We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Perfection in Marrakech"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Selman Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Selman Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Agoda.com
and 7 more sites!
Selman Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   B.P. 24530 Marrackech Atlas, Km 5, route d'Amizmiz, Marrakech 40160, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€450 (EUR)
Ranked #106 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
1 review
“"Perfection in Marrakech"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

You feel right at home once you step in into this luxurious hotel. The Selman is beautifully decorated in a Moroccan style and finished to perfection. A pure jewel! Once you exit the lobby onto the terrace you will have this amazing view of a never ending pool with lounge chairs and queen size lounge beds on each sides. The spa is a must to get a full Marrakech treatment. Dont forget to visit the horses, they are majestic. If you can stay in one of the riads suites, dont hesitate! They are truly magnificent and have their own pool and garden; quite magical and very romantic. I look forward to my next stay!

Room Tip: The riads are a must! If not all rooms are comfy and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, General Manager at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Fiona
I would simply like to thank you for these words of praise and for your generous support through Trip Advisor.
I am delighted that your saty with us was perfect and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again to Selman Marrakech.
Warm regards,
Christian Langlade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    12
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
13
40
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

As long as you are aware that you are 15 mins by taxi from everywhere and the local area outside the hotel is ugly then this place is a perfect luxurious retreat from everything. The grounds are absolutely stunning and beautifully kept and the Garcia designed hotel is really plush though be aware it is dark marble and high fashion not simple Riad style. The rooms are perfect, great size and insanely comfy beds - we snoozed and lazed in the sun by the enormous pool ( beware its unheated). There were few guests so tranquility was ensured as opposed to the mamounia which when we went for a drink, seemed like Disney in comparison, full of hordes of naff tourists.
We found the service prompt attentive and helpful and the massage was great. Food wise we ate out most nights as the vast grand dining rooms is not the most relaxing, though one evening we had room service on the terrace which was lovely.
In summary, if you are seeking tranquil high luxury we highly highly recommend this gorgeous place

Room Tip: Worth getting an upstairs room for the fab view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, General Manager at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Selman Marrakech.
We are delighted that you had such a special time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

They were still in "soft opening" when I stayed there, but apart from a few flaws regarding the service, the property is very impressive in terms of opulence and size. From the basic category you already have Jr Suite sized rooms, very well decorated in Morrocan style with a gorgeous bathroom and excellent amenities.
Spread throughout the property you notice very sophisticated antiques and other fancy furniture items, not to mention the rich fabrics and chandeliers. Very, very beautiful hotel! The swimming pool is a big plus and must be excellent during warmer months - it has impressive 80m long and looks really nice.
The only downside would be the location, as it's not near the city center or the medina. Whatever you want to do you will need a taxi.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, Responsable relations publiques at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Selman, Marrakech –
we are delighted that you had such a special time with us and we look
forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Selman Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Chic, Elegant and super cool. very Hotel Costes just outside Marrakech. The pool seems to go on forever and the Stallions parading around the hotel (horses i mean) are truly spectacular. The staff are attentive and polite and the layout is perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a Junior suite on the ground flow overlooking the pool. but close to the hotel otherwise its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, Directeur général at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Mr Liebel,

Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay at Selman Marrakech.
We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our hotel and staff.
We hope you will visit us again soon.

Warm Regards,

Selman Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel itself is stunning. Design is gorgeous, rooms lovely (although not at all the size they appear on the website). The location is about 15 mins in cab from the medina but we were aware of that and this didn't concern us as we just wanted to sun tan and relax at the hotel.

Unfortunately the downside was the horrific service. The staff are literally useless and no one appears to be in charge. I asked to speak with the general manager and was told they do not have one. When I asked who was in charge they said 'the owners' and when I asked to speak to them the staff member told me they were not based in Morocco.

Every meal ordered was wrong, the wifi kept going down and the reception just nodded every time I asked when it would be fixed. You would ask any member of staff for a simple thing and it would just not happen. There was huge inconsistencies, somedays they would give you water complimentary at the pool and the next day they charged us €7 for it.

I had a lamb dish in the restaurant twice during the stay and the second time it was unrecognisable to the dish I had previously had. I asked what was going on and the waiter just looked at me and said 'don't blame me, blame the chef'.

I can go on and on about all the challenges we faced but to be honest all you really need to know is that we checked out early and went to the new Four Seasons and it was utterly perfect in every way.

