We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally, a Good Hotel but You May Still be Ripped-off!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Opera Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Opera Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Opera Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angle Avenue Mohammed VI et Avenue Hassan II, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #247 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Generally, a Good Hotel but You May Still be Ripped-off!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have just returned from a 4-night stay at the Opera Plaza Hotel in Marrakech. On the whole, we would have to say that this property provided a bit of a welcome break from the hassles of the city of Marrakech; however, there were still a couple of issues that we felt ought to be brought to light.

The most prevalent being the fact that the bar and restaurant staff will definitely rip you off when it comes to their wine list. On a couple of occasions, we were advised that our original choice of wine was not available; we were then offered an alternative choice which we thought would have been at the same price as our original choice; however, this was not the case. In fact, on one occasion, the wine was 70 MAD more expensive and we went from a bottle of French wine to a more expensive Moroccan wine (how on earth did they come to this equation?!). We found that French bottles of wine were regularly swapped by domestic Moroccan brands, which in turn, meant that we were being ripped off and the hotel was extorting an even larger profit. If such a practice were to transpire in the UK, Trading Standards would definitely take legal action against such an establishment.

Alas, this is the general way of things in Marrakech! It is extremely tiring having to remain on your guard constantly when all of the locals view you as a gullible meal ticket and are ready to rip you off in some ingenious way or other. BE WARNED ABOUT THIS AND VERY CAREFUL!

The swimming pool was definitely a relaxing oasis to escape to and the size of the room was large and comfortable.

We nearly always find that reception staff are the people to let a hotel down; however, The Opera Plaza was definitely an exception to this rule. There was one very pleasant young lady, in particular, who was very helpful and a real breath of fresh air to deal with.

We found the choice at breakfast to be somewhat lacking. There were very few choices of cold meats and the hot food only extended to eggs. The scrambled eggs on one morning were absolutely revolting and actually resembled more of a couscous consistency. All-in-all, if The Opera Plaza is aspiring to achieve a 4- or 5-star property equivalent, this needs to be looked at urgently.

If you do find yourself travelling to Marrakech, from what we were able to gather, it would seem that this particular hotel is definitely one of the best (if not the best!) choices in town. It isn't perfect, but it's definitely got so many positives going for it and we would generally recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    149
    46
    20
    20
See reviews for
55
155
16
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The facilities were very good and the rooms and cleaning service was also good. The restaurant food was limited and not replenished quickly enough. The restaurant staff were generally polite and helpful as we're other staff members. The reception staff were an enigma - it seemed that helping the hotel residents was a chore and when engaged in conversation with them they would break off or allow interruptions which was very rude. We continually had to have our room cards recharged as they did not always work. The service around the pool was slow and we were repeatedly questioned about our room number when signing for drinks. On one occasion they said are you sure you are in the right hotel! Beware of hidden charges while at the hotel - there is a daily tax that everyone staying in hotels has to pay. The hotel trips are not all they say they are - your guides are not included in the cost of the trip and be prepared for other charges along the way. I would suggest you book your trips in the railway station close by at a reduced cost. The hotel did not detract from our holiday but I would certainly choose a different place to stay if visiting the city again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 217 which is above the main entrance on the busy road - try and avoid this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Having read several bad reviews of the hotel I can simply say I didn't experience any of it! The hotel was lovely all round, the rooms were spacious and everywhere in the hotel was spotlessly clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful as was the doorman who greeted us everytime we came and went and also gave us some friendly advice about the local taxis. The swimming pool was lovely but very cold which was nice in such hot weather, and more than enough sun loungers to go around. We had a pool view room and with both of the doors shut you couldn't hear the noise from the pool at all. The walk to the medina was quite far which we did a few times but taxis are also very reasonable at 20-40dh a ride. I would highly recommend the hotel as a lovely place to stay and hugely enjoyed Marrakech as a whole!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stayed at this hotel from 15th - 22nd July and it was great - I honestly don't know what the bad reviews are about! The service was to a high level, rooms were cleaned every day, we used the safe during our stay and had nothing stolen, the pool was spotless and the staff were all lovely.. if you're nice to them then they'll be nice to you. Easy. I'd recommend you ask for a pool view room. Rooms are a great size. We had a double room but the bed was easily a king-size.
200Dhs deposit to use a towel for the pool (refundable when you return it) if you forget your own. A little pricey for bottles of water (45Dhs), but there is a shop just outside of the hotel (right out the front door, then first right again) which sells water for much cheaper (6Dhs) and we had no trouble getting back into the hotel with it.
It's about a 40min walk to the Medina which we managed to do easily 5 out of the 7 nights we were there - didn't bother to get a taxi - and about 10min was to Gueliz.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Marrakech, especially for the air conned rooms! Also, we were there right in the middle of Ramadan and it didn't affect us one bit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Had a fabulous week here, spa was delightful, hotel staff helpful and friendly the pool area is clean and tranquil just what's needed after a being in the Medina haggling !!! . i would stay at this hotel again ,it's only a few mins by taxi from Medina and Gueliz and airport. wifi is a hit and miss but cross the road to Mcdonalds and use theirs !,. Recommend poolside view, lovely lit up at nighttime.

Room Tip: Poolside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport-On-Tay, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Really loved this hotel, staff were freindly and helpfull and spoke good english. Hotel was immacuate and very stylish and breakfast was good. It was about 20 minute walk to the square but taxis are cheap, we never paid any more than 40 dirum but you must agree the price before getting in the taxi. wifi was slow at times but it was free. This hotel was like a tranquil haven after spending time in the crazy city!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My husband and i stayed from 5th - 12th july. Hotel was lovely, and of a very good standard. Lovely clean rooms and furnished really nice. Warning though, we had our phone and some cash stolen out of our room. We had been out and came back mid-day, room had been cleaned, decided to have a couple of hours by the pool. in that time someone had been in and stole. We do use the safe provided, but carelessly forget to put cash and phone away after being out.Hotel called police and we reported what had happened.Could have been worse! Lock everything, even if leaving room for a few minutes, you never know!.Apart from that had a fab time.

Room Tip: choose pool view. Road view could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Opera Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Plaza Hotel

Address: Angle Avenue Mohammed VI et Avenue Hassan II, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Opera Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.