We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Henna cafe

Henna cafe
Dar Bacha | Dar Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: profits go to charity
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I went with a friend to have some lunch and get henna done. The lunch was very tasty and reasonably priced and the choice of henna was big. I went first and the lady who did it was very smiley and friendly although she spoke no English (not that that was a problem!). She copied the design I picked but it wasn't exactly the same. I enjoyed the experience and wasn't worried though. It was still a great thing to do.

The cafe itself is very friendly and we spent a good 4 hours in there chatting to other people from various parts of the world.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    75
    40
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great taste of Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

What a wonderful place to find when walking around the busy streets of Marrakech! The food is all freshly prepared and very savoury. They also have a selection of various berber teas to chose from if you want alternatives to the traditional mint tea - Everyone who works there makes you feel very welcome and happily chats away to guests, giving out useful information and travel advice.
I had some henna done by Fatima, she is so talented and looked after me so well, making sure i was comfortable while the henna paste was drying. From what the manager was saying, they are trying to promote safe, natural henna around town ( apparently,the black henna performed in the square contains chemicals! ). Prices are reasonable and the profits are used to help local communities and support educational projects. I will definitely make it may priority visit when I come back to Marrakech!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“full of charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

A bit rough and ready but very clean and super service. All profits go to local charities. One of my fave meals of stay. Simple after but beautifully cooked and flavoured. Service was a smidge slow but the resident mini tortoise kept us entertained, bombing round our feet on the terrace. Super charming and really glad we went there for lunch. Didn't indulge in a henna but wish we had

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Lovely spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Literally 1 minute from our Riad, we had several coffees and teas there. It is actually run as an educational co-operative and charity, offering classes in Arabic to visitors and also classes in English to locals so they have a chance of getting a job in the tourist industry: well worth supporting I feel. Nice roof terrace and a cool room on the first floor.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good stop off”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Visited early Feb. Great work being carried out here. Run for the benefit of the community. The henna was real and turned out great, my fiancé loved it. The food ideal for a quick snack. Must see the turtle. Good stop off as you explore Marrakech.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henna cafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Been to Henna cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henna cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.