We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5 Star - The Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 6 Route de Fes | BP 658 Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not 5 Star - The Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Hotel where we resided - The Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa is not a 5 star establishment. At best, a 4 star, mostly a 3+ star rating. Reception is poor, little English is spoken. The rooms are quite small by proper 5 star standards. There are creepy crawlies in all rooms (we checked at least 4 rooms). Most had ants, others had ants and spiders. The walls could do with repainting and most were marked and grubby. The rooms required cleaning as we found hair on the bathroom floor and bed was not properly made. The shower however is excellent! Very Poor quality loo roll, you know the sort. Not 5 star at all. The buffet breakfast was good and had a nice selection and friendly attentive staff. The pool area too was clean, great staff and really nice if a little short on cushions for the loungers.

The most horrid place is the SPA. Don't touch this with a barge pole. We tried a number of treatments and they were much the same. The Hamam had the same towels on the floor over the 3 days I tried it as I had marked one of them just to check my suspicions. The staff are not properly trained and cannot speak English, well they can when things are good but suddenly lose their ability to communicate if you are to complain or ask probing questions or query the bill. They really don't care and just want you in and out asap - there was no offer of tea, coffee or water after a hot hamam or treatment and there is no pool in the SPA at all and the Jacuzzi was not working for the period of our stay. The Head of the SPA in particular is a ruthless so and so. She turned quicker than a starving piranha and I do not think she has the ability to apologise. The massages were poor and lacked any conviction as well as being rather shorter than the prescribed times stated. We felt more like cattle being milked than pampered paying guests.

The hotel is set in lovely grounds and is relaxing but its miles away from the action or anywhere interesting and requires a taxi. There is a shuttle bus, but the timings are odd the last bus leaves the hotel at 5.30pm and the last return bus is at 8.30pm which is really great if you want to have dinner in the hotel and be in bed by 10pm as there is nothing to do at the hotel in the evening. Besides why would you want to dine at the hotel at £24 per head for a buffet! When there are a myriad of places to go to for the evening. This brings me back to Taxis. Outside the hotel there is a collective of cream coloured taxis which cater for the residents. These should be banned from servicing so called 5 star Hotel guests as the Taxis are filthy, grotty, really old, battered wrecks. The Hotel should set standards for the taxis outside its premises as it's a monopoly on trade being located in the sticks. We got into one such wreck an ancient 1970's W116-S-series Mercedes which should have been recycled twice over by now. It had 1 working rear door, was filthy, had bits missing and falling apart, no aircon, inoperative windows and a driver with whom sign language was needed or as in our case and I'm sure most others - pointing to places on a map !

This was not a 5 star Hotel.

Most disappointed

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade at reception - you should get one for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanMarrakech, General Manager at Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment and for the positive aspects you mentioned in your review. Concerning the other part of your comment, please know that we value and respect your point of view; however I would like to explain myself about some points.

My staff do speak and understand English and really try to progress (as you may know in Morocco we speak French and Arabic). Now if there was any misunderstanding between you and them I would be interested to know, please do contact me directly : H3000-QM@accor.com

Regarding the ants, the hotel is treated regularly for insects and we do not often have infestation of any kind, however you do know we are located in the Palmeraie, and you may encounter, maybe not in your room but in the garden, ants and spiders… but in 4 of the rooms you checked that is very strange and I will make sure each and every room is inspected.

Head of the spa turned quicker than a starving piranha? I do not understand; first your criticism about one of our staff members with non-civilized words I repeat (starving piranha), second it is her job to make sure the treatments are paid, and to conclude you have marked one of the towels on the floor just to make sure wether they are being changed? I am not commenting about that, but be sure it has been adressed to the concerned team.

Concerning the taxi stand, as in many other places in the world, we have to work with the local taxi organization which is supervised by the official Tourism Board. We do not have the power to set standards for any transportation that doesn’t belong to us.

Once again, I am sorry that your overall experience was not as pleasant as it should have been here at the Pullman. Be sure that we take our guests comments very seriously and respect your point of view. We will look further into the points listed to make sure no guest is similarly inconvenienced in the future.

Sincerely,
Khalid Issig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    506
    158
    50
    33
See reviews for
614
573
33
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from 3 night stay in the Pullman Marrakech. Best pool area I have been to at any hotel in the world. Lovely beds are placed along side the lovely pool with excellent sun shades and all attended by attentive pool hand. The beds are very comfortable and the walk in shower is very luxurious. The room is compact but has all you need, including tea making facilities and a fridge. Nice patio area with table and chairs just outside. The resturants are fine and don't overlook the Pasta bar where they make to order and taste and the Stir fry chef who will make you a tasty dish. breakfast has everything you could wish for and the outside eating area is haven for birds singing in the sun. Hotel runs a shuttle to the town centre 20 mins away, but you need to book as only has 7 seats. It was 75 - 85 degrees while we were away but cooler at night, which meant you needed a jacket but did not need the air on while sleeping.
The hotel Spa is first class and good value for fantastic treatments. Will try and go back next year.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanMarrakech, General Manager at Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are truly honored you chose our hotel on your last visit to Marrakech.

