We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Selman Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Selman Marrakech to your Saves list
Selman Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   B.P 24 530 Marrakech Atlas | Km 5, Route d'Amizmiz, Marrakech 40160, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€360 (EUR)
Ranked #156 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We recently spent 9 or 10 very lovely days at the Selman. The hotel itself is beautiful, and the pool/garden area is very impressive. Our room was quite comfortable, attractive deco, plenty of closet space, fantastic shower, and a nice terrace. The pool area is what I found to be the most stunning, even if it's quite a walk between the room and pool. We had fantastic weather and spent every moment we could around and IN the pool. As far as restaurants…….the main restaurant in the hotel itself is good. We ate there most nights, and were very well taken care of. The head chef, a Frenchman, stopped by our table each evening to say hello and to see if all was fine…….and it was! The menu isn't very big in my opinion, but the quality is there. My only disappointment was the lack of Moroccan food at this restaurant. When I go to Morocco I want Moroccan food! But maybe that's just me. However, they do also have an excellent gastronomique restaurant open Thursday to Sunday night, where they do serve local dishes. We went 2 or 3 times. The service was impeccable, the room is spectacular, and the musicians really made things lively. There is another restaurant by the stables where we lunched daily…….a nice quite area for lunch in the sun. The service and welcome that we received in each of these places was always very warm and attentive!!! (If you can, don't miss the Sunday brunch with the horse show. Fantastic food and spectacle.) At breakfast the same. Lovely people that clearly want to please. Lastly, the Chenot SPA……a beautiful space with a huge list of treatments. I was there daily! Fortunately, I was able to treat myself to massages, facials, hammam, hydro therapy, and a super super 1 hour aqua gym session with the coach on staff. There is also a quiet terrace area to do yoga, which is a must for me.
I will most definitely return to the Selman, to enjoy all of this again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, Directeur général at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind comments and detailed feedback following your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our restaurants, Chenot Spa and genuine service. The Assyl restaurant is continuously reviving classic Moroccan fares for the gastronomes and have additional surprises for a future visit!

We hope to welcome you back to Selman Marrakech in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Christian Langlade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    14
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
16
58
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Outstanding service in a landscape of ever lowering standards.
Where the old mamounia succombed to the brash and trash demands of its "it" clientele, the Selman went understated and impecable. No "faux" leopard skin armchairs or bling clad lovely young things here. A breath of fresh air and unapologetic tradition!

Yes its all trendily plush (Designed by Jacques Garcia of the "costes" franchise fame) but still very quietly chic. The deco is beautiful and no expense spared with heavy silks, velvet and solid wood everywhere. A sprinkling of orientalist antiques, dramatic chandeliers….its all reminiscent of the best grand old house From Marrakech to Istanbul.
And service to match. Staff is super discreet and attentive (reminds me of the quiet delicatesse found here in Asia), food delicious although the slightly Asian fusion taste of some items on the menu is a bit cliche.
Have to agree service is sketchy poolside. They could do with a few more staff on hand.
Bravo to the management that is always on site gently nudging everyone in the right direction and taking the time to chat to the houseguests.

Last but not least, the gardens and stables are a delight. Sunday brunch in the garden is lovely with the horses parading all afternoon. They'll graciously organise a poney drawn carriage for the children.
Babysitting available at short notice and great kids club at the Atlas Golf complex a 2m ride away.

Super professional Henri Chenot spa. Another definite plus in a landscape full of pretty but below par spa services. Personnal trainers and a gym with a wide variety of options.

Room Tip: Prefer the first floor room as they all have balconies with views on the Atlas mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, Directeur général at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Millo22,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Selman Marrakech .

The team is delighted to read that you appreciated our facilities,service, garden and stables. Your comments are very important to us and we will make sure to share them with our dedicated team members.
We were pleased we could also cater to our younger guests; in addition to the services offered, a superb new Kid's Club is about to be delivered in the coming days.

We much look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back very soon again at the Selman Marrakech and have your children experience our new facilities.

Best regards,

Christian Langlade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed here for just one night due to a flight delay - wish I had more time. Exquisite hotel and a true 5 star hotel, unlike some of the others in the city. Opulent surroundings and excellent service.
Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, Responsable relations clients at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Selman Marrakech.
We are delighted that you had such a special time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

If you are reading this because you are considering going to this Hotel then stop reading & just book now.

My wife and I have just spent 10 days in a Riad at the Selman. The service is exceptional. Nothing was ever a problem & everything was done with a smile, with urgency & with pride/passion in their work. Having visited almost all the other 5 star Hotels/Resorts in Marrakech during our trip (many ranking ahead of the Selman on Tripadvisor by the way!) I can only say that the Selman sets & delivers 'the standard' in Marrakech.

