We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surroundings just made our holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chafia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Chafia
15, derb El Farrane | Médina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful surroundings just made our holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a really wonderful experience here. Accommodation is as nice as promised. Service is excellent. Great location, just 10 minutes walk through the Medina to the main square. The owner Patrick was kind enough to walk us the route on our first day. We borrowed their travel books and they gave us some maps. Also Patrick materialised day trips for us as soon as we mentioned we were thinking about going somewhere. He is like a genie :-) We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
28
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The best place i've been in all Marrakech, Really friendly and helpfull staff! The owner "Pat" made us discover the city with another perspective, showing his love and enthousiasm for the place and was very good advise for organized trip to the desert. The Riad is exceptionnaly well decorated and very confortable. It s almost like being in your dream home. Thanks to Omar for huge and delicious breakfast. Hello to Fatima

Place Highly recommended by the FOX*

Cheers ,

Mr Fox

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Riad Chafia is a delightfully quaint Riad (Moroccan B&B) that can only described as a haven or respite in the middle of the chaos of the Medina.Our rooms were well appointed and comfortable; worth noting is that our Moroccan style open shower was enormous and amazing.
The Riad itself is beautifully decorated, to the last detail. Patrick, the owner, is a French expat and architect who took three years to renovate and decorate the Riad with impeccable taste. Riad Chafia has been open for about a year and it is no surprise that it is almost always full. With only five rooms, Patrick and his staff’s hospitality would put most southerners to shame! In short, after entering the medina and ducking (literally) into a tunnel that leads to a largely unmarked tiny wooden door, we were very pleasantly surprised by our lovely stay at the relaxing Riad Chafia.I would recommend it to anyone wanting to experience Marrakech in its full glory, and its incredibly affordable rates are the icing on the cake!

Room Tip: we booked the silver/grey room w/ the large tufted headboard...highly recommend it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here for 9 days earlier this year. Patrick, his friends and family go above and beyond to make you feel welcome and your stay enjoyable. As other reviewers have said, it is an oasis of calm once you walk through the entrance.

The rooms are quiet (once the other guests have settled down) and dark - perfect for sleeping. Bathrooms are large. Everything is clean and attractively designed.

The common rooms are stylish, yet cosy. Breakfasts are huge and included in the price of the room. You can also have a fabulous, home cooked dinner in the riad.

It is a little hard to find, but it is in a quiet area of the Medina and close to everything.
Patrick can send some one to bring you there. However, patient, adventurous types can try to find it themselves - best attempted if you had a short flight and plenty of sleep. ;)

Room Tip: We stayed in #4 and #5, I liked 5 best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully designed riad, excellent location, but the best thing of all wa the host Patrick. He really made our stay with his hospitality and recommendations. I have travelled a lot but never had a host like him. I have recommended the riad to others already and would go back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at Riad Chafia. Patrick was always prepared to stop whatever he was doing and help us. Convenient location, excellent meals and relaxing terrace. Couldn't believe how quiet it was compared to the rest of the medina.
Would definitely consider a return visit if we ever go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in Riad Chafia for a long weekend in December and enjoyed our time there. The welcome was really warm and friendly and we had even a city trip with Romain, one of the staff of the Riad who showed us the center and gave us some helpful advice. The Riad is well located and inside the Medina and few streets to the jemaa el fnaa square. The rooms are nice decorated and clean. Furthermore we had a great breakfast every morning. We really recommand this place: i dont think there is much rIad like this one where u feel so home thanks to the owner patrick and his crew, Will come back for sure: Melanie and FX

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Chafia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chafia

Address: 15, derb El Farrane | Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chafia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Chafia to your Saves list