We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bed in Marrakech, other areas could use some improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Selman Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Selman Marrakech to your Saves list
Selman Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   B.P 24 530 Marrakech Atlas | Km 5, Route d'Amizmiz, Marrakech 40160, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€360 (EUR)
Ranked #154 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Paris, France
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Best bed in Marrakech, other areas could use some improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

A good option for fans of Jacques Garcia who do not want to splurge on La Mamounia. The location is better than people warned me, it takes only about 8-10 minutes from Gueliz by taxi, though getting one out there to take you into town can take some time. What I REALLY LOVE about this hotel is the bed. LIKE SLEEPING ON A CLOUD. Hotel grounds are also impressive, and the food was delicious. As I was on a business trip, I had to ask for an extra lamp in the room, they are a little dark, but this was delivered immediately. I look forward to seeing how this hotel improves over time but for now its a good less expensive luxury option in Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, Directeur général at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review, your feedback is greatly appreciated.

We will be delighted to welcome you back and show you how we improved since your last visit.

Sincerely,
Selman Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    14
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
16
58
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

You literally have to look for guests - the hotel grounds are huge (several hectars) but there are only 60 or so rooms, an olypmic size pool, a huge lounge area - and not to forget the stables and the horse show, the private dinner...it felt more like somebody's home. Somebody with a lot of pocket money!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, Directeur général at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Selman Marrakech.

We were delighted to learn of how much you enjoyed staying with us.

Creating a warm and welcoming atmosphere for our guests is extremely important to us and we were glad to hear this was reflected during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Marrakech.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Everything is perfgreat
A bold Garcia decoration revisiting morrocan classics.
Location outside city (quiet) with quick access to center (10min)
Amazing pool and Hara.
Very exlusive. Spa is impressing, quality of product/massage is very good.
Could be improved : Pool is not warmed / service in the restaurant is slow
The rest is perfect !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, Directeur général at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Mr Sebastien V,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments regarding your visit.

Whilst we were delighted to read the positive comments you made about our SPA, pool and hara, we recognize that there were a few instances in your stay where the restaurant service quality delivered might not have been consistent with our standards.

Please rest assured we have taken this matter extremely seriously as we always strive for service excellence.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in Selman Marrakech.

Sincerely,
Selman Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

A beautiful hotel in Marrakesh!

Great Service, great room, great Spa and great food.
Very discreet and sensational hotel staff.

Also, the interior design which was executed by Garcia is spectacular.

I highly recommend this hotel and will be back soon on my next business trip.

Room Tip: Go and have lunch at the Pavilion. You will be amazed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, Directeur général at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Google Translation
Cher M. Basel,

Nous tenons à vous remercier d’avoir pris le temps de nous transmettre vos impressions et nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires élogieux et sincères recommandations.

Dans l’attente du plaisir de vous accueillir prochainement au Selman Marrakech, nous vous prions d’agréer, Cher M. Basel, nos sincères salutations.

Selman Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This new addition to the flock of hotels in Marrakech is simply out of this world. Overlooking the Atlas mountains with the crisp light f the red city, the place is simply magical. I recommend the Villa/riads but I also heard that the juniors suites are also amazing. great service, excellent menu, the whole staff is attentive kind and very resourceful.It s family owned, and we feel that it was done from the heart with love. The dark color scheme of Garcia's could antagonize some people, but you either love it or not. In any case it's the new must see, must stay address in Marrakech. And the Must is that It has the most amazing "collection" of Arabian Horses.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, Directeur général at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

We were delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the service provided by our team members.

We have taken the opportunity to share your feedback with our team who were pleased to learn how much you enjoyed the experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back once again to Selman Marrakech.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel is "Heaven on Earth". From the moment my daughter and I arrived in Marrakech the Selman made our trip the trip of a lifetime. The service was absolutely amazing, everyone went out of their way to make our 5 day stay perfect. We checked out feeling we were leaving Paradise and very good friends and took only 2 nights away to realize we needed to get back to the Selman. We extended our holiday for an extra week and stayed with the Selman for that entire period.
A special thanks to Kenza, the front office Manager, Yulia the wonderful Guest relations manager, you are a wonderful special person and Rabiaa and the other wonderful woman who worked at concierge. I do apologise not getting your name down! You ladies are really so special Thank you Selman Marrakech, out of the many hotels in the world I have stayed at you are without a doubt by far the top of my list, the hotel is beautiful in everyway but the people who work to compliment this amazing place have touched our souls with what will remain as a true love for Morocco. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenzoAmaglio, Directeur général at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Mrs,

Thank you for having chosen our Hotel for your recent stay in Marrakech.

On behalf of all my colleagues, I also wanted to thank you very much for your kind words and for the time taken to share your experience.

Our guests’ satisfaction is our day-to-day top priority, thus your support means a lot for us.

We are all also very happy to learn that your stay met your expectations, and that you both felt so well during it.

You will always be welcome at Selman Marrakech,

Looking forward to receiving you soon,

Warm regards,

Lorenzo Amaglio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is the hotel you dream of staying in. From the second you arrive you are a priority. The staff is the best I've ever encountered in the WORLD. They truly want to make sure you are enjoying your stay and do everything you ask to ensure that you do.

The property is a private oasis that makes you relax even when work won't. Their recommendations exceed expectations. We needed a driver to take us to Rabat for the remaining portion of trip in Morocco, and they connected us with what ended up being the best host ever. Ahmed El Blik stayed in Rabat an extra night at our request and drove us around the city explaining Moroccan history and culture.

Almost did not want to write review because I wanted this piece of heaven for myself, but I just had to let everyone know. :) Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenzoAmaglio, Directeur général at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Sir,

First of all, thank you for having chosen the Selman Marrakech for your recent stay in Morocco.

I would like to thank you also for your kind coment as we are extremely sensitive to our guest's feedbacks.

Our main concern is to constantly improve our guests' satisfaction, and that is why I appreciate your support.

I hope that we will have soon the pleasure to welcome you again at Selman Marrakech.

Best regards,

Lorenzo Amaglio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Selman Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selman Marrakech

Address: B.P 24 530 Marrakech Atlas | Km 5, Route d'Amizmiz, Marrakech 40160, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Selman Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Atlas Mountains, Selman Marrakech, a palace of distinct, designed by Jacques Garcia Selman Marrakech seduces with its timeless harmony. The property offers 55 rooms and suites and 5 private riads with a private swimming pool and butler service, meticulously executed. Selman Marrakech also feature the longest heatable swimming pool of 80m long, 3 restaurants, "Selman," a luxury fine dining with an international menu, "Pavilion," specializing in Mediterranean-inspired dishes with views of the hotel's Arabian horses and "Assyl" Fine Moroccan restaurant. Precious moments are embodied in the presence of the beautiful thoroughbred Arabian horses. There are views of the horses from the terraces and the gardens where one can admire the equine ballet. Selman Marrakech's spa, Espace Vitalite Chenot is a tribute to oriental wellbeing. The Spa offers treatments using the specific and unique Chenot method. Moments of pure grace add to the perfection of this timeless experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Selman Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Selman Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.