We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best meal in morroco.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheese Me - CLOSED

Cheese Me
68 Rue de la Liberte | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-58227
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $32
Cuisines: French, Tapas, Vegetarian, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our best meal in morroco.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Specialising in its wide selection of wines and cheese, cheese me excels at what it does best. We had the 10 piece cheese board with some wine and tapas, and honestly I have never had a cheeseboard even close to the quality. The cheese was imported in specially from France and was exquisite. The service was fantastic, my partner and I were treated like royalty upon arrival, food came out swiftly, and the owner was so nice and personally concerned for our welfare that we also left with a soft spot for him. If you like cheese, and wine, and your not in cheese me, then your doing it wrong.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    34
    4
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Must do in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We went here based on the previous reviwes we weren't disappointed! The homemade fries with olive tapenade & cheese fondue gives a whole new meaning to cheesy chips - fabulous! Excellent local wine albeit quite pricy. Great service, very attentive didn't have to wait long for first or second courses or for plates to be cleared away. Definitely recommend for your stay in Marrakech but not cheap!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“really enjoyed our visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

we visited in june . a little hard to find but worth it .

we had a lovely welcome and Karim looked after us very well .

we had the 4 cheeses and what a great starter !with nice warm french bread, The wine was a1 too . You can tell they are passionate about their food .

next was the burger -also very good and the handmade chips with it were very original and lovely (with olives on them ).

all in all a good night and a defo recommend . it is a small place ,very personal , very clean (i had a peek in the kitchen and it was spotless -very clean - what you want to know in marrakech !) ,Karim was a very nice guy , service good . my wife even took out a doggy bag because she was full on the 1st course .

next time we will go for the bigger cheese selection ...cant wait

they even e mailed us the cheeses we had

thank you :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Something a little different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Something a little different in the nouvelle ville - despite the unpromising location, this is a smart and stylish little cafe bar, offering a genuinely interesting and well kept cheese platter, which you can accompany with wine by the glass or bottle - we enjoyed an interesting Moroccan white. Good service, with a friendly waiter who is a mine of tourist information too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A bad experience!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Writing is not a pleasure for me, so I'm always reluctant to send feedback. Yesterday I reviewed the bills of May and I found the receipt for the bill paid to Cheese-Me: I relived the awful experience at this restaurant and I decided to send the present. Given its position in Tripadvisor, we chose it for a dinner that was not again a tajine.. With the exception of a plate of French cheeses, where the ability of the chef certainly is not involved, the other dishes, and especially the fondue bourguignon, were a catastrophe. The meat was tough, the oil .. all the ingredients of poor quality! The waiter brought back into the kitchen, the meat dish still almost full without asking if there was something wrong! The service doesn’t exist. The restaurant is little and with a poor furnishing, plastic chairs and tables very small, and cannot be considered more than a bistro, but the bill was one of a top restaurant! 4th position on Tripadvisor??

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valg386, Propriétaire at Cheese Me, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Once again, a virtual guest has visited us horribly !
To whom it concerned, Mind your restaurant, Take care of your guests ans RIP !!!
We would like to thanks our real customers for visiting us and we look forward to welcome new one's in order to make them live a real CHEESE ME experience !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheese Me also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheese Me, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.