We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henna cafe

Henna cafe
Dar Bacha | Dar Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 615 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: profits go to charity
upstate NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across the Henna Café by accident on our way back to our Riad (Riad Chergui)which is very close. Surprised we never found it before. Chez Yassine, where we had a very nice local, very affordable lunch, the day before, was closed. The Henna Café is very affordable and the food was good and it has a cute little rooftop terrace, but more importantly, all of the profits from this café are donated to its charity that provides education and assistance to disable Moroccans (see photo). They sell lovely artwork and crafts and also provide Arabic language lessons for tourists every day at 3 PM for 20 direm. What a wonder place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    76
    17
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really interesting little cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My partner and I spent a few afternoons of our holiday. Big plus is the free wifi and, if you want one, henna tattoos. The menu is small, but the food is really tasty. Would really recommend the lentils and orange juice. A cute cat and tortoise share the terrace with you. Very idyllic.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“nice lunch in a chilled out environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We visited the Henna Cafe twice during our 3 day stay. We had lunch on both occasions. The food was simple and delicious and most importantly fresh. So fresh that on one day we even saw the guy from the kitchen run downstairs to the local fruit and veg store to buy the salad ingredients for our sandwiches.

A great little place for food and to chill out on the terrace to escape the hustle and bustle and heat of the medina.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloubergstrand, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had an awesome lunch here and later that day, took our group back for dinner. Service was great - some people had a mishap with their order unfortunately.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Charitable Cafe Project in Centre of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at Riad Papillon and the owners set up the Henna Cafe so we were very happy to support it.
I had one foot and leg hannad and the henna lady was amazingly fast and friendly. I love it. She gave me a sock to protect the sheets. Similar price or cheaper than the aggressive ladies at the Big square. Recommend it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henna cafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Henna cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henna cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.