We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Riad, lovely staff but poor breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Rose Du Desert

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad La Rose Du Desert to your Saves list
Riad La Rose Du Desert
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   181 Arset Aouzal Bab Doukala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Aldeburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Riad, lovely staff but poor breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This Riad is in fact two. One is painted blue and the other is painted red and they are a short distance between them both.

We stayed in the blue Riad which is very quiet as you have to go to the red Riad to have breakfast and this is also where the reception is.

The staff are fantastic and are very happy to assist you in anyway they can, but like all Moroccans they do like a tip when you leave.

They also recommend various excursions etc. They recommend a Haman spa which was appalling to say the least! which was a royal rip off. I suggest that you do your own research rather than ask locals as they all have a back handed reward!

The only downfall of this Riad is that the breakfast is rather poor unless you like bread and jam, day in day out!

The room itself was lovely and the bed wonderful and slept really well. There is a mosque close by so expect a wake up chant at 5:30am.

All in all a good stay and would recommend to take your own fruit for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    43
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
77
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Airport transfer available, with the driver walking us to the Riad (can be very difficult to find if it is your first time in the Medina). Although the Riad is located in the Medina, it is quiet at night. Wifi available in the rooms and they are quite spacious. Aircon/heater available, rooms were not cold and very comfortable to sleep in. Breakfast serve on the terrace is amazing.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilhabela, SP
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The hotel is in a quiet street and 10 min walking from Djeema El Fna. The staff is always in a good mood and ready to help, they are really lovely and made myself very comfortable satying in such a busy town. The beds are excellent, good sleep quality and the hotel is very clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here with my boyfriend for 3 nights in sept when we arrived in Marrakesh.We have been to the country a few times before so we know what to expect. Having stayed in cheap riads within walking distance from the square, we decided to stay somewhere quieter. At only 25 Euros a night, for a air con room with en suite and flat screen TV 5 minutes walk from the square is amazing value! we were greeted by the management with mint tea and biscuits, and were able to chill out in the lounge while our room was getting ready. The room was IMMACULATE. I'm such a fuss poss, but the bed, the linen the bathroom were all fantastic. Having a door bell system where only the management let guests enter along with a safe in the room was a big plus for anyone who worry's about the safety of their belongings. Breakfast was great too! it was so good that we booked to stay here on the last night of our trip before flying out in the morning as it was cheap enough from the square to the airport.
Defiantly will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in October. Airport pickup (late evening) worked out well and somebody from the Riad then met us at the entrance to the Medina to walk the last few meters. As mentioned before the Riad is a short walk away from the big square and most of the sights but nothing too bad. Allows you too walk through some "real" Marrakech on the way there. The (superior) room was nice and clean but there was a slight smell in the bathroom from the sewage system, something that is pretty common in the Marrakech Medina. Breakfast was ok but pretty basic and we had better elsewhere in Morocco. Also most days we only got one cup of coffee. The roof terrace was a nice to relax and have breakfast but offers basically no view due to the high walls. Even if you climb and look over the walls other higher houses/roofs block the view. Staff was nice and helpful (maps etc.). Most of the staff spoke only Arabic and French but one person was fluent in English, if necessary. The Riad is located right next to a mosque, so (at least in our room) we heard the call to prayer every morning around 5 am.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Yousef and all other servivial staff are lovely and helped us in many of the tours we did and even accompanied us to a hamam. all at a great price and with a spectacular qualities.

The only bad thing: the location is difficult, but for 20 dh t accompany easy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I have stayed in this Riad only for 1 night with a group of friends in September and we loved the cosy rooms and the service! Although it is a little far away from the centre and difficult to find in the beginning (recommend arranging pick up service with the hotel in advance), it is a very good option for someone who is looking for a calm spot in busy Marrakech!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Les Jardins des Lilas
Riad Les Jardins des Lilas
#228 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad des Etoiles
Riad des Etoiles
#23 of 205 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Louaya
Riad Louaya
#33 of 205 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa El Arsa
Villa El Arsa
#2 of 205 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Amani
Riad Amani
#15 of 205 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Amanouz
Riad Amanouz
#50 of 205 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad La Rose Du Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Rose Du Desert

Address: 181 Arset Aouzal Bab Doukala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad La Rose Du Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad situated right in the heart of the medina, in a district the most secure which is DAR EL pasha, and 10 min stands of the famous place(square) JEMAA EL FNAA, it is Riad which has the best value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad La Rose Du Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Rose Du Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.