We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape the Madness!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bakchich Cafe

Bakchich Cafe
5 Rue des Banques | Kenaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 594 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Escape the Madness!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is a great little place, for peace & a sit down, tucked down at the end of Rue des Banques (do a right off the square at ' Cafe France').
The food was good quality & cheap..the service friendly & attentive.
We arrived early & one other table was taken, but by the time we left, at 9pm, it was busy.
Lastly, check out the recycled concrete etc bags, under plastic, covering the seating...novel.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    183
    20
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Bakchich Cafe - Escape the Souk Madness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here for 1st time, on strength of other recommendations.
It's a hard place to find, off the Jemma El Fna. Just ask for the 'Cafe de France' on the corner of the Rue, head straight to the end & when you think you've gone wrong, it's on the left.
We're glad we made the effort to find it. Rachid was helpful & friendly. We had mint tea (12 MAD) & chicken tagine, with olives & preserved lemons (with bread, 40 MAD). YUM!
We arrived early, there was one other table, but by the time we left, it was busy.
Service is quick & efficient.
A great place to escape the madness of the souk, with Wi-fi available.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Essaouira
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We ate her several times during our three days in Marrakech. Two of us were carnivores and one vegetarian, and everyone was satisfied. Being vegetarian in Morocco usually means eating a loot of harira soup (made from tomato pure and tasting like it), Moroccan salads and rather bland vegetarian/berber tagines, but in Baganazzi the food is somewhat more seasoned and there are a bit more salads to choose from.

This is really a lunch or breakfast gem. The food is very reasonably priced (30 dh for a tagine, for instance), the juices are fresh, everything tastes good (and has taste, which is worth quite a lot, considering that moroccan food, especially vegetarian food, has a tendency to be a bit bland), and there is no hassle. The atmosphere is hip and relaxed.

Oh, and it's right next to Jamaa el fna, so it's the perfect lunch place after a long morning of bargaining in the souks.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bakchich Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

After wandering around on our last night in Marrakesh looking for a 'fancy' place that served kefta tagine we finally wandered past Backchich cafe. It was lively and very inviting. The tagine was yummy, and very reasonably priced! And the staff were really nice too. Worth visiting!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good non touristy spot off the square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

A nice cosy place for a drink or a snack. We didn't eat there in the end but the service was good. Not much of a view, but reasonably priced and handy location.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bakchich Cafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Bakchich Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bakchich Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.