We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jo's

Jo's
Residence Le Palacio | Rue Mohamed El Bequal, Marrakech, Morocco
00 212 524449853
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 588 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Lovely restaurant, beautiful surroundings and fabulous food. Great service and fantastic attention to detail. Not to be missed if visiting Marrakesh!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    25
    4
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing & Incomparable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

"THE" place to be. You have to go there if you plan to visit Marrakech. The Jo's Restaurant is the perfect mix between french cuisine and moroccan hospitality. Do not hesitate to order the "crème brulée". It was delicious. Moreover, you can come with family or friends to discover this warm setting. Definitely recommend it !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A French restaurant in Marrakech as good as any good restaurants in France....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Been to Jo's in marrakech few times,
this little french restaurant in the heart of the city offers excellent food, in a relaxed atmosphere, the service is very personal and it's great value for money. I highly recommend joe's.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Less than anticipated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I booked here due to the recommendations on trip advisor. I was travelling alone and wanted a good meal with wine without any drama.
I should say that I am quite particular about food and receiving good service, and whilst I'm not difficult to please there was an expectation based on reviews read.
The venue is beautiful, gorgeously decorated and very romantic with all the candles & music.
There is a limited menu which I don't mind at all. It was not possible to buy wine by the glass which was a shame, instead I had to buy a half bottle, which whilst not exceptional was pleasant. I ordered a sea food risotto for my main course. (I didn't have a starter) the food came promptly, and was a very generous size. However it was covered in Parmesan shavings which I don't really like with sea food. Due to,there only really being candle light in the restaurant, it was impossible to see what I was eating. There were lots of calamari rings (not my favourite) and I think a few mussels, but no prawns and only a few other bits of fish as far as I could tell. The dish was seriously under seasoned and required a lot of salt (I rarely normally add to food) and pepper, however no black pepper was available - and I had to settle for white. I ate probably 1/3 of the dish partly because of,the seasoning but also because I really couldn't see what I was eating, and for me part of the pleasure is seeing my food. It was only at the end of the meal when my plate was collected was I asked if I had enjoyed it. I stayed 45 minutes in total, and paid around £27 for wine and a main course, which I felt was very overpriced considering the dish tasting very average. What a shame, I had such high hopes.....

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Superb food and wonderful singer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

First class food , michelin star quality , worth the prices. The service is outstanding and the singer was fantastic. Great ambience. I would love to have bought a CD of the singer so if any future reviewers know his name please post it . Had a great evening at Jo's . Would eat a little later next time , maybe 8.45. Loved every minute of this restaurant experience .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jo's also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Jo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.