We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we found this gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Mama Afrika

Cafe Mama Afrika
Rue Oum Errabia | 40000, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5244-57382
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 610 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Glad we found this gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

wonderful place we found by chance, when we got sick off tagines.

caribbean food, which was surprisingly good, also very thoughtful display. Highly recommend this play.

Also had a nice chilled feel to the restaurant, reggae music and national geo channel

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    41
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterlee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Reggae cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Reggae cafe serving good value food. Seems to be a lot of trendy locals here. Salads massive, served in wooden bowls. Main courses served on wooden slabs. Our rice was shaped like Africa and meat / veg etc on top - fantastic presentation, totally unexpected (hope I haven't spoiled he surprise) one extra mark for presentation

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Finally gave it a try and glad we did!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Have walked past this place countless times but never got round to trying the food, it stands out as being very different from the usual spots in Gueliz and attracts an 'alternative' crowd of mostly young locals.

Finally stopped for lunch last week and will definitely be visiting more often.

A range of salads, sandwiches and main dishes with a reggae twist - also good fresh juices.
Food was better than expected for the price and portions are large - we had the fried prawn salad and a spicy chicken and rice dish.

Friendly service and relaxed reggae music in the daytime.
Sometimes have DJs playing some bass heavy dance music in the evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“yummmy !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

In the new Marrakech you can find a caban.There you can feel a good atmosphere =)
Name: Mama Afrika!
Good food, good price, good atmosphere.
For sure next time in Marrakech, i'll be back there !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great chill out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Very nice café, run by very nice young guys, food was very tasty, and presented very nicely on chop boards, fresh juice was good and good coffee.
If u like reggae and want to chill for an hour this is the place.
It cost me and my friend 186 d
500 d in the hotel last Night, this was a nice alittle find cheeper and better food, and thanks to the 3 previous who reviewed or we probably would not have gone here.





Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mama Afrika also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Cafe Mama Afrika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Mama Afrika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.