We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chafia

Save Saved
You added Riad Chafia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Chafia
15, derb El Farrane | Médina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Patrick, the owner, absolutely makes this place. He is so helpful and generous. A French national who moved to Marrakech to run his own riad. There is nothing he won't do for you. On our last day we had to get up very early for our flight (around 4am). He got up half an hour before us and had made us a farewell breakfast. He is happy to arrange day trips and suggest excursions.

The riad itself is lovely and a welcome relief from the hustle and bustle of the streets. The rooftop is tranquil and relaxing. We spent a lot of time here. He has some pet turtles (who guests keep buying for him) that are quite charming.

The rooms themselves are nice and air conditioned. The inner walls are a little thin so noise from within the riad can be a problem.

Patrick has done a really good job of decorating the place.

It's located just north of the soukhs and within easy walking distance of the main square (Jamaa el Fna), if you can navigate your way through! It's also reasonably located for walking to the new town.

One thing to say, you will not find this riad on your own. Be sure to contact Patrick beforehand so he can come and greet you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
33
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This guesthouse is heaven on earth. It is in the best location of the medina and located very close to most of the main attractions, however it's very tranquil and the perfect place to relax after a busy day of haggling in the souks. You get a feel of exhilaration and peace of mind the moment you walk through the door. The members of staff are very helpful and will go out of their way to make you feel welcome, safe and comfortable during your stay at the riad. Patrick, Omar, Rasheed and Fatima are so amazing and are forever smiling. They are all so very helpful and their sincerity and vulnerability will make you cherish life and count your blessings each day. For a true authentic moroccan cuisine, please put it on your to do list and have dinner riad. Fatima makes a shamazing tangine. Riad Chafia was an amazing surprise and sometimes you don't have to pay 5 star prices to have the best experience. Words can't explain the beauty of this place and the people who run it. You just have to stay there and experience it for yourself, to truly understand and appreciate such elegance, authenticity and generosity.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The riad has a great location in the medina, close to some of the must see sites, at the edge of the souks, and 10 min walking from the big square. Also easy to get to by taxi as there is a square close by where they can drop you off. Ask for a map or to be picked up, as the entrance to the riad is not that well signposted and somewhat difficult to find the first time (in an alley from an alley from a little street).
The owner, Patrick is Berber friendly (that’s a compliment), which is not evident in hassling Marrakesh. He’ll be more than happy to provide restaurant tips.
Breakfast was good and served on the rooftop terrace which is surprisingly silent for being in the middle of the medina.
We will probably return when visiting Marrakesh again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Riad Chafia is a superb little oasis. It is located in a very good place in the Medina – easy to find by taxi once you’ve been there. It is only a 10 min walk from the square. It is beautifully and tastefully decorated in contemporary Moroccan style. Its vibrant and very clean. Breakfast was great. The owner was a perfect host and helped us with a lot of information and with booking our taxi back to the airport. If we happen to visit Marrakech again we will, without doubt, book this Riad.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

This riad is fantastic! Patrick the owner is probably the most helpful and most generous person in Marrakech! The rooms are beautiful, and just enough space! Patrick speaks good English and is able to help with so many things. He even took us to a hammam and helped us with working out the money. The breakfast was great croissants, yogurt and tasty omelettes. I didn't want to write this review as the place is so good that I didn't want to tell the world about it and wanted to keep it as my little secret! There are only 5 rooms so be quick to book as he is unsurprisingly busy! You will need help to find the place as it is deep in the souks but Patrick can organise a shuttle service from the airport!

I honestly couldn't rate this place highly enough. Turtles on the terrace, salamanders in the garden. A small plunge pool, tv room, access to the kitchen and Patrick with all his local knowledge! Fantastic! It is a little walk to the main sqaure but the experience of staying here is well worth it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed here mid April, for 4days. everything about this riad was beautiful! Clean, safe and a perfect location! The owner and staff, and there friends made our stay welcoming, Felt like we where at home in this traditional boutique styled house!

Location is ideal walking distance from everything you need really, close to a taxi rank as well to escape from inside the walls for the day. It's also perfect as it just in the right area! So peaceful on the roof top all day, away from the hustle and bustle of the square.

Rooms are sooooo lovely! Very secure! Spacious! We stayed in Yasmina, loved everything about it! The whole place was relaxing and cosy. Always remember the 3 tortoises on the roof! Over feeding them peaches!

The breakfast now that was a treat every morning! Selection of local foods! So much choice! Set you up for the day until the evening!

The owner! Now a massive thank you goes out to him he couldn't have made our stay anymore enjoyable, his recommendations and advice was so helpful! Will never forget our trip to his local hamman he kindly walked us too! Such an experience!

Can't wait to return as soon as I can! And will definitely be staying here! Who needs a hotel when you can stay in a riad chafia!

Met some amazing people out there and can't wait to see them in the near future.

Marrakech is a must see place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I spent 3 nights at Riad Chafia in late April 2013. This place is a peaceful haven in the madness of the medina - just 10 minutes from the Jemaa el-Fnaa square and within easy walking distance of all the main sites. Inside is beautifully decorated; the rooms are comfortable and welcoming. Tortoises roam free on the roof terrace - a great spot to enjoy breakfast in the morning and sunbathe in the afternoon.

The standout point of Riad Chafia is without a doubt Patrick, the owner. Patrick arranged my airport transfers, recommended good spots to eat, and showed me the route to all of the main attractions. When I wanted to do a little shopping, he even offered to come along and make sure I got the best price.

You can probably find more luxurious riads in Marrakech, but I doubt there are any as welcoming as here. Riad Chafia could (and - given the time and effort Patrick spends looking after his guests - probably should...) charge much more than it does. Absolute bargain for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Room 5 ("Warda") has a large and impressive bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Chafia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chafia

Address: 15, derb El Farrane | Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Chafia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chafia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.