We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheese Me

Cheese Me
68 Rue de la Liberte | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-58227
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 553 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $5 - $32
Cuisines: French, Tapas, Vegetarian, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Cheese me is just round the corner from our hotel. It's quite small and on two levels. owners Karin and Valerie are charming. We had lovely starters, and a superb cheese fondue. service was good and the food lovely. We will be going back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    34
    4
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Finally, no tajine tonight :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Easley located just around the corner of our hotel (1 minute walk) we found Cheese Me! So happy to do so! The service is very good and the owner had time for some small talk wich was very nice to hear. Not everything was there yet because of the holiday's but the food we got was so good, we had the idea to be in France for a couple of hours. We are certainly going again! This is the kind of place where you can feel the owner is the captain, keep doing so and Cheese Me wil be on our top list to visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very far from what we expected!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

From a restaurant I expect good food, good service, pleasant and comfortable ambience at a reasonable price: None of these qualities are part of what the Cheese Me, offered to my friend and I for the dinner we had there.
The restaurant, located in a nondescript part of the new town is quite small, on two floors, is not enough heated so we had dinner wearing the coats. There isn’t an isolated space for non-smokers with the result that we had to put up with the smoke of the other guests and the one of the owner as well. Our table was on the 1st floor, between the entrance door to the kitchen and the toilet area separated by a simple curtain from the rest: Very unpleasant!

The tables are tiny and wobbly and the plastic chairs not at all comfortable. No tablecloth, but a perforated rubber placemat of dubious cleanliness and paper napkins.
When we started to choose the dishes, the owner came to tell us the specials that included an entrecote ... which, 2 minutes later, when we ordered it was not any longer available, obliging us to recompose the entire menu. My friend did not want to order cheese plates, for dietary reasons, and so we had no choice, but to order the fondue bourguignon, which is only served for a minimum of 2 people. Certainly not the dish that I wanted, but the owner did not give us, due the shortcomings of the menu, the choice to order it for one person only.
I should have refused at that point to stay, but not to take the risk of not finding a table at another restaurant, because the peak period, I decided to the contrary and... I have been completely wrong. The meat for the fondue bourguignon was certainly not fillet, some pieces were so hard that was impossible to... swallow them, and in addition, the frying oil had an unpleasant aftertaste ... In a word a disaster!
The bill? More expensive than in a good restaurant in London! The cherry on the cake was the addition of 3% for payment by credit card: Really ridiculous!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valg386, Propriétaire at Cheese Me, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Google Translation
Cher monsieur, nous vous remercions de votre commentaire pour le moins suprenant.
Surprenant en effet, de choisir de passer la soirée dans un bar à vins avec une restauration spécialisée en fromages, quand on aime ni le fromage, ni les petits endroits conviviaux qui caracterisent un bar à vin.
Etrange aussi de s'emouvoir des usages d'un pays que l'on visite et qui, forcément, ne ressemble ni à Londres, ni à Paris !!! Comme 99% des établissements de Marrakech, le tabac est autorisé dans les bars, restaurants, hôtels, night club, aéroport...etc .
De même la surtaxe pour paiement VISA est d'usage courant dans les restaurants, riads, hotels au Maroc.
Concernant notre mobilier et notre equipement, tout est une affaire de goût...et manifestement nous ne partageons pas les mêmes.
Quand à la qualité de nos produits, elle est l'objet de toute notre attention, nous ne travaillons que des produits nobles, de première fraicheur et unanimement appréciés !
Nous vous rappelons que dans le cadre de notre service, nous vous avons interrogé à plusieurs reprises pour s'assurer de votre satisfaction, et qu'à aucun moment, vous n'avez émis de remarques négatives, hormis le fait que votre ami était allergique au fromage !
En conclusion, nous vous recommandons à l'avenir, de quitter les lieux d'un restaurant qui ne vous plait pas,(et meme en période de fête, nous vous aurions aidé à trouver une table dans l'un des 380 restaurants que compte Marrakech) plutot que de passer une mauvaise soirée en affirmant aux responsables que tout va bien !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for a light dinner with a glass of wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

What a lovely place for a light dinner with friends, business associates, or your significant other. Karim is helpful and kind, makes great suggestions, and is willing to adjust his menu for the vegetarian. Nice and clean, lovely place, friendly people... Best place out of the Medina!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Erik of Sweden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

When you, like us, get that craving for cheese, the need to get away from the Medina or just want an exellent restaurant you should head for Cheese Me. Lovely place, lovely owners with a passion for what they do and great food. Soooo recommended!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheese Me also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Cheese Me? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheese Me, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.