We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henna cafe

Henna cafe
Dar Bacha | Dar Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 604 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: profits go to charity
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We visited Henna cafe for a quick bite to eat and were very impressed. The food was delicious and extremely cheap. We even came back on our last day to catch a bite to eat before our flight back to London. All profits go to charity making it a worthwhile visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    71
    16
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
upstate NY
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across the Henna Café by accident on our way back to our Riad (Riad Chergui)which is very close. Surprised we never found it before. Chez Yassine, where we had a very nice local, very affordable lunch, the day before, was closed. The Henna Café is very affordable and the food was good and it has a cute little rooftop terrace, but more importantly, all of the profits from this café are donated to its charity that provides education and assistance to disable Moroccans (see photo). They sell lovely artwork and crafts and also provide Arabic language lessons for tourists every day at 3 PM for 20 direm. What a wonder place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really interesting little cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My partner and I spent a few afternoons of our holiday. Big plus is the free wifi and, if you want one, henna tattoos. The menu is small, but the food is really tasty. Would really recommend the lentils and orange juice. A cute cat and tortoise share the terrace with you. Very idyllic.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“nice lunch in a chilled out environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We visited the Henna Cafe twice during our 3 day stay. We had lunch on both occasions. The food was simple and delicious and most importantly fresh. So fresh that on one day we even saw the guy from the kitchen run downstairs to the local fruit and veg store to buy the salad ingredients for our sandwiches.

A great little place for food and to chill out on the terrace to escape the hustle and bustle and heat of the medina.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloubergstrand, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had an awesome lunch here and later that day, took our group back for dinner. Service was great - some people had a mishap with their order unfortunately.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henna cafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Henna cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henna cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.