We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful product, diabolical service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Selman Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Selman Marrakech to your Saves list
Selman Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   B.P 24 530 Marrakech Atlas | Km 5, Route d'Amizmiz, Marrakech 40160, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€500 (EUR)
Ranked #202 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
London
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful product, diabolical service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel itself is stunning. Design is gorgeous, rooms lovely (although not at all the size they appear on the website). The location is about 15 mins in cab from the medina but we were aware of that and this didn't concern us as we just wanted to sun tan and relax at the hotel.

Unfortunately the downside was the horrific service. The staff are literally useless and no one appears to be in charge. I asked to speak with the general manager and was told they do not have one. When I asked who was in charge they said 'the owners' and when I asked to speak to them the staff member told me they were not based in Morocco.

Every meal ordered was wrong, the wifi kept going down and the reception just nodded every time I asked when it would be fixed. You would ask any member of staff for a simple thing and it would just not happen. There was huge inconsistencies, somedays they would give you water complimentary at the pool and the next day they charged us €7 for it.

I had a lamb dish in the restaurant twice during the stay and the second time it was unrecognisable to the dish I had previously had. I asked what was going on and the waiter just looked at me and said 'don't blame me, blame the chef'.

I can go on and on about all the challenges we faced but to be honest all you really need to know is that we checked out early and went to the new Four Seasons and it was utterly perfect in every way.

Room Tip: Stay at the Four Seasons or if budget allows, The Royal Mansour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, General Manager at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very sad to learn you have had a disappointing experience with us.
Having recently taken over the position of General Manager, I would love to get in touch with you for further details, please do contact me directly at +212 524 45 96 00 or email me at clanglade@selman-marrakech.com

Kind regards

Christian Langlade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    14
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
54
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We reserved one week but after 2 nights we left as our stay got worse and worse...
On the positive side, the hotel is well decorated and, though modern, built in a beautiful style.
The positive comments unfortunately finish there...
THE HORSES are stunning but you can't ride them - or the ponies -despite my saying that was the main reason for staying in the hotel when I reserved!
THE MAIN POOL lovely and huge but very cold in April so we had to use the spa outside pool which was at a decent temperature but you are literally made to feel
unwelcome by the spa ladies if you don't use the spa - though the website
never mentioned it was separate to the hotel... the ladies literally refuse to give you towels saying you should bring your own from the cold pool (we waited one hour to have towels - and caught a cold waiting)
THE SERVICE - full stars for the luggage chaps, and the bedroom was very clean. Otherwise the service is appaling - there is no ipod docking station as mentioned on the website, so we asked (several times) for a iphone charger - we got one 12 hours after my iphone battery died... We had put a do not disturb sign on the door and wend to sleep at 10pm when the room service chap knocked then rang the phone to make us sign the bill for our dinner in the bedroom (food was correct) - waking us up! We had the pleasure of people coming into our bedroom during our bath too (it was beginning to remind us of Fawlty Towers). The receptionist raja must take full blame for not explaining or organising the horseriding (far away) and also for conning us into a taxi pickup from the airport at 60 Euros (normally 20 E) - quite shocking especially since he was 15 minutes late.The client relations lady was useless when I complained about the bedrooms not being as described when I reserved (see below) and said she would see what she could do but never got back to me - very unreactive - and of course the manager acted as if he didn't know anything when we left
THE BEDROOMS -on the upside, lovely decoration -BUT we reserved a Delux Atlas and a Jr Suite Atlas (130E more expensive but really not worth it as it was identical to the Delux Atlas except in coulour and a sofa tucked into a corner we didn't see the difference and their measurements must include the bathroom and terrace because we certainly didn't find them as spacious as described). The big disappointment came from the word "Atlas" in the description - in theory you see the Atlas mountains as opposed to the bedrooms on the ground floor, so again you pay more BUT no one says that the weather is too hazy for 300 days of the year for you to see the Atlas montains at all (we certainly didn't). What you do see is a road beyond the hotel walls with lorries driving to and fro as well as the loud motorbikes -see photo attached - quite disappointing as a view really. If you do go, get the Delux bedroom on the ground floor as you shall be less disappointed and have just as big a bedroom as a Jr Suite plus you don't see the road from the ground level.
FAR AWAY from the medina and the Palmeraie - far from anything in fact so book a car! Check out a map before going...
We checked out early (having booked via booking.com they didn't kick up a fuss - at least that) and went to 2 other fantastic hotels - rooms double the size for half the price and even yet more sublime settings (see my other reviews). Certainly not returning

Room Tip: Delux bedroom on the ground floor - at least it won't have a view of the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, Directeur général at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Mrs M.G.

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on TripAdvisor following you recent stay with us.

While we are obviously disappointed with your comments regarding some aspects of our service, we genuinely value your feedback as a hotelier since it gives us the opportunity to follow up on your experience and to ensure our service is up to our usual standards.

