We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food. Warm welcome. Good service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheese Me - CLOSED

Cheese Me
68 Rue de la Liberte | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-58227
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $32
Cuisines: French, Tapas, Vegetarian, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Warm welcome. Good service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Great place for a meal and drink. A warm welcome with attentive service. Relaxed with good and knowledgable advice. I had a very enjoyable meal. I would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    34
    4
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cheese and Wine in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a lovely surprise this restaurant was, take time out from the Tagine's and spend a few hours with the lovely owner Karim and his wife. We had the platter of cheeses to share and the different wines to compliment them with salad and homemade bread ( straight from the oven). We totally enjoyed it, a very different and unexpected saturday evening dinner. Karim and his wife made us so welcome, he explained the various cheeses and the wines. They also cater for people who are not mad about cheese, so everyone can have a good time. You really should give it a go!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delightful and intimate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited this small yet intimate restaurant for lunch shortly before our flight back home and we were glad we did. We had the restaurant to ourselves and thus experienced the full attention of Karim and his wife, who were very warm and inviting hosts. There were a good selection foods and desserts on the menu and we didn’t have to wait long for our food. The ingredients were fresh and the food was piping hot and tasty. If we were to revisit Marrakech, we would definitely return for another quiet lazy lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
could be anywhere
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A nice cafe for wine and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stopped here for a dinner in June 2013. Had a nice conversation with the owner, an enjoyable bottle of white wine, and several dishes from the menu.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff, excellent wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We visited Cheese me on the last night of a 4 night stay in Marrakech. As people say it's a good choice if you'd like a change from the typical food and something a little more 'gastro', though not pretentious.

The manager is very welcoming, chatty and helpful. We had the cheese fondue with a selection of tapas and it was incredibly tasty. The wine we had alongside it was fantastic and there was a large choice on the menu. We also had dessert with a dessert wine recommended by the staff which was excellent.

This place really hit the spot for us and we had a very enjoyable evening there. It's a little hard to find (in theory it shouldn't be but the locals gave us some interesting directions), right down the end of the street. Gueliz doesn't have much to offer, in my opinion, but it's worth a visit for Cheese me alone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheese Me also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheese Me, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.