We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar NanKa

Save Saved
You added Dar NanKa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar NanKa
Domaine Freha Route De L'ourika Km 13, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We absolutely adored this hotel. I'll list out the positives and the few negatives to make for an easy read.

Positives
- Free pick up from the airport (about 20 mins)
- Salah made us a soup and salad snack and poured us a glass of wine, even though we didn't arrive until just before 2am
- The hotel is impeccably designed and was just stunning. We splashed out on the Master Suite that was HUGE and had a jacuzzi bath, huge shower in the stunning marble bathroom, humongous bed, bureau, armchairs, tv, ipod dock, a big balcony with sun loungers and a table and chairs
- Breakfast is included (breads, cheese, salami, fruit salad, spreads and tea/coffee/fresh fruit juice)
- Shuttles into Jeema El Fna were very handy (3 per day there and 2 per day return)
- Pool was fabulous, came equipped with water noodles :)
- Very comfy sunbeds
- Pool bar with cool music
- Great lunch menu
- Very clean at all times
- Smiles from all the staff
- Great location
- Free wifi all around the hotel, good signal and easy to access

Negatives
- Toilet roll was the cheap stuff that's not very soft!
- Wasn't always so easy to find a staff member, however it was Ramadan and so we felt bad as they must have been shattered with no food or water, working in 40 degree heat
- We couldn't get the jacuzzi bath to work

All in all it was a wonderful trip, well worth the money and I am definitely recommending to family//friends.

Thanks Dar Nanka

Room Tip: Go for the master suite for added luxury but all rooms looked pretty perfect to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    9
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

A very nice venue . Belgian owners , Nancy & Mika . Beautifully decorated . Excellent for golfers , good golf arrangement , 5 different golf courses included , with transfers included .
To go back to !

Room Tip: Choose a room away from street side , lot of traffic noice .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Last October my wife and I decided to go away for a romantic week to the exotic city of Marrakech in Morocco. Luckily We found this hidden gem just 20 minutes outside the city, owned by a lovely Belgian couple. They gave up everything they owned in Belgium and moved to Morocco to build this small but intimate resort lovingly decorated with attention to detail. There are about 15 small villas each with a different theme, or you can stay in the rooms in the main building. The service and the food was excellent. There is also a lovely pool served by a bar for some fresh juices or cocktails that take your fancy. All in all we had a lovely three days in Dar Nanka before we headed to Marrakech to experience a couple of days in one of the riads tucked away in the midst of the busy streets.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Beautiful open house, where you feel welcome. Nicely decorated and extremely friendly staff always ready to Make you feel at Home. We could not find our way to the hotel ( because of Some roads being blocked for an event)and they did send a driver to show the way to the hotel

We stayed for two nights with our son of 3.5 for whom a special diner was prepared.

But please never be in a hurry.....everything is always taken care off but it takes a while. Maybe not enough staff if fully booked.

Something went wrong with our booking and we just arrived at lunchtime when everybody was very busy. We were a bit lost and nobody told us in the beginning what was going on but in the end problem was solved, we had to change rooms after one night and a nice compensation was offered. The day we left we had to wait more than one hour before we coul settle, while just before at breakfast we had informed the owner that we were leaving.

Anyway we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We booked this hotel with intentions to chill out and relax. No whirlwind sightseeing or crazy adventure planned, all we wanted to do was relax. Dar NanKa fit the bill perfectly. We couldn't have asked for a more welcoming place. From the decor, to the humble owners and the ever so caring staff. We were truly pampered for the week.

We stayed in one of the pavilion rooms set back from the main villa. It was beautifuly designed and felt like a nice little retreat of our own.

The food was great, in fact we only ate elsewhere once the entire week!

Book this hotel if you're looking for a bit of sunshine with beautiful surroundings... you won't be disapointed!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea, Hants.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

