We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aloes

Save Saved
You added Riad Aloes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Aloes
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   129 Derb Snane | Mouassine - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #196 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
novara
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had three nights in this excellent riad. The location is great for exploring the medina of Marrakech and all the attractions but also to reach the Jardin Majorelle outside the medina. Rooms are very nice and comfortable and equipped with air conditioning and wifi connection. A very nice terrace with a view on the minaret of koutoubia mosque is used for the breakfast and is a perfect location for a tea in the evening. The staff is very kind and always available. In addition there is a small swimming pool equipped with hydro-massage functionality to relax after a long day spent walking in Marrakech. The car parking is close to the riad (5-10 minutes walking).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    25
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
58
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Riad Aloes is a traditional Riad within 7-8 min walking distance fm Jemaa El Fna. We stayed there for 4 nights.
The good:
-great proximity to Djammar el Fna
-quiet location
-generally clean

The bad:
-Once or twice we could not get in because the landlord was out and we were not given keys
-The breakfast was poor unless we demanded something better. Especially the last breakfast was basic showing that the management had already forgotten about us which generated a bad aftertaste to my friends and I.
-problematic wi-fi connection

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really well restored riad in the medina. Not luxurious or pretentious, just tastefully done and very comfortable. Air conditioning in the rooms helped as it is hot in august. The staff were very friendly, Mustafa took a genuine interest in us, and our stay in marrakech, always happy to give us advice, but most of all helped us really understand morocco and Moroccans. The lady that prepared the breakfasts was fantastic, not just nice food, but she was very friendly and did everything with care. I thought it was really good value, and very close to the souks and main attractions in the medina, I would certainly go there again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The riad is situated in a great location, a quiet peaceful alleyway away from the hustle and noise of the Medina and is conveniently close to the souks and Jamaa el Fna square. The riad itself is decorated in traditional Moroccan style with a pool in the main courtyard and a small number of rooms above. Our room was spacious, clean and peaceful. The breakfast served on the amazing rooftop terrace is absolutely fresh and lovely. But what made the stay extra special for us was the kindness and care recieved from a staff member, Mustafa. We have very fond memories of sharing evenings talking as friends on the rooftop under the stars. As well as becoming a friend, as a staff member he was highly efficient and helpful in everyway, he arranged an organised a day trip to the atlas mountains for us and took great care to notify us of things happening on his days off. Thanks Mustafa! Most certainly recommend Riad Aloes to anyone looking to have a comfortable,relaxing and peaceful place to stay among the craziness of the Medina.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glinde, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

During our self organised tour through Morocco in June we started in Marrakech and booked a few nights in Riad Aloes due to the excellent reviews on various websites. We were welcomed by very friendly staff which was always helpful throughout our stay. The booked room was very spacious and interestingly decorated in Moroccon typical stay. The breakfasts on the roof teracce were a great start into the day. After very pleasant four days we were undortunately faced with the rip off of a 5 % charge for credit card payment which was not indicated on the reservation documents. We went to the next cash ATM to draw cash because such a percentage surcharge is not normal at all and was hte only time in a 3-week trip through the country that it has been requested. Hence, furture guests need to have sufficient cash in their valet.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The staff here were extremely welcomimg and helpful. The Riad is situated in a great location just a few minutes from Jamaa el Fna. The room was beautifully decorated, the jacuzzi plunge pool is great to relax in after a day sight seeing and the terrace is a lovely place fro breakfast or for relaxing with a bottle of wine. I would highy recommend Riad Aloes.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights there and were made to feel as if we were staying at friends's.Everybody there went out of their way to help and please us.Olivier,the owner,who speaks fluent German and offered to come shopping, Mustafa who welcomed us on our arrival in a terrible thunderstorm with a wonderful patience,Abdullah with all his tips where to eat and last but not least Zaida the cook with the best yoghourt we have ever eaten.
The Riad is situated wonderfully central that walking is easy.
It is clean and tastefully furnished.Breakfast on the terrace with the view to the snow mountains of the Atlas is so wonderful and unforgettable.
We will come back soon!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Aloes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aloes

Address: 129 Derb Snane | Mouassine - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Aloes 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic riad located in the trendy area of mouassine, close to place jemaa el fna.Easy access,you will love its volumes, the patio with a beautiful pool,the lounges and its terrace with views over the atlas mountains and the koutoubia mosque. Attentive staff and quality services: 5 comfortably equipped rooms, rafined moroccan dishes, luxury relaxation space nearby -massages, hammam,...- selected by us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Aloes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Aloes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.