Moussafir Marrakech Centre Gare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Marrakech Centre Gare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.