We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we found this gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Mama Afrika

Cafe Mama Afrika
Rue Oum Errabia | 40000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-57382
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 Dessert in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Fast Food, Vegetarian, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Glad we found this gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

wonderful place we found by chance, when we got sick off tagines.

caribbean food, which was surprisingly good, also very thoughtful display. Highly recommend this play.

Also had a nice chilled feel to the restaurant, reggae music and national geo channel

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrWhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Peterlee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Reggae cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Reggae cafe serving good value food. Seems to be a lot of trendy locals here. Salads massive, served in wooden bowls. Main courses served on wooden slabs. Our rice was shaped like Africa and meat / veg etc on top - fantastic presentation, totally unexpected (hope I haven't spoiled he surprise) one extra mark for presentation

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingjohn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Finally gave it a try and glad we did!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Have walked past this place countless times but never got round to trying the food, it stands out as being very different from the usual spots in Gueliz and attracts an 'alternative' crowd of mostly young locals.

Finally stopped for lunch last week and will definitely be visiting more often.

A range of salads, sandwiches and main dishes with a reggae twist - also good fresh juices.
Food was better than expected for the price and portions are large - we had the fried prawn salad and a spicy chicken and rice dish.

Friendly service and relaxed reggae music in the daytime.
Sometimes have DJs playing some bass heavy dance music in the evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank nibrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“yummmy !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

In the new Marrakech you can find a caban.There you can feel a good atmosphere =)
Name: Mama Afrika!
Good food, good price, good atmosphere.
For sure next time in Marrakech, i'll be back there !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patooou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great chill out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Very nice café, run by very nice young guys, food was very tasty, and presented very nicely on chop boards, fresh juice was good and good coffee.
If u like reggae and want to chill for an hour this is the place.
It cost me and my friend 186 d
500 d in the hotel last Night, this was a nice alittle find cheeper and better food, and thanks to the 3 previous who reviewed or we probably would not have gone here.





Helpful?
Thank xxxxgman44
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mama Afrika also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Cafe Mama Afrika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing