We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little Riad in heart of Marrakeck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chafia

Save Saved
You added Riad Chafia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Chafia
15, derb El Farrane | Médina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice little Riad in heart of Marrakeck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I spent 4 nights in Riad Chafia in April. I really liked it a lot as it is located on a small alley which mean very quite to rest after the hustle of the Medina :)
It is located 15mn walk from Djema Efna square and 15mn walk from Majorelle.
My room was Lilac one, perfect size, clean, very good bed.
Owner Tareq is very friendly and helpful!
There's plenty of space to relax - terrasse, patio.
You can feed the turles on the terrasse, I named them Lulu and Geraldine :)
Breakfast is good (too many thinks for me as I am not a big eater!).
only 1 little thing to improve: I would have prefer frsh squeezed oragne juice and local jam :)
Other than that all good!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
33
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Fantastic experience at this accommodation. Walking down a small alleyway reminiscent of a charlie and the chocolate factory scene you arrive at a tiny beautiful door entitled Riad Chafia. The Riad itself is beautifully presented with unique touches and the rooms are immaculate, spacious and rival 5 star boutique hotels in the UK. The roof terrace with the riads three pet tortoises provides a lovely tranquil setting away from the main square and shops which are only a ten minute walk away. On an evening it is so peaceful you can forget you are anywhere near the square and its hustle and bustle and really get a good nights sleep in your room and the beautiful roof terrace is the perfect setting to sit and relax and reflect on your day and surroundings. Whilst the accommodation itself is fantastic it really is the owner who makes the place. From day one we were instructed to treat the house as our own, breakfast was plentiful and beautifully presented each morning at whatever time we chose and he provided very helpful guidance around shopping, prices, local advice and trips even giving us his phone number and places of contact in case we got lost. He even took us down to a local hammam he recommended and answered plenty of questions we had about the local culture and area, upon leaving he gave us beautiful business cards and pictures from his own collection. A perfect stay I couldn't fault.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are smaller than others but all are beautifully decorated, staying with a friend w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Co.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We ended up at this terrific Riad by accident when we couldn't find the one we were booked into. (One tip is never book with a credit card in Marrakech if you can possibly help it because if you can't find the place they could charge you for your entire visit and everywhere is difficult to find). But Patrick, the French owner, although short of help, was a perfect host, showing us how to wind our way through the medina. He has a lovely terrace with pet turtles. The room was a bit damp, a problem we most likely could have solved by asking him to turn on the heat. He served a very special pastry for breakfast our last day--another little sign that he really cared.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a really wonderful experience here. Accommodation is as nice as promised. Service is excellent. Great location, just 10 minutes walk through the Medina to the main square. The owner Patrick was kind enough to walk us the route on our first day. We borrowed their travel books and they gave us some maps. Also Patrick materialised day trips for us as soon as we mentioned we were thinking about going somewhere. He is like a genie :-) We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The best place i've been in all Marrakech, Really friendly and helpfull staff! The owner "Pat" made us discover the city with another perspective, showing his love and enthousiasm for the place and was very good advise for organized trip to the desert. The Riad is exceptionnaly well decorated and very confortable. It s almost like being in your dream home. Thanks to Omar for huge and delicious breakfast. Hello to Fatima

Place Highly recommended by the FOX*

Cheers ,

Mr Fox

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Riad Chafia is a delightfully quaint Riad (Moroccan B&B) that can only described as a haven or respite in the middle of the chaos of the Medina.Our rooms were well appointed and comfortable; worth noting is that our Moroccan style open shower was enormous and amazing.
The Riad itself is beautifully decorated, to the last detail. Patrick, the owner, is a French expat and architect who took three years to renovate and decorate the Riad with impeccable taste. Riad Chafia has been open for about a year and it is no surprise that it is almost always full. With only five rooms, Patrick and his staff’s hospitality would put most southerners to shame! In short, after entering the medina and ducking (literally) into a tunnel that leads to a largely unmarked tiny wooden door, we were very pleasantly surprised by our lovely stay at the relaxing Riad Chafia.I would recommend it to anyone wanting to experience Marrakech in its full glory, and its incredibly affordable rates are the icing on the cake!

Room Tip: we booked the silver/grey room w/ the large tufted headboard...highly recommend it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here for 9 days earlier this year. Patrick, his friends and family go above and beyond to make you feel welcome and your stay enjoyable. As other reviewers have said, it is an oasis of calm once you walk through the entrance.

The rooms are quiet (once the other guests have settled down) and dark - perfect for sleeping. Bathrooms are large. Everything is clean and attractively designed.

The common rooms are stylish, yet cosy. Breakfasts are huge and included in the price of the room. You can also have a fabulous, home cooked dinner in the riad.

It is a little hard to find, but it is in a quiet area of the Medina and close to everything.
Patrick can send some one to bring you there. However, patient, adventurous types can try to find it themselves - best attempted if you had a short flight and plenty of sleep. ;)

Room Tip: We stayed in #4 and #5, I liked 5 best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Tayib
Riad Dar Tayib
#54 of 1,040 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#58 of 1,040 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Pets Allowed, R...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Riad Helen
Riad Helen
#33 of 1,040 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
1.1 mi away
Riad El Youssoufi
Riad El Youssoufi
#77 of 1,040 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
1.4 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#13 of 1,040 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
B&Bs, Independe...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Riad Pourpre Medina
Riad Pourpre Medina
#70 of 1,040 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chafia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chafia

Address: 15, derb El Farrane | Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Chafia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chafia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.