We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Selman Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Selman Marrakech to your Saves list
Selman Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   B.P 24 530 Marrakech Atlas | Km 5, Route d'Amizmiz, Marrakech 40160, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€550 (EUR)
Ranked #172 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Epsom Downs, Surrey, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Luxurious and calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

We stayed at the Selman for a week at the beginning of October. Very quiet, calm, peaceful place. The hotel is beautifully kept. We had a disabled access room which was ideally located and very spacious. Good service throughout, good food served in the restaurant, the bar and the Pavilion Restaurant near the pool and stables. The horses are delightful, the gardens very well tended. At times it felt like we are the only guests staying, maybe we were! Occasionally it felt a little too quiet so lacked atmosphere on that front, however overall first rate service, food and drinks. The spa was excellent and we are able to get appointments on request. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, Responsable relations publiques at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, October 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Selman Marrakech.
We are delighted that you had such a special time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    15
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
16
58
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014 via mobile

Spent one week at This super stylish hotel with a lot of charm radiating from every corner ,it's so perfect that it makes you feel that this is what every other luxury hotel is trying to be.
Fabulous and friendly staff and outstanding facilities.the spa was one of the best I have had.the food was really excellent with a large selection of choices.............
It's really 5 star hotel in every way.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, Responsable relations publiques at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, October 28, 2014
Dear Miss Chahid

Thank you very much for your kind review. We really appreciate your positive comments about Selman Marrakech and the kind note of appreciation on our hospitality.
This great consideration is reinforcing our commitment to continuously improve our services.
Looking very much forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future

I send my best personal regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

As you approach the hotel, a first landscape sight augurs well for the very best : gorgeous breezeways, peaceful gardens.

Then the hotel itself, an outdoor and indoor architectural gift. Intelligence and beauty, as subtle as you gaze at it and which reaveals even further as you discover each and every hall, elegant lounges, delicate rooms escaped from a middle east dream, patios, guest rooms with unique refined decoration, large balconies (Alain Garcia style’s everywhere)

The welcoming staff is just perfection. All throughout the stay, the staff has been professional, enthousiastic, and always caring.

For horses’ lovers, it is a paradise. It is a celebration of Arabian stallions, cared, cured, truly loved. All this thanks to Mr Brahim, the exceptional stables’ Master.

The pools’ blue marble from Guatemala is a one of a kind, and we estimated the water’s Ph to be constantly regulated between 7.0 and 7.1 ! There is even a special fragrance, designed specifically for the hotel. Here quiet is at its peak, and everything has been thought towards perfect calm and refined atmosphere. Activities, of any kind, are at the discretion of the concierge.

Gastronomic meals are the rules and the serving copes with the rest.

A rare and precious place.

Room Tip: Any would do it. We suggest to take a distant room from the reception, just for the renewed daily p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, Responsable relations publiques at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, October 28, 2014
Dear Carine,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind comments. Recognition is such a tremendous motivator so we will be sure to share your comments with all the team.
The french designer is Jacques Garcia and not Alain .
Most of all, thank you for having chosen Selman Marrakech for your getaway and experience our beautiful destination. We are delighted that you had such a special time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sunny Regards From Marrakech



Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

No pictures or Website can do this property justice. The detail is so magnificent that it surely rivals some of the best in the world. We have just been to Marrakech for a wedding and went with very little expectations of being greeted by this incredible property. From the staff to the food to every aspect was wonderful. It is paradise for all the senses and has set the bar high for future 5 start travel which has become increasingly watered down and generic. We were pleasantly surprised to have found this incredible hotel and will definitely be back. Be sure to have a trip to the stables and look at the horses.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor - you will have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsable relations publiques at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Selman, Marrakech.

We are delighted that you had such a special time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Selman Management team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We stayed for 4 days in August 2014. It was a low season and the occupancy was very low, which was great because most of the times we had the hotel practically for ourselves. The hotel design is absolutely astonishing - having stayed in many fine hotels over the years, this one easily goes to a few best hotels I have ever stayed in. Photos don't really do much justice to it, so see it to believe it. We are definitely going back.

Pros:

- Absolutely astonishing design of common areas, outdoor spaces and rooms
- Quality of finishes is exceptionally high
- Practically brand new property
- Amazing 80 meter swimming pool

Cons:

- It's in the middle of nowhere. Need to take a taxi to go pretty much anywhere, although it's no more than 15-20 minutes drive to central Marrakech (Marrakech is not that big).
- Food in the hotel is mediocre, so eat out.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the 1st floor (rather than ground floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsable relations publiques at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip advisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us at Selman Marrakech and that we could satisfy all your request.