From the road you cannot see Dar Nanka which is located in a security gated complex of new luxury villlas. As we pulled up outside the neat gardens, luxurious cushioned sun loungers could be seen through the shrubs. The large entrance was boutique chic and style and I felt happy to have arrived...The friendly staff introduced themsleves to us and gave us a complimentary drink and snack in comfortable chair, as we off loaded the story of our disapointing abandoned reservations elsewhere. Soon, all was forgotten and we felt like house guests not hotel guests. We had our bags taken to the room and Faizel showed us how to work everything with no problems. The beds were comfortable, large and clean in beautiul rooms. The bathroom was stocked with smellies/towlels but no shampoo/conditioner, but space to spread cosmetics out with plugs and a hairdyer.
We ate dinner at the hotel, the two menus provide chefs dinner and standard menu. Both were great with chef special 300dh for three courses or 250 for two course, but a chance to try Morrocan and French dishes. The chef gave me his Taktouka recipe (yum) to take home. The bar is open until late, with an open tab (no cash). Breakfast was served seemlessly by Simone, it consisted of fresh bread, eggs how you like, real butter, sliced meat, cheese, crepes, american pancakes, moroccan pancakes, fresh fruits, good coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice and was included in the room rate. Complimentary morrocan tea and home made sponge cake still warm was served in the afternoon, so we had no hunger pains by dinner. Drinks can be ordered at the pool bar or on your lounger by Said2 who made sure we had water, ice, alcohol, crisps, nuts and music in the background. We did not have to strain ourselves apart from choosing what to eat for supper. The pool warm wasslightly heated so it was good for a swim.
After dinner Said2 and Salad brought us drinks by the log fire and guests could watch TV in the snug, read many of the design and travel books, use the wifi in the main lounge. The frech satilite tv can be watched in English for some movies/programmes in the audio setting on the tv by changing the language. After a couple of days we visited the Souks, the mountains and a local restaurant using the travel services of Said1, work associate of Dar Nanka. Nancy was around briefly but she was the sweeping glamourous hostess with the grace of a starlet and the sophistion of an ambassadors wife, which is expressed in the design of Dar Nanka. Mika so down to earth and friendly was on hand to help with anything (made dinner reservations for us in French and drove us too). When our flight time was changed he collected us at short notice and drove us to the airport...The break was relaxing and the room rates were fair. If I came again I would bring more casual deigner clothes, download somemore things to the ipad to read/watch. The rooms have DVD players if you have an over due box set to watch late at night. Drinks/breakfast could be taken in the room. No access to ATM, money exchange, cigarettes, pain relief/medication or chocolate/munchies so a trip to the shop in a taxi is needed. Bottled water is given at night to take to the room. Spa and hairdresser on sight but all is paid in cash, not card machine or tab. Rooms serviced daily. Happy to recommend and happy to rebook.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view as the sunset on the mountains is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The journey to Dar Nanka from the Medina was very smooth and only took 15 minutes. When we arrived, we were warmly welcomed and invited to settle in with cups of delicious Moroccan tea. Whilst we started to unwind and relax we heard the inspiring story of how the owners, Nancy and Mika, had fallen in love with Marrakech and given up life in their home country, Belgium, to create this gorgeous boutique hotel. Nancy has a true designer's vision and has filled the house with beautiful colours, tactile furnishings and eclectic objects that make you feel as though you are staying in a stunning family home rather than in an hotel. Every item, from the smart grey sun loungers that seem completely impervious to water, to the incredibly comfortable sofas both in the house and on the terraces and even to the charming Continental tableware, has been considered and chosen to give pleasure and visual delight.

Our bedroom, in the main house, was delightfully styled with a four poster bed, miles of wardrobe space, a private terrace and an open fire. Romantic, tranquil and bathed in light. We slept like babes and awoke to delicious breakfasts of fresh fruit, crepes and aromatic coffee. We would then wander off to the lovely pool and soak up sun until drifting back for lunch...then pool...then dinner.....then bar....then bed. We stayed at Dar Nanka for four nights and only went out once! The whole ambience was like being at a house party where you didn't know the owners or the other guests very well, but were sure you liked them a lot.

And I think that is the X factor of Dar Nanka. Nancy and Mika have created a haven of delight for their guests - design beauty, great food and wonderful care. But beyond that, they have inspired all their team to feel part of this life-enhancing endeavour; we were delighted by every single member of their staff and felt the sincerity of their desire to ensure all their guests had a memorable stay.

We travel a lot and rarely stay in the same place twice - but Dar Nanka? Already dreaming of the next visit....:)

Room Tip: All the first floor rooms in the main house are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar NanKa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar NanKa

Address: Domaine Freha Route De L'ourika Km 13, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice mix of East and West way of life, combining time and cultures, with a few old furnitures, welcome to Dar Nanka. Make this place yours and we hope that every moment will be a moment of real happiness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia and Odigeo so you can book your Dar NanKa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar NanKa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.