Many things separates this Hotel from the others;
- The fantastic design of the property & the grounds. perfectly clean & maintained.
- The amazing views of the mountains
- The stunning service with the most visible & hands-on Hotel GM I have ever met. Leadership from the very top.
- The peaceful & relaxing environment (far enough away from the hassle of the city centre but close enough to visit ever day if you wish.

I want to thank all of the staff at the Selman for a special time at your Hotel; far too many to name or single out. This is a team effort.

Money can buy a good Hotel room but it can't buy you memories. We leave with great memories.

My only improver is get name badges please. Some Hotel guests like to address staff by their name, names are more personable.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, General Manager at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your fantastic review of Selman-Marrakech, I am glad that we have lived up to your expectations during your visit and I will ensure to pass on your comments to our team and our butlers in particular.

Regarding name badges, I much agree with you. We originally thought of avoiding at all cost a corporate approach, but guests and staff find comfort in hearing their own name, and build rapport faster to those who use it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Marrakech very soon.

Best regards,

Christian Langlade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We just returned from a fantastic four days at the Selman Hotel in Marrakech. As we arrived on a Sunday, we enjoyed an exquisite Brunch setup which lasted all afternoon. The next day were spent by the 80m long heated swimming pool under one of the cabanas with impeccable service. In the afternoon we also visited the Spa and the gym. Both facilities were excellent.
For horse lovers, there are stables on the property, which are home for some very lucky Arabian studs.
Initially we only intended to stay for three nights, but the tranquillity of the ambiance set in and we extended out stay. We will certainly be back to Marrakech and there will be no doubt where we will stay, Selman Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, General Manager at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Selman Marrakech.
I am delighted to hear you had a great stay with us and I have shared the good news with the team. It is indeed very rewarding for our team to read such kind comments as it fuels peak performance !

We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.

Yours Sincerely

Christian Langlade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

the place is very nice , been greeted by the manager mr.Cristian , whom was very pleasant and charming personality . greeted us warmly and assisted us directly . True professional

the location is a huge set up with lovely stable made of the landlord's finest horse collection .
the riad is very comfortable , as is in any 5 star moroccon resort its very detailed, a bit pricier though when compared to the rest. needs to be competitive with prices.

overall
i would defnitly recommend it as one of many good options in marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

beautiful hotel- at first we loved it. as the days went by we realised that there were SO MANY problems. 1. The pool was FREEZING, too cold to swim in- the pool by the spa was way too hot, like a jacuzzi. you are also right on the road if you want to sit there. No thanks. The service was awful- no management at all. Everyday our order was wrong at breakfast- it became a running a joke. There was a family staying in the rooms above me, the children in one room directly above me with a nanny- from 5.30am every day the kids ran and screamed and despite calling reception 200 times they would not do anything- they had NO experience in dealing with this kind if issue, (i'm sure very common!!) The hotel was half empty- did they offer me another room? No. It was awful. Basically its over priced and they dont have a clue, if you have ever stayed in a great hotel, and know what you are talking about, you would hate this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, General Manager at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Though we realized your stay dated back from June 2013, I am sorry to hear that you have not fully enjoyed your experience when visiting the Selman.

Your willingness to share your experience is genuinely appreciated and since your visit, I am pleased to let you know that several improvements have been made. Indeed, since August, our pool is heated all year long thanks to a heat exchanger. We also have introduced breakfast buffets to ease service and are planning a kids club as of next March.

Please contact me on direction@selman-marrakech.com should you wish to discuss any issues further.

Kind regards

Christian Langlade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Selman Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selman Marrakech

Address: B.P 24 530 Marrakech Atlas | Km 5, Route d'Amizmiz, Marrakech 40160, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Selman Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Atlas Mountains, Selman Marrakech, a palace of distinct, designed by Jacques Garcia Selman Marrakech seduces with its timeless harmony. The property offers 55 rooms and suites and 5 private riads with a private swimming pool and butler service, meticulously executed. Selman Marrakech also feature the longest heatable swimming pool of 80m long, 3 restaurants, "Selman," a luxury fine dining with an international menu, "Pavilion," specializing in Mediterranean-inspired dishes with views of the hotel's Arabian horses and "Assyl" Fine Moroccan restaurant. Precious moments are embodied in the presence of the beautiful thoroughbred Arabian horses. There are views of the horses from the terraces and the gardens where one can admire the equine ballet. Selman Marrakech's spa, Espace Vitalite Chenot is a tribute to oriental wellbeing. The Spa offers treatments using the specific and unique Chenot method. Moments of pure grace add to the perfection of this timeless experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Selman Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Selman Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.