We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mis-leading..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Nari-Nari Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostel Nari-Nari Marrakech to your Saves list
Hostel Nari-Nari Marrakech
Riad Zitoun el Jdid | Rue Bahia, 51, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Mis-leading..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Although a very comfortable riad/hostel with a nice included breakfast, the main manager made our stay very un-enjoyable. Being a local we assumed that we could rely on the information he provided but found that the details he gave were inaccurate & very mis-leading.

We went on a walking tour with his "cousin" which was not informative & ended up paying more than what was quoted by the manager. A night spent in the desert was troublesome too where again the price/cost differed from the original quote & 10hrs+ on a mini-van with NO air-conditioning was not mentioned. When simple questions were asked about the tour (not only by ourselves but another group of travellers) regarding water & things to bring, he became annoyed & gave unclear answers.

Finally, I really didn't appreciate how uncomfortable he made us feel & especially my girlfriend when on our last day, he persistently ask her to write a positive review on the hostel for the website in which she booked. This was a highly unprofessional & unethical manner in which to conduct a business.

Do your research on the tours, make sure you get clear & precise answers & even then, don't rely on its accuracy...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    4
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
12
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Nari Nari was the BEST choice! Very convenient location, just a few minutes off of Jmar el Fna, but in a much nicer and quieter neighborhood. The staff was lovely and very helpful with any request we had. The rooms are nice and very clean with airconditioning. Nari Nari is a great choice for a great price. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Such an unusual hostel in the best way possible. Rose petals and candles on the staircase leading to your room. Very friendly and helpful staff. Turtles on the sundeck. Lovely breakfast in the morning and pot of tea in the evening. I would definately be happy to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Nari Nari was our home base during our stay in Marrakesh. It's location in the heart of the Medina is a 5 minute walk from Jamaâ El Fna and bargaining in the souqs. The hospitality of the hostel manager made the stay at Nari Nari feel like visiting an old family friend. Complimentary mint tea was brought to us any time of day in the oasis-like open air courtyard where we also were served an included breakfast of eggs and Moroccan breads. Cool and comfortable lounge areas off of the courtyard provided a respite in the middle of a hot Moroccan afternoon and a place to check email and look up restaurants on our iphones via the free wifi. In the evenings we relaxed smoking hookah on the third-floor terrace. Nari Nari provided the comforts of an upscale riad and the character and community of an international hostel experience.

Room Tip: There are two dorm-style 8 or 5-bed rooms and the rest are double occupancy en-suite. The dorms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Nari Nari is part of a group of 5 hostels owned by the same family. We did not stay at Nari Nari but instead chose Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge which is a few minutes away.

The reason for my review is to write a short note highlighting the hospitality shown to my girlfriend and I by the manager of Nari Nari, Zuhair (sorry if I spelled wrong!). After a visit to our hostel, Zuhair learned that we were interested in purchasing a few items in Marrakech and offered to show us where the best places are and how to get past the tourist tat. He spent several hours helping us bargain and only acted in our interest unlike other people with an interest in selling in Marrakech, and showed us from one place to the next whilst telling us more about Marrakech and his hostel. We ended up delighted with our purchases and whilst being indebted to him for his time and help, he insisted that we come back to his hostel for tea.

Nari Nari looked like a great hostel and somewhere we would be very happy to stay. Although we cannot really comment further, this review is to thank Zuhair for his hospitality and to tell everyone else that you will be in good hands if you stay here!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed here for three nights. The hosts are very friendly and accommodating and gave us good tips on everything you need to know about the city. Hostel is beautiful and has a great location. It is a great refuge when you have been walking around Marrakech for the whole day and just want to relax. Thanks again!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Nari-Nari is an absolute gem at the center Marrakesh’s labyrinth medina. Unmarked and quietly nestled near the end of a narrow and nondescript side street, travelers resourceful enough to find it on their own (or willing to pay a couple dollars to the clamoring locals eager to guide them) will cross the threshold of its #51 door into an oasis of calm.

The generous and accommodating staff creates a home-like atmosphere for guests from every continent. The beautifully decorated shared lounge space features complimentary wi-fi, mint tea, and fresh hot breakfast served as early or late as you like. Listen to music, watch a movie, sit back with a book, or chat with the staff and guests any time of day. The staff is full of great recommendations and is always more than willing to help you plan your local excursions. They even taught a hands-on cooking class complete with a trip to the local market, and a bottle of wine.

The two shared dorm rooms are a bit of a squeeze, but full doors recently replaced the curtains separating the beds from the bathroom to give guests some added privacy. Two-person private rooms are thoughtfully adorned and worth the relatively small additional cost for a couple. All rooms have A/C units but some work better than others – although you won’t really need it during the non-summer months.

In every respect, Nari-Nari is fully deserving of its consistently amazing reviews on this site and others. Note that it’s best to reserve in advance, as you are likely to encounter a packed house if arriving unannounced; I believe they will also provide detailed directions from a number of prominent landmarks with your confirmation.

Room Tip: Shared dorms are great for singles or travelers on a budget; couples should upgrade to a private roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Nari-Nari Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Nari-Nari Marrakech

Address: Riad Zitoun el Jdid | Rue Bahia, 51, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostel Nari-Nari Marrakech; a hippy haven next to Place D'Jeema el Fna. If you want to learn about Moroccan life, cook a tagine, have an Arabic lesson, have a yoga lesson against the backdrop of an African sunset, or simply want to hang out in the lounge - a shisha in one hand, glass of tea in the other - Nari-Nari's may be your place of choice. Come and stay for a while! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Nari-Nari Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Nari-Nari Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.