We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Terrace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sesame Garden

Sesame Garden
Jamaa El Fna, Marrakech, Morocco
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #432 of 536 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Moroccan
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pretty Terrace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

A nice restaurant out of the way but with a very,very pretty terrace. Definitely worth a visit. I had a lovely time there with friends for my birthday. Lovely food and all the waiters and staff were very friendly. Houssain who works on the door knows lots of places in Marrakesh if you want a good hammam and or cheap place to stay. He's honest too. Always helpful in Morocco!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

46% Recommend
    6
    8
    4
    1
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant with a big heart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Lovely restaurant owned by lovely people. I volunteered in morocco this summer and this restaurant opened during the day and let in homeless children which we played with and gave books and toys and they cooked food to feed them all, and played with a hose in the 50 degree heat! We went back in the evening and had food. Very good service and nice food, though the vegetarian selection was a bit limited!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibenik, Croatia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice meals for nice price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We found Sesame Garden during our first night in Marrakech! It's a little bit dificult to find it because you never look up, on teracce.
Finally we come to table, and waither was very nice and polite, very friendly, speak very good English!
It's really nice place in center of town, up on terrace with a lot of seats, inside and outside and live music!
Tagine was very nice, I like it combination solty and sweet, very very nice!!
Thanks! :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We found Sesame Garden by complete accident, we were actually looking for somewhere else but didn't realise we were on the wrong street and after walking up and down twice we finally succumb to those inviting us in, we were not disappointed. The restaurant is on a roof terrace with various seating areas, live music and candles and fairy lights to add to the atmosphere. We had the set 'Tourist menu' for 250 DH each (less than £25 per head) which included a lovely 4 course meal. My husband and I can eat a lot but we both had to leave almost half of every course as there was way too much, that being said it all tasted lovely and was beautifully presented, plus you got as much bottled water, mint tea and coffee you could drink. The staff are really friendly, spoke good English and the bathrooms were clean and pretty. I definitely recommend this restaurant, they even gave us a 30% discount card for our next visit, shame we only found it on our last night.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We have visited SESAME GARDEN during our 1st night in Marachesh and have had very nice meal - veggie salad & Tajines (both of very good quality). Local musician make our dinner even more special. We liked our dinner at Sesame Garden :-)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sesame Garden also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Sesame Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sesame Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;