We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Selman Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Selman Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Selman Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   B.P 24 530 Marrakech Atlas | Km 5, Route d'Amizmiz, Marrakech 40160, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #97 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Remarkable hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The stay was an exceptional experience.The room was spacious and comfortable.The grounds were absolutely amazing.We would have preferred a little more light in the already dark painted room.The service generally was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, Responsable relations publiques at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Selman, Marrakech –
we are delighted that you had such a special time with us and we look
forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Selman Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    14
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
49
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a very beautiful hotel and the grounds were absolutely stunning. The Moroccan architecture was everywhere - details found in the places you would least expect. Location was good - about 10-15 minute drive to markets. A lot of services provided in the spa but quite expensive. Kid friendly. Food was not bad. Minuses for the hotel are: 1. Service was not that great - staff did not speak English very well, were slow and disorganized but they were very pleasant. 2. Food and drinks were very pricey. 3. The lighting in the room was extremely poor but we requested extra light and it was provided. 4. Be careful asking for an additional bed - those are pricey.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the Selman for a family wedding. The room and the grounds were amazing. It was definitely an oasis from the mayhem of downtown Marrakesh/square. My only critique is that for a 4-star hotel and for how pricey it was, I would've expected customer service to be a bit better. At breakfast, sometimes we had to ask for a fork 5 times from 3 different waiters and still wait 10 minutes for it to come. Also, there is no market/store in the hotel or nearby, and they charge you an arm and a leg for food and water. While the food at the Moroccan restaurant was good, room service and food at the pavilion was mediocre at best and exorbitantly expensive -- a meager veggie panini sandwich was 200 dirhams! Overall, a great place for a destination wedding and if you want an upscale resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Grounds, decor, ambiance all PERFECT. Service in restaurants very slow but that's typical of Moroccan service. Twice a day maid service in the rooms was icing on the cake! For the most part, staff was courteous and accommodating. Taxi prices can fluctuate from market to hotel anywhere from 70 to 150 dirhams. Negotiate well. Taxi drivers are willing to offer better prices to men and seem to like to gouge women! A very pleasant experience at the Selman.

Room Tip: We had a twin bedded room on the second floor. Very spacious with three large closets and nice bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, Responsable relations publiques at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Google Translation
Chère Madame,

Nous tenons à vous remercier d’avoir pris le temps de nous transmettre vos impressions et nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires élogieux et sincères recommandations.

Dans l’attente du plaisir de vous accueillir prochainement au Selman Marrakech, nous vous prions d’agréer, Madame, nos sincères salutations.

Selman Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Selman for a family wedding. The hotel is absolutely beautiful - we had a first floor bedroom, which was clean and spacious. It even had a large balcony terrace. My family also stayed in the larger riads - they were stunning to say the least.

Most of the staff was friendly and helpful. They allowed me to print my airline boarding passes at reception, which was very helpful for my departure as the airline charges excessively if you don't do this yourself. Some of the staff had poor English but I found this to be common at all the places we visited in Morocco.

The location of the hotel is 15 minutes away from the medina market place. You shouldn't have to pay more than 80-100 dirhams to get there.

Room service food was average and severely overpriced. Buy water and other essentials in the market place to save money.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

You feel right at home once you step in into this luxurious hotel. The Selman is beautifully decorated in a Moroccan style and finished to perfection. A pure jewel! Once you exit the lobby onto the terrace you will have this amazing view of a never ending pool with lounge chairs and queen size lounge beds on each sides. The spa is a must to get a full Marrakech treatment. Dont forget to visit the horses, they are majestic. If you can stay in one of the riads suites, dont hesitate! They are truly magnificent and have their own pool and garden; quite magical and very romantic. I look forward to my next stay!

Room Tip: The riads are a must! If not all rooms are comfy and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, General Manager at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Fiona
I would simply like to thank you for these words of praise and for your generous support through Trip Advisor.
I am delighted that your saty with us was perfect and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again to Selman Marrakech.
Warm regards,
Christian Langlade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

As long as you are aware that you are 15 mins by taxi from everywhere and the local area outside the hotel is ugly then this place is a perfect luxurious retreat from everything. The grounds are absolutely stunning and beautifully kept and the Garcia designed hotel is really plush though be aware it is dark marble and high fashion not simple Riad style. The rooms are perfect, great size and insanely comfy beds - we snoozed and lazed in the sun by the enormous pool ( beware its unheated). There were few guests so tranquility was ensured as opposed to the mamounia which when we went for a drink, seemed like Disney in comparison, full of hordes of naff tourists.
We found the service prompt attentive and helpful and the massage was great. Food wise we ate out most nights as the vast grand dining rooms is not the most relaxing, though one evening we had room service on the terrace which was lovely.
In summary, if you are seeking tranquil high luxury we highly highly recommend this gorgeous place

Room Tip: Worth getting an upstairs room for the fab view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, General Manager at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Selman Marrakech.
We are delighted that you had such a special time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Selman Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selman Marrakech

Address: B.P 24 530 Marrakech Atlas | Km 5, Route d'Amizmiz, Marrakech 40160, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Selman Marrakech 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Atlas Mountains, Selman Marrakech, a palace of distinct, designed by Jacques Garcia Selman Marrakech seduces with its timeless harmony. The property offers 55 rooms and suites and 5 private riads with a private swimming pool and butler service, meticulously executed. Selman Marrakech also feature the longest heatable swimming pool of 80m long, 3 restaurants, "Selman," a luxury fine dining with an international menu, "Pavilion," specializing in Mediterranean-inspired dishes with views of the hotel's Arabian horses and "Assyl" Fine Moroccan restaurant. Precious moments are embodied in the presence of the beautiful thoroughbred Arabian horses. There are views of the horses from the terraces and the gardens where one can admire the equine ballet. Selman Marrakech's spa, Espace Vitalite Chenot is a tribute to oriental wellbeing. The Spa offers treatments using the specific and unique Chenot method. Moments of pure grace add to the perfection of this timeless experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Selman Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Selman Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.