We appreciate the time you took to provide us with your generous thoughts and comments and we look forward to providing you exceptional service the next time you visit!

Sincerely,
Jalil Chebihi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Good stay at a good location......staff service slow at times, but friendly enough.....totally ruined by allowing smoking in food service and public areas.......just not acceptable these days in a hotel that is attracting international visitors, sorry!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanMarrakech, General Manager at Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

I do not understand your comment, the hotel extends over a 17 hectare surface, which allow us to have both smoking and non-smoking areas in each and every part of the hotel, if you are a non-smoker you should have mentioned it to us, and we certainly would have made all the arrangements for you to never be annoyed by the smoke. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused and hope to welcome you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Jalil Chebihi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The 4/5 day stay was more costly because the hotel's courtesy shuttle 'bus' seated only 7 passengers. The mini bus runs until 5.30pm, with last return @ 8pm. To get a place , you must pre book,( if space available!). Taxi into centre can cost 150D, or, as we finally resorted to, share with other guests from hotel - agreeing a return time and meeting place. Food very good in hotel. Nothing around the grounds outside of security gates, so ate two nights in and recommend Stylia restaurant in guide book for authentic experience. Two aperitif's. one bottle wine (Moroccan/average price £ 26), one still water & three course meal cost £100 for two. Trip to Kik Valley was worth it. Excellent English speaking guide, Larson, very knowledgable. Lovely, friendly people who's impoverished lives made us very humble.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanMarrakech, General Manager at Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I understand that the places are limited in our shuttle bus, and at times due to high occupancy we cannot satisfy all of our guest’s demands, but we are in the process of making changes as we speak. Thank you again, your comments are highly important to us.

I hope to welcome you back to the Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort & Spa hopefully in the near future.

Sincerely,
Jalil Chebihi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Check your bill when checking out as they will charge you for things you haven't had. E.g. lunch. Rooms smelt of sewage. We were not offered a replacement room. staff at main reception didn't know what they were doing. They were not attentive at all. No welcome drinks on arrival. Only privileged guests received the attention. Do not go there if you want good service as service is poor.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanMarrakech, General Manager at Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for your comment, as this is how we improve. We sincerely regret that your stay fell below your expectations.

I want to apologize for the mistake my team seem to have made at the moment of your check-out when charging you for the lunch you haven’t had as well as their attitude towards you. Rest assured I have noted all your comments and will be taking an appropriate action.

Thank you again for providing your feedback as this allows us to put preventative measure in place to ensure we consistently provide a high level of service to all our guests.

I do hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Jalil Chebihi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just got back from a 3 night break. Fab place to stay. Everyone very helpful, especially the pool staff, cleaners were excellent, and food amazing. The manager was very helpful, a lovely place to stay in beautiful surroundings. Want to go back NOW!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanMarrakech, General Manager at Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful words. Your support and kindness encourage us to keep going in the same direction.

My team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Sincerely,
Jalil Chebihi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the Pullman hotel in Marrackech in March 2013. The venue itself was beautiful, and we made full use of the facilities as we were there for a family wedding. The swimming pool area, bar, reception and other public areas were immaculate and the staff were extremely friendly.

We booked a superior room, which was a tad on the small side however had everything we required for our stay and was very pleasant. Unfortunately there was a strong smell of sewage coming from the bathroom, however we were advised that this was due to the Morrocan sewage system, and we note that this was not the hotels fault.

There was a slight communication barrier, as we did not speak much French and most staff spoke little English, but they did go over and beyond to ensure our whole party (some 100 people) was looked after.

The food was amazing, with a lot of choice for both breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lovely resort hotel, would definately be in my list of places to stay if I was ever in that part of the world again.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are rather on the small side, so opt for the deluxe where possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanMarrakech, General Manager at Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor and for the positive comments. I am sincerely honored you chose our hotel on your last visit to Marrakech.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the very near future!

Sincerely,
Jalil Chebihi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
6.5 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#188 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 2,899 reviews
4.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#7 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,305 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#57 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 698 reviews
10.5 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
12.6 mi away
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club
#264 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa

Address: Km 6 Route de Fes | BP 658 Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.