We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chafia

Save Saved
You added Riad Chafia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Chafia
15, derb El Farrane | Médina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

I just stayed for several nights and will return on my way back to Marrakech. Owner Patrick is as friendly as they come, walking with you to the huge Djemaa el Fna in case you get lost. Which you won't with his instructions. It's about a ten-minute walk to the square but you'd think you were in the countryside, with birds singing and tortoises padding around the terrace. He's a delight, Rashid is a delight, and you couldn't be in better hands. Very woman-friendly, and a great place for groups or for solo travel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
34
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tenerife, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Absolutely fabulous atmosphere, cosy and elegant, in the best part of the medina. Lovely, clean, and extremely well decorated. Patrick, the owner, is a magnificent person, always coming up with ideas and suggestions to make the best of our visit. It was our first visit to Morocco. He helped us adapt to the city and customs, and he managed to make us feel at home and to fall in love with the city and the country. Superb experience. We are desperate to come back!! Insha'Allah ;)

Room Tip: We stayed in room Lila. Superbly well decorated. Excellent taste and the bed was huge and confortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed at Riad Chafia for a long weekend, and it was a great experience. Patrick the owner was a wonderful host, advising us on prices and haggling, things to look out for, walking us to places so we didnt get lost and coordinating our packed itinerary! Felt more like we were staying with a good friend ;). The riad has been beautifully decorated, and is quiet. Also its on the edge of the medina, just 1min from a square where you can grab a taxi (theres no room for these to drive in most of the medina) near the Ben Youssef Madrasa and just 10mins walk through the souks to the Djmaa el Fnaa i.e. perfect location. Will definitely come back and stay next time we are in Marrakech!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The riad is located in the middle of a dead end branch off one of the the major souk roads. The location is peaceful, but beware the call to prayer if you are a light sleeper (I had no problem but others in our group heard them). However, with so many mosques around the city that will be the case no matter where you stay, there was not one offending mosque near the Riad it was just many in the area all using loudspeakers at once that gets your attention. The enterance to the Riad looks like it is out of the movie "The Hobbit" and by that I mean the door is probably only 4 and a half feet high and is down a side alley. You will feel like you will never be able to find the hotel again the first time they take you there. Don't worry getting lost is part of the fun of Marrakech and you will find your back. However, I highly recommend arranging a transport in advance from the airport it is cheaper and less daunting.

The beds are true doubles not two mattresses pushed together. Breakfast is mostly carbs, but is different each day and includes coffee, bread, jam, and the daily special (eggs, moroccan pancakes, sweet cakes, etc.). Ceilings especially in the bathrooms are very high (12 feet plus) which keeps it cool. There was a rainfall shower head in ours and includes soap and shampoo. The rooms did not have a window that opened to the outside, just the courtyard, but did have ventless heaters and airconditioners in each room so you can keep the temperature as you would like.

Patrick is a well dressed french ex-pat who will make you feel right at home and Rachid is a great host and cook as well. Patrick was completely honest and helpful. He gave us a quick tour around the area and maps that were quite helpful. They go out of there way to make your stay comfortable. I felt a bit badly when Patrick asked if I would like some pistachios and I said yes thinking he had a few extra in the next room. Next thing I know he had called a contact down the road to go pick them up and deliver them just for us. They wouldn't accept any money for them either.

Tip if you travel during winter: Riad just means house built around a center courtyard, they are usually very bealutiful. However, It does get cold in winter and rain so make sure your Riad has a cover for the open courtyard. Riad Chafia did and it made the say very comfortable during the one day of rain and the colder temperatures. Otherwise you will be stuck in your room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We spent 4 nights in the Riad Chafia (3 nights, then a trip throughout Morocco, then one last night), and it was great! Patrick and Rachid provided us with many tips and advices that made our Moroccan trip smoother. They made us feel completely at home and relaxed. The Riad is ideally located in the Medina, but a couple of streets away from the busy souks and the cab stations (respectively 30 seconds and 2 minutes away by foot), providing a quiet atmosphere to relax after a busy day in Marrakech.
The rooms were nice (prefer the big ones with smaller bathrooms) and clean.
If we go back to Marrakech, we'll stay there again without a doubt!

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but the bigger ones with smaller bathrooms are nicer. Be sure to ask Patrick fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Spent 5 days at the Riad and it was a great experience. Patrick was a wonderful host, trying to accommodate whatever you desire. This place deserves 5 stars due to him! The accommodations were beautifully decorated, with the rooms and bathrooms being a generous size. The location is the second best thing as it’s an easy 10 minute walk to the main square, so you are close to everything, but far enough away it is more peaceful, and a taxi area is only a minute walk away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just back from 4 day break. The riad has been beautifully restored and is in an excellent location on the edge of the medina so that you can easily visit both old and new Marrakech. The location is surprisingly peaceful considering the bustle outside. I would suggest that you take earplugs though as the call to prayer starts at 5.30am, this would be the case at any riad. This riad is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Chafia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chafia

Address: 15, derb El Farrane | Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Chafia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chafia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.