We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three day desert tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morocco Dunes Day Tours

Morocco Dunes Day Tours
N 9 LOT 1969 Maatalah M'Hamid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 661-739516
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Professional travel agency specialized in Morocco desert Tours and Sahara Day Trips. Private day trip agency to discover the real morocco and the beautiful scenery outside Marrakech
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Three day desert tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My friend and I booked a last minute three day tour into the Sahara desert (had to change plans on short notice). Our guide Ibrahim was extremely friendly and always made us feel comfortable--he was also a great driver as a lot of time was spent on curvy mountain roads. He knew a lot about the Berber culture and language and made several impromptu stops, for example to speak with a shepard drinking mint tea, that really made it feel authentic. He was also very good about stopping at interesting sights and to let us take pictures. There was nothing touristy or gimmicky about the trip (and he didn't try to sell us anything--quite a relief!). As two 23 year old girls traveling alone we always felt comfortable and safe. The night in the desert was also unforgettable--the tents were nice and there were even functional bathrooms. The camel ride was a lot of fun, the desert was so beautiful and peaceful and the dunes were truly impressive. Overall despite a lot of driving the tour was wonderful, would highly recommend.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsam C, Gérant at Morocco Dunes Day Tours, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review ,and that you enjoy the trip with ebrahim.
We use our experience to offer you a trip with a good service,nice hotel,knowledgeable driver, and to have a nice time in desert.
Welcome again to Morocco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san leandro
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Family of four - Amazing desert tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We just returned home after our three-day/two night desert tour with MoroccoDunes. It was amazing! When we first started planning our trip to Morocco many months ago we went back and forth on whether a desert tour made sense in the summer. It sounded insane! But, it was anything but the case. No doubt it was hot, but it never limited us or got in the way of enjoying our fabulous tour. Cheikh was a fantastic guide. Very professional, knowledgeable, patient, and an excellent driver. We always felt that we were in very good hands. We are a family of four (two boys, ages 13 and 11). After our three week trip to Europe and Morocco, we all agreed that our desert tour was the most memorable part of the trip. From the spectacular Atlas Mountains, to the overnight in the Dades Gorges (lovely hotel!), to our camel trek in the Sahara – every part of the tour was terrific. Our last night was spent sleeping under the stars in the Sahara – amazing. It’s a once-in-a-lifetime experience. All I can say is – go! And if you have kids, take them too. Despite all the driving, our boys had a great time (although do bring motion sickness tablets – we did have one incident!) If I had it to do over again, I would have added an extra day or two … you won’t regret a little more time in the area. I certainly wish we could have enjoyed a few more days. Thank you again Cheikh for our amazing tour. It is a trip we will never forget.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsam C, Gérant at Morocco Dunes Day Tours, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review,and we are so glad that you enjoy your trip with cheikh,our goal to offer our customers a déferrent travel, which you are traveling with more information about Morocco, another time you are welcome to Morocco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A long day driving but worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

E did a one day excursion to Kasbah Ait Benhaddou, 150km out of Marrakech but a 4 hour drive through the mountains. Our driver was Hamid, who was friendly enough but quiet and didn't really add much to our experience, having said that, when we reached the Kasbah we were provided with a guide anyway. Food was included in the tour which was good as it was expensive, 90 euros per person for a private vehicle but having shopped around, this price was consistent with other companies.
We were at the kasbah for a couple of hours including lunch, the views going through the mountains were incredible but the drive is not for the faint-hearted with a couple of close calls when overtaking on the bends but having travelled in Africa before, we were expecting this!
It was a great experience and good to get away from the madness of Marrakech and see some more of the country but am not sure I would recommend this as a day trip based on the time travelling and cost, probably better as part of an overnight trip.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norge
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“stunning mountain trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were a family group of six who had three amazing days (two nights) in the Atlas mountains with Cheikh as our driver. Cheihk is an excellent driver, a knowledgeable guide and very pleasant and easygoing company. The quality of the hotels and restaurants we stopped at by far exceeded our expectations for an all inclusive trip. We especially appreciated the visit to the stunning Fint oasis and the night spent in a beautiful village in the high atlas. The company was very professional and easy to communicate with prior to our trip, and they responded to all our requests to create the perfect trip for us. Our only regret was that the trip was not longer. Recommended without any reservations!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spangdahlem, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Moroccodunes A+ rating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We requested Cheikh as our guide for a 3 day 4x4 tour in late may. He speaks good English and is very personable. You will honestly see more of Morocco than you ever thought possible. He tells you little historical tidbits along the way that help you become ever more immersed in the desert culture.
The Dades gorge hotel he has connections with is amazing.. top of the line way more than we ever expected. Excellent meals at every stop.
Cheikh also will take into account what you want to do if you ask him. I wanted to buy some handmade rugs from local nomads and he set me up with one of his connections. We went to a local Berber family who specializes in handmade rugs.

Erg Chebbi is also to die for. the night spent in the Sahara is unforgettable and the nomads who tend the area are some of the most nice and down to earth people ive ever met travelling.

I would definitely recommend ANYONE this travel agency. It is spectacular.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morocco Dunes Day Tours also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Morocco Dunes Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morocco Dunes Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.