We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool little gem...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Mama Afrika

Cafe Mama Afrika
Rue Oum Errabia | 40000, Marrakech, Morocco
5 24 45 73 82
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 541 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cool little gem...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This little place is just what you need after a long walk... relaxing atmosphere, cold juices and massive salads. The food is not traditional but it's inventive and fresh; certainly worth a try. If you want to escape the souks for a couple of hours, Mama Africa is well worth it; especially if you love reggae music like we do.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    35
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Glad we found this gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

wonderful place we found by chance, when we got sick off tagines.

caribbean food, which was surprisingly good, also very thoughtful display. Highly recommend this play.

Also had a nice chilled feel to the restaurant, reggae music and national geo channel

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterlee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Reggae cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Reggae cafe serving good value food. Seems to be a lot of trendy locals here. Salads massive, served in wooden bowls. Main courses served on wooden slabs. Our rice was shaped like Africa and meat / veg etc on top - fantastic presentation, totally unexpected (hope I haven't spoiled he surprise) one extra mark for presentation

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Finally gave it a try and glad we did!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Have walked past this place countless times but never got round to trying the food, it stands out as being very different from the usual spots in Gueliz and attracts an 'alternative' crowd of mostly young locals.

Finally stopped for lunch last week and will definitely be visiting more often.

A range of salads, sandwiches and main dishes with a reggae twist - also good fresh juices.
Food was better than expected for the price and portions are large - we had the fried prawn salad and a spicy chicken and rice dish.

Friendly service and relaxed reggae music in the daytime.
Sometimes have DJs playing some bass heavy dance music in the evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“yummmy !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

In the new Marrakech you can find a caban.There you can feel a good atmosphere =)
Name: Mama Afrika!
Good food, good price, good atmosphere.
For sure next time in Marrakech, i'll be back there !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mama Afrika also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Cafe Mama Afrika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Mama Afrika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.