We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value casa saarda” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Saada

Casa Saada
68 Rue de la KASBAH | a cote TOMBEAUX SAADIENS, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-90200
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 582 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: European, Delicatessen, Moroccan, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, UK
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Good value casa saarda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Casa Saarda Is on the main road through the Kasbah area - at the top of the road near the Kasbah mosque and the tombs. Seen from the street its just a door with the kebab grill out front. Pretty easy to miss it, but if you look up you will see the roof terrace with Casa Saarda written on the wall.
We ate here twice during a week in Marrakech. Service was friendly, and food good. It's not a gourmet dining experience, just a basic, hassle-free place to eat.
The Gourmet salad was very good (see photo). The beef grilled on a kebab stick was tasty if a little chewy, and the chicken on kebab sticks was well seasoned with morrocan herbs. Both were served with chips.
The best dish we had was the vegetarian Tajine which was a delightfully flavoured mountain of vegetables - all really fresh and well cooked in a delicious sauce. Really really good.
The vegetarian pizza was also good - loaded with roasted peppers, zucchini and aubergines. But when in Morroco I believe going for the more local food (tajine / couscous) is generally the best.
No alcohol on the menu. Portions are huge. Meals cost around 70 MAD per course. Drinks around 20-30 MAD. (Fresh banana juice is something worth trying) Salads are listed as starters but are large enough to be a meal on their own. We never managed to eat all the food that we had ordered, despite it tasting great.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    86
    26
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, france
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had such an excellent dinner here that we came back the next night! We enjoyed the chicken couscous, which was loaded with almond and raisin and notes of cinnamon. It hit the spot and was the best cous cous we enjoyed over the course of our 10-day trip.

We also had the meat skewers, which were flavorful and perfectly cooked.

Sit on the terrace on a warm night and relax. Perfect.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Average - nice but not fantastic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I am also surprised that this is so highly raved about on TripAdvisor. We went one lunchtime as we were bored with tagines and couscous. We had a pizza and a spaghetti bolognaise. Let's face it, not exactly gourmet food! Both very enjoyable and hit the spot but does not really explain it's high rating.
Service was OK, view from rooftop terrace was OK, food was OK.
No complaints but nothing to rave about.
It is pretty much directly opposite the Kasbah Mosque and the entrance to the Saadi Tombs.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nowhere near as good as reviewed.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

If this is the 10th best restaurant in Marrakech (as I write this) then it doesn't really speak much for the quality of the food here. The staff ask you to comment on Trip Advisor so I guess by shear weight of numbers this pushes it up the ranks. I take issue with people rating places like this five stars, I can only presume they have never had the pleasure of an eating experience in a real quality establishment.

There is no spectacular view despite what others have said. The street is narrow and because of the height when you are on the top floor terrace the only thing you can see is the tatty looking buildings directly opposite. You can see one stork's nest, but if that is your thing Kosy Bar has better stork opportunities.

We went for lunch and a man moaned at us in Arabic because we disturbed him as he was asleep on the restaurant floor! He promptly went back to sleep.

They do not serve alcohol here (like a lot of establishments in Marrakesh).

Prices are average to a little on the high side.

I had the opportunity to taste a number of dishes here:-

The strawberry juice. The best thing on the menu.

The lamb tagine with three dried fruits. Okay portion size. Tastes good with a nice blend of Morrocan spices. But Souk Kafe does better.

Beef tagine with couscous. Three minuscule cubes of beef, loaded with vegetables that are over cooked and all taste the same. The couscous has no taste. This dish is exceptionally bland and was a huge disappointment, I didn't eat most of it.

Morrocan pizza. Okay, not quite as nice as a frozen Goodfellas pizza. Nice sweet peppers.

Chicken pizza. Pretty bland. Not much more to say.

Mixed skewers. Beef was chewy, no Morrocan spices of any note. Chicken skewers had some spices but were a bit salty. I can do much nicer lamb kofta skewers at home. Chips were okay and the grilled vegetables were quite nice.

Pastilla with almond and caramelised apple. You get one teaspoon size dollop of apple on top. The whole thing is sort of like an apple turnover without the apple so you're really just eating pastry. To my mind this does not qualify as a dessert.

As long as you have low expectations I guess you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“First meal in Marrakech was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We only had pizza's, but they were very good (slightly oily, but very tasty)... We all also had various juices, and the entire meal for four adults came to only 400 MAD! Great ambience on the top floor terrace, too... Staff were very professional and courteous. One initially forgotten drink was immediately forthcoming. I would definitely recommend this venue as very good value for money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Saada also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Casa Saada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Saada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.