We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb long weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Selman Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Selman Marrakech to your Saves list
Selman Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   B.P 24 530 Marrakech Atlas | Km 5, Route d'Amizmiz, Marrakech 40160, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€360 (EUR)
Ranked #155 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb long weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We just returned from a fantastic four days at the Selman Hotel in Marrakech. As we arrived on a Sunday, we enjoyed an exquisite Brunch setup which lasted all afternoon. The next day were spent by the 80m long heated swimming pool under one of the cabanas with impeccable service. In the afternoon we also visited the Spa and the gym. Both facilities were excellent.
For horse lovers, there are stables on the property, which are home for some very lucky Arabian studs.
Initially we only intended to stay for three nights, but the tranquillity of the ambiance set in and we extended out stay. We will certainly be back to Marrakech and there will be no doubt where we will stay, Selman Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, General Manager at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Selman Marrakech.
I am delighted to hear you had a great stay with us and I have shared the good news with the team. It is indeed very rewarding for our team to read such kind comments as it fuels peak performance !

We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.

Yours Sincerely

Christian Langlade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    14
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
16
58
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

the place is very nice , been greeted by the manager mr.Cristian , whom was very pleasant and charming personality . greeted us warmly and assisted us directly . True professional

the location is a huge set up with lovely stable made of the landlord's finest horse collection .
the riad is very comfortable , as is in any 5 star moroccon resort its very detailed, a bit pricier though when compared to the rest. needs to be competitive with prices.

overall
i would defnitly recommend it as one of many good options in marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

beautiful hotel- at first we loved it. as the days went by we realised that there were SO MANY problems. 1. The pool was FREEZING, too cold to swim in- the pool by the spa was way too hot, like a jacuzzi. you are also right on the road if you want to sit there. No thanks. The service was awful- no management at all. Everyday our order was wrong at breakfast- it became a running a joke. There was a family staying in the rooms above me, the children in one room directly above me with a nanny- from 5.30am every day the kids ran and screamed and despite calling reception 200 times they would not do anything- they had NO experience in dealing with this kind if issue, (i'm sure very common!!) The hotel was half empty- did they offer me another room? No. It was awful. Basically its over priced and they dont have a clue, if you have ever stayed in a great hotel, and know what you are talking about, you would hate this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, General Manager at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Though we realized your stay dated back from June 2013, I am sorry to hear that you have not fully enjoyed your experience when visiting the Selman.

Your willingness to share your experience is genuinely appreciated and since your visit, I am pleased to let you know that several improvements have been made. Indeed, since August, our pool is heated all year long thanks to a heat exchanger. We also have introduced breakfast buffets to ease service and are planning a kids club as of next March.

Please contact me on direction@selman-marrakech.com should you wish to discuss any issues further.

Kind regards

Christian Langlade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Sunday Brunch at The Selman is a must. Delicious food in the most perfect setting whist watching the performing horses. A visit to the stables to view their magnificent Arab Stallions is highly recommended. The Selman is a superb property and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: The Grey Riad is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, Responsable relations publiques at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Selman, Marrakech –
we are delighted that you had such a special time with us and we look
forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Selman Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

The Selman is a must destination for those visiting Marrakech. An oasis of beauty. Beautiful rooms,very helpful staff and gorgeous surroundings. Even the stables are impeccably clean. You must sample the Sunday brunch!!! it lasts forever............ and entertainment with the dancing horses!!... So unusual but fun.

It is located out of the city hub-bub but that isn't an inconvenience - transport is easily arranged and takes 10 mins at most to reach the Medina. Whether you are looking for a romantic or family holiday the Selman will meet your every need.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, Responsable relations publiques at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Selman, Marrakech –
we are delighted that you had such a special time with us and we look
forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Selman Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from our companies 30th anniversary celebrations, had a hosted lunch & tour of this amazing property.

Beautiful decor, from the moment you enter you know you are in for a very special stay! Elaborate chandeliers, rich fabrics, great use of space, extremely spacious rooms with very comfy beds.

Food to die for, we were hosted to their incredible Sunday brunch & equestrian show (about £70pp), this includes a buffet of everything you can imagine, oysters, lobster and salmon as starters, tender lamb tagine to beef fillet Wellington and a huge array of deserts. You also get access to the spa included, one of the most stunning spas I've seen across the world.

If you head to Marrakech then this true gem of a hotel is THE place to choose, just book it, you will not be disappointed.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, General Manager at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Martin

Great to hear that you have chosen Selman Marrakech for this very special occasion. I am delighted o read that you had a splendid stay and that our team was of great help to all your wishes.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Selman, Marrakech –
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Christian Langlade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

An architectural marvel with amazing work of art and tapestry display. The grounds are magnificent and so are the Arabian horses. The rooms are inviting and very comfortable. Need more lighting. Very welcoming and polite staff but need to brush up on English. Great food but slow service. A pricey property but what an unforgettable experience!!! Quite location, yet only 10 minutes away from the Medina.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, General Manager at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Mohamed,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers.
We are delighted that you had such a special time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Christian Langlade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Selman Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selman Marrakech

Address: B.P 24 530 Marrakech Atlas | Km 5, Route d'Amizmiz, Marrakech 40160, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Selman Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Atlas Mountains, Selman Marrakech, a palace of distinct, designed by Jacques Garcia Selman Marrakech seduces with its timeless harmony. The property offers 55 rooms and suites and 5 private riads with a private swimming pool and butler service, meticulously executed. Selman Marrakech also feature the longest heatable swimming pool of 80m long, 3 restaurants, "Selman," a luxury fine dining with an international menu, "Pavilion," specializing in Mediterranean-inspired dishes with views of the hotel's Arabian horses and "Assyl" Fine Moroccan restaurant. Precious moments are embodied in the presence of the beautiful thoroughbred Arabian horses. There are views of the horses from the terraces and the gardens where one can admire the equine ballet. Selman Marrakech's spa, Espace Vitalite Chenot is a tribute to oriental wellbeing. The Spa offers treatments using the specific and unique Chenot method. Moments of pure grace add to the perfection of this timeless experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Selman Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Selman Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.