We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical and idyllic haven...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar NanKa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dar NanKa to your Saves list
Dar NanKa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Domaine Freha Route De L'ourika Km 13, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Magical and idyllic haven...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The journey to Dar Nanka from the Medina was very smooth and only took 15 minutes. When we arrived, we were warmly welcomed and invited to settle in with cups of delicious Moroccan tea. Whilst we started to unwind and relax we heard the inspiring story of how the owners, Nancy and Mika, had fallen in love with Marrakech and given up life in their home country, Belgium, to create this gorgeous boutique hotel. Nancy has a true designer's vision and has filled the house with beautiful colours, tactile furnishings and eclectic objects that make you feel as though you are staying in a stunning family home rather than in an hotel. Every item, from the smart grey sun loungers that seem completely impervious to water, to the incredibly comfortable sofas both in the house and on the terraces and even to the charming Continental tableware, has been considered and chosen to give pleasure and visual delight.

Our bedroom, in the main house, was delightfully styled with a four poster bed, miles of wardrobe space, a private terrace and an open fire. Romantic, tranquil and bathed in light. We slept like babes and awoke to delicious breakfasts of fresh fruit, crepes and aromatic coffee. We would then wander off to the lovely pool and soak up sun until drifting back for lunch...then pool...then dinner.....then bar....then bed. We stayed at Dar Nanka for four nights and only went out once! The whole ambience was like being at a house party where you didn't know the owners or the other guests very well, but were sure you liked them a lot.

And I think that is the X factor of Dar Nanka. Nancy and Mika have created a haven of delight for their guests - design beauty, great food and wonderful care. But beyond that, they have inspired all their team to feel part of this life-enhancing endeavour; we were delighted by every single member of their staff and felt the sincerity of their desire to ensure all their guests had a memorable stay.

We travel a lot and rarely stay in the same place twice - but Dar Nanka? Already dreaming of the next visit....:)

Room Tip: All the first floor rooms in the main house are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    9
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Dar Nanka is a beautiful guesthouse about 15 minute drive from Marrakech, and feels more like an expensive mansion house than a hotel. The owners, Nancy and Mika provide a welcome and relaxed environment for their guests, putting all emphasis on making you feel right at home. The house is extremely stylish and feels personal due to the many beautiful antiques Nancy has collected. Every room, every area of the guesthouse and gardens feels different and you spend the day roaming from one spot to the next. The gardens are well manicured and feel idyllic. Laze by the pool on the iron sun loungers sipping a cocktail or stay sheltered from the sun reading a book on the plush sofas on one of the three terraces (some of the rooms also have a private terrace with their own sun loungers).

We stayed in room 2 or 'Terre Marrakchi', which was spacious, beautifully decorated (of course), and offered all the usual modern amenities (music, television, hairdryer) as well as a spacious shower room. The bed was very comfortable, something we are often disappointed with, and we also got the morning sun which was lovely. Perhaps the only slight downside was the road noise, from the nearby highway, but quite honestly it didn't bother you much and I suspect it is rather common as many hotels are jotted off the highway outside of Marrakech.

The kitchen deserves a special mention. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner there all of the 3 days and absolutely loved it. The menu wasn't anything overly complicated, but everything tasted amazing (especially the tagines and seafood). As Nancy explained to us, quality of the ingredients is very important to them and it really showed. Dinner was always a 3 course menu with two options for each course. Very reasonably priced at 300dh per person (about 30eur). Breakfast (complimentary) was also great, with a variety of fresh juices available and they were happy to cook up our eggs however we liked them. Perhaps one small moan is that there wasn't an English lunch menu available.

We also really enjoyed the spa, about 100m from the main house. There were a variety of treatments available. We both really enjoyed our hammam, massage and facial. A free hammam was included as part of our stay but were only told once starting to pay that we had to go between 10am-2pm to get it for free. Wish they would have told us that at the beginning, though perhaps we should have asked!

