We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just how I would like my house to be....in another life !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar NanKa

Save Saved
You added Dar NanKa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar NanKa
Domaine Freha Route De L'ourika Km 13, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Wales
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Just how I would like my house to be....in another life !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were picked up from the train station by Sayeed (sorry about spelling) who was very nice. He drove us to Dar Nanka and then continued to show us to our spectacular room.

Well that's what we thought. Loved the music playing loudly as we entered, the terrace was extremely large and furnished with 2 sun beds and a table. The bed and bedding are extremely comfortable and the jacuzzi bathroom and shower area were a dream.

It is a beautiful boutique property and the downstairs is like a grand but comfortable house, with different seating areas, including an intimate bar. We sat everywhere. The fires were lit at night and after dinner we took our digestivs in front of the fire lying on slouchy cushions...home from home.

The outside pool area is very enticing but in February the pool was perishing, we did have a dip and after the shock wears off it was quite good fun to splash around in. There is also a Boules area which we used regularly, a rake would be a good idea to have handy though as it did become rutted from us playing.

You can have any drinks you like around the pool and surrounding areas. Nibbles accompany the alcoholic drinks. The white wine is chilled and good value at approximately £16 a bottle, the red was good too.

We ate here both nights we stayed as we had already stayed in the heart of the Medina. We were very impressed with the quality of the food and the presentation was superb. Simor was a delight, actually all the staff we met were, including Nowell and Sayeed.
Simor was there when needed and discreet when not. We were the only 2 dining on our second night, but it made no difference to us at all.

Breakfast was traditionally Morrocan which I have to say satisfied us up until dinner, with a few nibbles and pastries thrown in along the day.

There is a new spa which has been opened at the end of the garden which is beautifully decorated and worth a visit.

On our last day my husband had a birthday and at 10am the staff called us in as we were playing Boules and sang happy birthday and presented him with pastries , a candle and 2 glasses of champagne. Lovely gesture.

Would I return ...Yes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    9
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

A beautiful, stylish, elegant place which is perfect for relaxation and fun; brilliant team of staff, wonderful and very hospitable owners who do all they can to make you feel welcome and part of the family; lovely atmosphere with excellent attention to detail in all areas.

Absolutely loved every minute of it and will definitely return in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Well, that's how Dar Nanka makes you feel. It is truly exceptional. Mika and Nancy are the most wonderful hands-on owners who have not only done a wonderful job in making this a truly stunning chic boutique hotel but make you feel so very welcome. The rooms are fabulous - the attention to detail is credit to Nancy's great eye for interior decor.. but it's not just the rooms.. it's the way you feel staying here. Everything is so personal. The chef gets to know your likes and dislikes instantly and will even give you a cooking class should you so desire. If you fancy some chocolate, he'll even let you raid the fridge. If you're cold, they'll be blankets instantly to hand and log fires lit. The service is second to none. This really is a magnificent way to experience Marrakech and I would recommend whole-heartedly to anyone who was thinking about staying here. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: You really won't find a bad room here. Of course the larger the room, the more impressive it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

After three hectic nights in the Medina, to move to Dar Nanka was paradise, it is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed and would highly recommend it. It is a short drive away from the Media and other areas such as Hivernage which in my opinion has the best restaurants and bars. Nancy and Mika greeted us and took time to show us around the villas and recommend where the best places are to go on an evening. Nancy and Mika provided a very personalised experience and we felt like we were treated as their friends. Mika was very kind and booked some of the suggested venues for dinner for me and my boyfriend.

The villas are amazing, the main villa is decorated like something from ‘Homes and Gardens’ magazine! We stayed in a pavilion room which was its own little villa with micro pool and double sunbed on the roof terrace. Fantastic value for money.

All the staff were welcoming and helpful, the pool area is beautiful and we loved the snacks that they came around with throughout the day e.g. mint tea, chocolate pancakes, crisps etc. not to mention the lovely breakfast and mojitos. A VIP experience all round.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We knew this property was special the moment we booked it from the website but the arrival is simply breathtaking.

Mika & Nancy have done an amazing job in creating such a tasteful and relaxing 8 bedroom hotel. We stayed in the Master Bedroom - grand is the best way to describe it - magnificent may also go some way to expressing just how pleased we were.

The staff are wonderful - breakfast perfect - the pool is quality. All made for the most relaxing stay in Marrakech.

All the family loved it including our teenage kids.

Amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar NanKa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar NanKa

Address: Domaine Freha Route De L'ourika Km 13, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice mix of East and West way of life, combining time and cultures, with a few old furnitures, welcome to Dar Nanka. Make this place yours and we hope that every moment will be a moment of real happiness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Prestigia so you can book your Dar NanKa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar NanKa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.