However, we sincerly regret that the food was not at your convenience, but still we are very concerned regarding your feedback and it help us to improve our service.

We will be delighted to welcome you back to Selman Marrakech once again to
ensure you have the 5-star experience we promise.

Yours sincerely

The management Team
Selman Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

We spent 7 days in this lovely hotel. We stayed in August which was the hottest time of the year and as a result the hotel was very quite but this did not detract from our overall enjoyment.
On arrival we were met by Ashraf, the Guest Relations Manager who could not have been more friendly and helpful. Nothing was a problem for him to make our stay enjoyable. Our room was spotless and beautifully decorated and over looked the pool. Only the main restaurant was open at the time as the others were being renovated which resulted in our choice of dining being rather limited. However the food was excellent. A nice touch was a surprise birthday cake for my husband.
A visit to the beautifully kept stables within the hotel grounds is a must.
We could not recommend this hotel highly enough and the staff went out of their way to make this a perfect destination.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsable relations publiques at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, September 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post all the positive comments on your recent stay at Selman Marrakech.

Your comments on TripAdvisor were very much appreciated, particularly that you found our staff exemplary. They try everyday to do their best to make your stay unforgettable and unique experience.

We are delighted that you had such a special time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. at Selman Marrakech

Yours Sincerely
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We recently spent 9 or 10 very lovely days at the Selman. The hotel itself is beautiful, and the pool/garden area is very impressive. Our room was quite comfortable, attractive deco, plenty of closet space, fantastic shower, and a nice terrace. The pool area is what I found to be the most stunning, even if it's quite a walk between the room and pool. We had fantastic weather and spent every moment we could around and IN the pool. As far as restaurants…….the main restaurant in the hotel itself is good. We ate there most nights, and were very well taken care of. The head chef, a Frenchman, stopped by our table each evening to say hello and to see if all was fine…….and it was! The menu isn't very big in my opinion, but the quality is there. My only disappointment was the lack of Moroccan food at this restaurant. When I go to Morocco I want Moroccan food! But maybe that's just me. However, they do also have an excellent gastronomique restaurant open Thursday to Sunday night, where they do serve local dishes. We went 2 or 3 times. The service was impeccable, the room is spectacular, and the musicians really made things lively. There is another restaurant by the stables where we lunched daily…….a nice quite area for lunch in the sun. The service and welcome that we received in each of these places was always very warm and attentive!!! (If you can, don't miss the Sunday brunch with the horse show. Fantastic food and spectacle.) At breakfast the same. Lovely people that clearly want to please. Lastly, the Chenot SPA……a beautiful space with a huge list of treatments. I was there daily! Fortunately, I was able to treat myself to massages, facials, hammam, hydro therapy, and a super super 1 hour aqua gym session with the coach on staff. There is also a quiet terrace area to do yoga, which is a must for me.
I will most definitely return to the Selman, to enjoy all of this again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, Directeur général at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind comments and detailed feedback following your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our restaurants, Chenot Spa and genuine service. The Assyl restaurant is continuously reviving classic Moroccan fares for the gastronomes and have additional surprises for a future visit!

We hope to welcome you back to Selman Marrakech in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Christian Langlade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Selman Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selman Marrakech

Address: B.P 24 530 Marrakech Atlas | Km 5, Route d'Amizmiz, Marrakech 40160, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Selman Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Atlas Mountains, Selman Marrakech, a palace of distinct, designed by Jacques Garcia Selman Marrakech seduces with its timeless harmony. The property offers 55 rooms and suites and 5 private riads with a private swimming pool and butler service, meticulously executed. Selman Marrakech also feature the longest heatable swimming pool of 80m long, 3 restaurants, "Selman," a luxury fine dining with an international menu, "Pavilion," specializing in Mediterranean-inspired dishes with views of the hotel's Arabian horses and "Assyl" Fine Moroccan restaurant. Precious moments are embodied in the presence of the beautiful thoroughbred Arabian horses. There are views of the horses from the terraces and the gardens where one can admire the equine ballet. Selman Marrakech's spa, Espace Vitalite Chenot is a tribute to oriental wellbeing. The Spa offers treatments using the specific and unique Chenot method. Moments of pure grace add to the perfection of this timeless experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Selman Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Selman Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.