Pursuant to your review, we have fully investigated each of your comments and all the relevant departments have been informed. We will of course ensure that such matters are resolved so that they would not cause annoyance to our future guests. We will call you to discuss some other issues you reported in greater detail.

In the meantime, please allow us to explain that our Purebred Arabian horses are not for riding. Our Reservation Department has sent you a list of activities including all horseback riding possibilities in the neighborhoods and were expecting your decision. However, we should have followed up with you to make appropriate arrangements before your arrival.

As far as our airport transfer service is concerned, we are sorry we actually do not offer to organize transfers in a taxi at €20. Our private airport transfers are arranged in luxury cars with a French and English speaking driver. This service is always recommended to ensure maximum comfort to our valuable guests.

Mrs M.G., we thank you for choosing to stay at Selman Marrakech and we hope we will have a second opportunity to show you our hospitality.

Sincerely,

Selman Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The 'wow' hit us as soon as we walked through the lobby into the lounge/restaurant. OMG. The interiors are just stunning - it was beautiful everywhere we looked. it took a while to take it in. The bar is also fabulous and the spa is sublime. For more, check out neilsonparc's hotel lust list.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, Directeur général at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this amazing review regarding your stay with us.

We were thrilled to read that you enjoyed your experience at Selman Marrakech so much and truly appreciate all the positive comments you have made.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Selman Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

A good option for fans of Jacques Garcia who do not want to splurge on La Mamounia. The location is better than people warned me, it takes only about 8-10 minutes from Gueliz by taxi, though getting one out there to take you into town can take some time. What I REALLY LOVE about this hotel is the bed. LIKE SLEEPING ON A CLOUD. Hotel grounds are also impressive, and the food was delicious. As I was on a business trip, I had to ask for an extra lamp in the room, they are a little dark, but this was delivered immediately. I look forward to seeing how this hotel improves over time but for now its a good less expensive luxury option in Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, Directeur général at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review, your feedback is greatly appreciated.

We will be delighted to welcome you back and show you how we improved since your last visit.

Sincerely,
Selman Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

You literally have to look for guests - the hotel grounds are huge (several hectars) but there are only 60 or so rooms, an olypmic size pool, a huge lounge area - and not to forget the stables and the horse show, the private dinner...it felt more like somebody's home. Somebody with a lot of pocket money!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, Directeur général at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Selman Marrakech.

We were delighted to learn of how much you enjoyed staying with us.

Creating a warm and welcoming atmosphere for our guests is extremely important to us and we were glad to hear this was reflected during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Marrakech.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Everything is perfgreat
A bold Garcia decoration revisiting morrocan classics.
Location outside city (quiet) with quick access to center (10min)
Amazing pool and Hara.
Very exlusive. Spa is impressing, quality of product/massage is very good.
Could be improved : Pool is not warmed / service in the restaurant is slow
The rest is perfect !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, Directeur général at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Mr Sebastien V,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments regarding your visit.

Whilst we were delighted to read the positive comments you made about our SPA, pool and hara, we recognize that there were a few instances in your stay where the restaurant service quality delivered might not have been consistent with our standards.

Please rest assured we have taken this matter extremely seriously as we always strive for service excellence.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in Selman Marrakech.

Sincerely,
Selman Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

A beautiful hotel in Marrakesh!

Great Service, great room, great Spa and great food.
Very discreet and sensational hotel staff.

Also, the interior design which was executed by Garcia is spectacular.

I highly recommend this hotel and will be back soon on my next business trip.

Room Tip: Go and have lunch at the Pavilion. You will be amazed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, Directeur général at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Google Translation
Cher M. Basel,

Nous tenons à vous remercier d’avoir pris le temps de nous transmettre vos impressions et nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires élogieux et sincères recommandations.

Dans l’attente du plaisir de vous accueillir prochainement au Selman Marrakech, nous vous prions d’agréer, Cher M. Basel, nos sincères salutations.

Selman Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Selman Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selman Marrakech

Address: B.P 24 530 Marrakech Atlas | Km 5, Route d'Amizmiz, Marrakech 40160, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Selman Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Atlas Mountains, Selman Marrakech, a palace of distinct, designed by Jacques Garcia Selman Marrakech seduces with its timeless harmony. The property offers 55 rooms and suites and 5 private riads with a private swimming pool and butler service, meticulously executed. Selman Marrakech also feature the longest heatable swimming pool of 80m long, 3 restaurants, "Selman," a luxury fine dining with an international menu, "Pavilion," specializing in Mediterranean-inspired dishes with views of the hotel's Arabian horses and "Assyl" Fine Moroccan restaurant. Precious moments are embodied in the presence of the beautiful thoroughbred Arabian horses. There are views of the horses from the terraces and the gardens where one can admire the equine ballet. Selman Marrakech's spa, Espace Vitalite Chenot is a tribute to oriental wellbeing. The Spa offers treatments using the specific and unique Chenot method. Moments of pure grace add to the perfection of this timeless experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Selman Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Selman Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;