All in all, we felt it's the perfect place to get away from it all, soak up some sun and eat lots of good food. In the end we really didn't want to leave! The transfer to Marrakech is also quite reasonable at 150 per person, for exploring the medina.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Dar Nanka was booked as a present and I was not disappointed. The service from arrival at the airport to check-out was excellent. We had 2 rooms - a suite and a standard room - both were tastefully decorated and really comfortable. Although we didn't eat dinner, the breakfast and lunch were good. The owners - Mika and Nancy - along with their team were very attentive and helped arranged dinner reservations and excursions. The grounds and atmosphere are wonderful; however being based slightly outside Marrakech means that you can't just pop into the city centre and taxis can get quite expensive, particularly at night. That said, if you're looking for a great place to stay where you can dip in and out of the hustle and bustle then Dar Nanka is a great choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is the only place to stay in Marrakech. The service you recieve from Jawad the owners and their team is on a par with some of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. From the porters to the kitchen they are wonderful so helpfuland polite nothing is to much trouble. I would be amazed if some of the big hotels have not tried to poach Jawad the belgian coulpe and their staff. The atmosphere at dar nanka is wonderful we sat by the pool at night for drinks and also to have breakfast it was magical.
Jawad organised a car with our own driver to take us to the Atlas mountains what a fantastic day our driver was excellent but I would expect nothing less knowing Jawad booked it for us. Two of us had the complimentary hammam gommage and a massage if you were not relaxed before belive me you are so laid back after you will fall over.
As has been said in all the reviews the little touches make the holiday the mobile phone you are given in case you get lost and the wonderful map and time that Jawad took on our first moring to help us get around the Medina, but if you do nothing else have a meal at night cooked by the chef it was supberb i could go on for ever but when you have had a perfect time you want everyone to know about it. thanks again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Melford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I spent 4 fantastic nights with a girl friend at Dar Nanka and could not fault it in any way. The service, rooms, food and facilities were impeccable!
I enjoyed my stay so much I have re-booked to return with my husband in October.
Thank you Mika and Nancy for your wonderful hospitality and I agree with a previous review that it was like being in a chic house party!
See you in October guys!!

Room Tip: All rooms were beautiful .....I had a good peep whilst I was there ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford,UK
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have just returned from a trip to Morocco and spent our first 3 nights at Dar Nanka. The driver met us at the airport and we were impressed with the gardens and setting of the guesthouse. It is more of the latter than a hotel. A bit like staying at a houseparty . Mika and Nancy were friendly, kind and attentive hosts. They can arrange all sorts of excursions for guests staying for longer periods. Yes, service esp at breakfast can be a little relaxed but it was nothing major . Also , there was no particular dinner time. We eventually learnt to seat ourselves at a table when we were ready and dinner was duly served !
The bedroom was huge and comfortable. The pool area was glorious and we often had it to ourselves even though I think there was full occupation and several families.
Food was delicious , more French-Belgian than Moroccan so again providing a gentle intro to the country . It is a bit far out of Marrakech and a taxi will cost 150dh for a single trip. We hired a car and driver via Mika for 12 hours for 800dh , allowing us to visit the Majorelle Gardens, the chaos of the souks , back to Dar Nanka to relax and then back into the city for a dinner at La Maison Arabe.
On our second day Mika leant us his own bikes and we enjoyed a 30km cycle into the countryside near the villa and had lunch in a golf club restaurant . A great way to explore the local countryside, very peaceful and scenic with the Atlas mountains behind.
I would recommend Dar Nanka for the service from the hosts, the lovely decor and gardens , the great pool and the retreat it provides away from the dust and bustle of the medina.
Excellent way to experience Marrakech with small children as you can go to the centre for brief periods of time and then return to cool , calm European-style comfort.
All in all we were delighted with Dar Nanka. Big thank you to Mika , Nancy and all the lovely staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Dar Nanka is a beautiful hotel. The rooms are stunning - we stayed in their standard double which was anything but standard. Big comfortable bed, large bathroom with rain shower, own sun terrace and tasteful decor throughout. The owners - Mika and Nancy - and all staff are warm and helpful treating you more like their own guests than customers. Highlights include pancakes and fresh orange juice for breakfast outside, lazing by the lovely pool on their day-beds and the Hammam we enjoyed free of charge at their spa. The lunches and dinner we had were also delicious. The only negative is that the hotel is located about 20 mins drive outside Marrakech and most taxi drivers were unsure where it was! Overall we had a fantastic holiday and would highly recommend Dar Nanka.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar NanKa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar NanKa

Address: Domaine Freha Route De L'ourika Km 13, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar NanKa 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice mix of East and West way of life, combining time and cultures, with a few old furnitures, welcome to Dar Nanka. Make this place yours and we hope that every moment will be a moment of real happiness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dar NanKa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar NanKa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.