We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food. Warm welcome. Good service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheese Me - CLOSED

Cheese Me
68 Rue de la Liberte | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-58227
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: French, International, Vegetarian, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: One of the last restaurants located in the district of Gueliz, the concept is new in the Red City. A cuisine made with organic food, with a French and Italian declinaison. We propose a daily menu which change everyday as its a market menu. Also vegetarian dishes, French and Italian food, Tapas, wine and Moroccan beer are available.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Warm welcome. Good service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Great place for a meal and drink. A warm welcome with attentive service. Relaxed with good and knowledgable advice. I had a very enjoyable meal. I would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    34
    4
    1
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cheese and Wine in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a lovely surprise this restaurant was, take time out from the Tagine's and spend a few hours with the lovely owner Karim and his wife. We had the platter of cheeses to share and the different wines to compliment them with salad and homemade bread ( straight from the oven). We totally enjoyed it, a very different and unexpected saturday evening dinner. Karim and his wife made us so welcome, he explained the various cheeses and the wines. They also cater for people who are not mad about cheese, so everyone can have a good time. You really should give it a go!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delightful and intimate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited this small yet intimate restaurant for lunch shortly before our flight back home and we were glad we did. We had the restaurant to ourselves and thus experienced the full attention of Karim and his wife, who were very warm and inviting hosts. There were a good selection foods and desserts on the menu and we didn’t have to wait long for our food. The ingredients were fresh and the food was piping hot and tasty. If we were to revisit Marrakech, we would definitely return for another quiet lazy lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
could be anywhere
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A nice cafe for wine and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stopped here for a dinner in June 2013. Had a nice conversation with the owner, an enjoyable bottle of white wine, and several dishes from the menu.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff, excellent wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We visited Cheese me on the last night of a 4 night stay in Marrakech. As people say it's a good choice if you'd like a change from the typical food and something a little more 'gastro', though not pretentious.

The manager is very welcoming, chatty and helpful. We had the cheese fondue with a selection of tapas and it was incredibly tasty. The wine we had alongside it was fantastic and there was a large choice on the menu. We also had dessert with a dessert wine recommended by the staff which was excellent.

This place really hit the spot for us and we had a very enjoyable evening there. It's a little hard to find (in theory it shouldn't be but the locals gave us some interesting directions), right down the end of the street. Gueliz doesn't have much to offer, in my opinion, but it's worth a visit for Cheese me alone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheese Me also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheese Me, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.