Room Tip: Stay at the Four Seasons or if budget allows, The Royal Mansour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, General Manager at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very sad to learn you have had a disappointing experience with us.
Having recently taken over the position of General Manager, I would love to get in touch with you for further details, please do contact me directly at +212 524 45 96 00 or email me at clanglade@selman-marrakech.com

Kind regards

Christian Langlade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We reserved one week but after 2 nights we left as our stay got worse and worse...
On the positive side, the hotel is well decorated and, though modern, built in a beautiful style.
The positive comments unfortunately finish there...
THE HORSES are stunning but you can't ride them - or the ponies -despite my saying that was the main reason for staying in the hotel when I reserved!
THE MAIN POOL lovely and huge but very cold in April so we had to use the spa outside pool which was at a decent temperature but you are literally made to feel
unwelcome by the spa ladies if you don't use the spa - though the website
never mentioned it was separate to the hotel... the ladies literally refuse to give you towels saying you should bring your own from the cold pool (we waited one hour to have towels - and caught a cold waiting)
THE SERVICE - full stars for the luggage chaps, and the bedroom was very clean. Otherwise the service is appaling - there is no ipod docking station as mentioned on the website, so we asked (several times) for a iphone charger - we got one 12 hours after my iphone battery died... We had put a do not disturb sign on the door and wend to sleep at 10pm when the room service chap knocked then rang the phone to make us sign the bill for our dinner in the bedroom (food was correct) - waking us up! We had the pleasure of people coming into our bedroom during our bath too (it was beginning to remind us of Fawlty Towers). The receptionist raja must take full blame for not explaining or organising the horseriding (far away) and also for conning us into a taxi pickup from the airport at 60 Euros (normally 20 E) - quite shocking especially since he was 15 minutes late.The client relations lady was useless when I complained about the bedrooms not being as described when I reserved (see below) and said she would see what she could do but never got back to me - very unreactive - and of course the manager acted as if he didn't know anything when we left
THE BEDROOMS -on the upside, lovely decoration -BUT we reserved a Delux Atlas and a Jr Suite Atlas (130E more expensive but really not worth it as it was identical to the Delux Atlas except in coulour and a sofa tucked into a corner we didn't see the difference and their measurements must include the bathroom and terrace because we certainly didn't find them as spacious as described). The big disappointment came from the word "Atlas" in the description - in theory you see the Atlas mountains as opposed to the bedrooms on the ground floor, so again you pay more BUT no one says that the weather is too hazy for 300 days of the year for you to see the Atlas montains at all (we certainly didn't). What you do see is a road beyond the hotel walls with lorries driving to and fro as well as the loud motorbikes -see photo attached - quite disappointing as a view really. If you do go, get the Delux bedroom on the ground floor as you shall be less disappointed and have just as big a bedroom as a Jr Suite plus you don't see the road from the ground level.
FAR AWAY from the medina and the Palmeraie - far from anything in fact so book a car! Check out a map before going...
We checked out early (having booked via booking.com they didn't kick up a fuss - at least that) and went to 2 other fantastic hotels - rooms double the size for half the price and even yet more sublime settings (see my other reviews). Certainly not returning

Room Tip: Delux bedroom on the ground floor - at least it won't have a view of the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, Directeur général at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Mrs M.G.

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on TripAdvisor following you recent stay with us.

While we are obviously disappointed with your comments regarding some aspects of our service, we genuinely value your feedback as a hotelier since it gives us the opportunity to follow up on your experience and to ensure our service is up to our usual standards.

Pursuant to your review, we have fully investigated each of your comments and all the relevant departments have been informed. We will of course ensure that such matters are resolved so that they would not cause annoyance to our future guests. We will call you to discuss some other issues you reported in greater detail.

In the meantime, please allow us to explain that our Purebred Arabian horses are not for riding. Our Reservation Department has sent you a list of activities including all horseback riding possibilities in the neighborhoods and were expecting your decision. However, we should have followed up with you to make appropriate arrangements before your arrival.

As far as our airport transfer service is concerned, we are sorry we actually do not offer to organize transfers in a taxi at €20. Our private airport transfers are arranged in luxury cars with a French and English speaking driver. This service is always recommended to ensure maximum comfort to our valuable guests.

Mrs M.G., we thank you for choosing to stay at Selman Marrakech and we hope we will have a second opportunity to show you our hospitality.

Sincerely,

Selman Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The 'wow' hit us as soon as we walked through the lobby into the lounge/restaurant. OMG. The interiors are just stunning - it was beautiful everywhere we looked. it took a while to take it in. The bar is also fabulous and the spa is sublime. For more, check out neilsonparc's hotel lust list.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, Directeur général at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this amazing review regarding your stay with us.

We were thrilled to read that you enjoyed your experience at Selman Marrakech so much and truly appreciate all the positive comments you have made.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Selman Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Selman Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selman Marrakech

Address: B.P. 24530 Marrackech Atlas, Km 5, route d'Amizmiz, Marrakech 40160, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Selman Marrakech 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selman Marrakech, a palace of distinct, sublime and alluring charm. Designed by Jacques Garcia and built by the best artisans, Selman seduces with its timeless harmony. It rises like a memory, evoking the imagination with a hint of the East.At this intimate, personal and family-owned property, each guest sharesin the joy, love and dreams of their warm and passionate hosts. In this timeless palace whose construction was the vision of the owner,the art of traditional Moroccan hospitality has been revived. Preciousmoments are embodied in the presence of the beautiful thoroughbredArabian horses, symbols of a bygone grandeur, which capture the spiritof Selman and invite the joy of living.An essential and unedited experience, a return to the source of forgotten luxury, now found again under the light of the Selman’s stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Splendia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Expedia so you can book your Selman Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Selman Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.