We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henna cafe

Henna cafe
Dar Bacha | Dar Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 554 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: profits go to charity
Dorchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A must visit gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

This cafe is a hidden gem! We spent the afternoon on the roof terrace in the sun. The cafe has a stack of straw hats to protect weary souq shoppers from the sun, and the resident tortoise provided amusement as he trundled around the terrace. Food was delicious! We had the mixed salad platter and the honours as well as the Moroccan sandwich and the falafel sandwich! All were delicious and the whole meal only came to 180 dirhams for 4 of us... Which equates to about £20, absolutely amazing!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    47
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful cafe with a great cause - so happy I went”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I am so happy we stumbled upon this place. Excellent food (we had hummus, falafel, and some other dishes). They were extremely friendly and it's seems like a great place to spend more time there - offer educational and cultural classes/workshops.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for Learning Arabic and Henna as well as good food and wifi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were recommended to go to the Henna cafe by our hotel dar habiba because the owners of dar habiba have set up henna cafe in conjunction with other brits. This place is not for profit and offers locals the chance to learn languages in order to get employment in the local area. in particular they support women. we saw a few classes going on and were even invited to help with the conversational english class which we did for 20 mins! Not so easy to see from the ground floor' go upstairs or on roof terrace. We loved its easy going atmosphere and mixing with the university students which you dont tend to get elsewhere.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charity Cafe in Marrakech- great food as well as atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

we were happy to spend our dirhamms here as we could see that the owners of this project are making a real difference here to the local community.
we had a great lesson of arabic words and sampled the tasty falafel and berber teas. You can volunteer here as well we met a volunteer and will tell our daughter and her friends to enquire.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
393 helpful votes 393 helpful votes
“love love love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

What a great place! Can't praise it enough.
Freshly prepared food made from scratch at real, non inflated prices. The stuff is not just friendly, they are loving!
Amazing views from the top, would recommend to go there at dusk, so you can enjoy your meal/cup of mint tea whilst listening to the call for the prayer.
you need to know that all of the profits go back to community!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henna cafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Henna cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henna cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.