We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“neither cultural, nor entertaining show” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Ali

Chez Ali
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chez Ali
Save
You added Chez Ali to your Saves list
Route de Casablanca, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Ranked #437 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“neither cultural, nor entertaining show”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

it's a big and pompous show but neither authentically cultural nor entertaining...the subject is a moroccan wedding but dances and songs are played around your table, not on a stage and in the finale the rest of the show is on a stadium !!!!!!!!!riders, the wedding again, the belly dancer (one!) music is live only around the table, on the stadium it's a recorded mixture of traditional berber music and carmina burana and progressive! it is nor entertaining because you are not invited to dance in the end... the only good point is the food which is much and delicious...and if you buy it from the hotel is much cheaper then from the travel agency...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
3
2
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We booked this on the pretext that my partner is a horse rider and wanted to see the horses in the show. It was only after booking we read the reviews, but rather than cancelling we went anyway.

As our expectations had been reset and we really quite enjoyed the experience. It was cheesy and bit over the top touristy but no more than if you had done a similar thing else where as I have at home in Australia.

I think the confusion is that if you are expecting a "cultural event" on Moroccan life you would be disappointed. If you are looking for a fun night that is not too serious and a bit cheesy this it is.

The show is entertaining enough, the food is actually good and the wine we bought was nice. The service was, well a bit average but I have had worse to.

We enjoyed the night, the horse show was entertaining and there was a lot of musket firing which was loud so expect this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I went with some trepidation having read the reviews. However unless you're expecting a Disney spectacular then you won't be disappointed. The dinner consisted of 4 courses (huge portions) accompanied by efficient service and great vibrant surroundings. Musicians coming to your table may not be everyone's mint cup of tea but it's definitely an experience. It's certainly not for those who like a quite romantic dinner in a Michellin star restaurant. After the dinner the show was good and better than expected, the horse riding skills were definitely impressive and the show worked as a concept. At 450drh it is pricey though we did negotiate our two young children for free, so don't accept the first price. A great eving alongside the other Marrakech musts!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We arrived late due to the transport being late. We were sat in a dark corner away from other guests. The waiter for the drinks took 30 minutes (we were told that food was included in the price but drinks weren't - we ordered 2 bottles of water, usually 20dh, came to 75dh!).
The food was terrible, the 'lamb' was stringy and it was too dark to see what we were eating.
The show started whilst we were still eating - it was horses running up and down...in general, it was a waste of money and the 30 minute drive from our hotel in the centre of Marrakech wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chez Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Ali

Address: Route de Casablanca, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #437 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Ali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.