We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheese Me

Cheese Me
68 Rue de la Liberte | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
0634675690
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 527 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $5 - $32
Cuisines: French, Tapas, Vegetarian, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Best food in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My friend and I had a very tight budget. We decided to walk a long way from our hotel to this restaurant this evening. This restaurant is located in the side street, so it is very difficult to find. After two days experience in here, we knew that the local cannot be trusted. So, we made sure that we could reach there without any help from the local.
We tried their burger and the pork dish (the name starts with t). The food was really delicious. The cheese starter was fantastic.
The restaurant offered a really peaceful environment compare to the busy old market. The owner was very nice. He also chatted with us for a long time and taught us where to get the snacks and bottle water.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    154
    34
    4
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London , UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The food is not worth any mention”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Small bistro, soulless, in the new city, the food is not worth any mention. Uneatable entrecote, full of nerves, very hard to chew and served barely warm. Good French cheeses, but very expensive. Selection of wines quite large, compared to what it would be normally found in restaurants of Marrakesh, but at a price too dear for their quality.
Charming welcome, but, after, the service is accurate only for regular customers, the others... must wait.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valg386, Propriétaire at Cheese Me, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Once again one more false comments !
Mind your own restaurant, take care of your guests and RIP!!!
We would like to thanks all our real guests for visiting us and all the one who did'nt come yet.
We assure you CHEESE ME is a must do if you want live a real food experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Deserves it's reputation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is the perfect place to go once you have had enough of tagines. The service is friendly and attentive. The food is simply delicious. They have a great selection of cheeses. The tartiflette, the baked camembert and the olive dipped chips were highlights but everything was amazing. The coffee was great at the end too.. Overall wonderful.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great selection of cheese and wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The owner is very nice and helps you get to know marrakech. The plate of cheese was very good and one of the best places to get good wine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Surprisingly satisfying change of pace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Eating a burger and fries at a wine bar was not a thing I thought I'd do in Marrakech, but hey, there's more to life than tagine. It's a funky, stylish little place that feels very much like the surrounding Gueliz area. Prices are honestly lower than I expected and in comparison with other menus I saw in the new city. The service was quite good - the owner especially seemed willing to talk up the city and give advice, though it was our last night there.

The burger is not quite what you expect - closer to a steak sandwich than the usual ground beef. It was super tender though, cooked perfectly with fresh toppings. Cheese was great too. The fries though. Oh man, the fries. Some of the best I've ever had. You have to get them with the tapenade finish. They're bigger than usual, but still that perfect crispy on the outside, fluffy on the inside. I wish I had these at home.

I believe the owner said they'd have a location in the old city soon, but the walk was worth it. Pleasant surprise.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheese Me also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Cheese Me? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheese Me, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.