We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, slightly further out of Morocco but fantastic rooms and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opera Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Opera Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Opera Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angle Avenue Mohammed VI et Avenue Hassan II, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #250 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel, slightly further out of Morocco but fantastic rooms and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I recently stayed here with a friend as part of an organised tour. I have to say that my expectations were low, having read some of the other reviews on here. Our tour guide was also relatively negative about the service and food, but our experience was quite the opposite! Staff were extremely polite, friendly and helpful, including moving sun loungers, bringing drinks and suggesting places to eat.

Food: The food was also good, not absolutely incredible, but a decent selection, hot and varied each night. On our arrival there was a Moroccan night which was lovely. The breakfast was brilliant, particularly the woman who handmade the pastries while you wait - I still salivate thinking about them. Wine is expensive, but there is a supermarket nearby and there doesn't seem to be an issue with taking shop-bought wine to your room. Snacks are available by the pool until mid-afternoon. There is also a Moroccan restaurant within the hotel complex, but it is VERY expensive, and not anywhere near as nice as the food out in Marrakech itself, so I would avoid this.

Room: We had a room facing the street, and heard absolutely no road traffic whatsoever, despite it being on a main thoroughfare (we did witness one crash on the roundabout though!). There balcony looked down onto the road, and faced the sunset, which was very pleasant. The room was cool, dark and the beds turned every day. The room was also much more spacious than I was expecting, and the bathroom was done to a high standard. Some minor signs of wear and tear, but certainly nothing to complain about.

Facilities: The pool is of a fairly decent size, and there are a lot of sun loungers, but these did become full when there were several coach parties staying. Towels were provided free of charge. However, if you're staying in Marrakech, you'll want to be out experiencing the city, not staying in the hotel!

Location: The hotel is outside of the old city walls, which means it's a taxi ride or a 45 minute walk into the main part of Morocco. We always took a taxi, mainly because of the terrifying experience of crossing roads! We were advised not to pay more than 25 Dh for a taxi (about £2.00), and we succeeded in this, although it usually took more than one attempt to get a taxi that was willing to take us for that fare. The taxi ride took a couple of minutes. If I was going to Marrakech again, I would like to stay in a Riad for the atmosphere, but know I would be paying for this.

Summary: A great base to explore Marrakech and the rest of Morocco from. Whatever issues other travellers had with staff or food seem to have been sorted now, and I would have no qualms about going back again.

Room Tip: As said above, we had one facing the road and heard nothing at all. It was also great to sit out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    180
    57
    22
    24
See reviews for
72
182
19
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Spent 3 days at the Opera Plaza this week and it was beyond expectations, friendly helpful staff and plenty of them . The room was spacious, very clean and well equipped,the buffet breakfast had lots of choices. Definately merits its 4* status. Well situated not too far from the animated center and has lots of good restaurants and cafes a short walk away , would certainly recommend and return again.

Room Tip: ask for a poolside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here over New Year and I have already recommended it as an option to my firends if they want to go to Marrakech. Location wise it is good as it is near the train station, Supratours and the Nouvelle Ville. I would have found the medina too hectic to stay in. The medina is at least a 30min walk along the main busy roads. not the prettiest walk when doing it several times. We were reliably told a taxi to/from the the hotel/medina should be no more than 40d during the day and 60d during the evening. This is the tourist price including the tip. Get your water from the train station (8d), it's almost as cheap as a corner shop.

As someone else has mentioned, breakfast was a bit disorganised, awkwardly laid out and the Nescafe coffee machine was either not working or would break down every day. In saying that there was a decent selection for breakfast and we didn't go hungry.

The room was large and clean. The bed is massive and comfortable. Curtains block out light. Some noise could be heard but i think we had particularly noisy neighbours and lots of people liked to talk outside our room late at night.

Staff were friendly however we had a delayed check in and no reason was given. The pool area is nice however there is only about 4 hours worth of sunshine on it at this time of the year. I think some people came thinking they would be by the poolside all day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a weekend in January with my family.We booked a twin room ,however on arrival we were given a double room even though our documentation clearly stated a twin room. We went back to reception to complain, The man on reception stated that it was not his problem ,when it clearly was the hotels issue. After an hour and a half of waiting for the manager we were each given a triple room in consolation for what we wanted. I warn you the hotel does not do twin rooms it only states it on the website ,I think it may be a translation issue.

Nevertheless, this is a beautiful hotel with fantastic facilities. Rooms are a nice size with comfortable and clean beds

While it is not directly within the medina it is in a beautiful area. Medina is around a half an hour walk . It has great transport links it is next to the main station , taxi ranks and the tourist bus stops directly outside giving great access to the city and it's surroundings.

The meals were absolutely brilliant with a choice of various things for breakfast including breads and baguettes, eggs, sausages ,cereals , fruits , yoghurts and moroccan dishes.
Dinner and lunches consisted of continental and moroccan dishes including hot and cold dishes. A overall fantastic selection of food.

Staff were friendly and attentive making the hotel a comfortable setting.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Nice modern hotel in the Nouvelle Ville with pleasant staff. Central and within walking distance of the Djemaa el Fna. Taxis are cheap so you're within striking distance of most Marrakech attractions from here. Stayed for a week on B&B though breakfast is a bit of a botched affair: every day the coffee machine broke while the buffet is beside the entrance which causes log jams every morning. Plenty places to grab b'fast elsewhere in the vicinity so I'd advice to take room only if possible. All told decent, clean place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My friend & I stayed at the Opera Plaza at of the end of September this year. We went half board to make sure that we left the hotel to explore Marrakech. The hotel is located opposite the train station & about 20 minutes walk from the old city.

The breakfast buffet was lovely, with plenty of choice. The bedroom & bathroom were well decorated, with modern décor. The staff were friendly and attentive, although the lady making pancakes in thge morning was a little rude. The pool area was clean & looked like it was recently decorated. There weren't that many loungers so I imagine it can get very busy at peak times. The pool bar was quite over priced, as was the hotel bar. It cost the same for a lunchtime snack at the pool bar as it did for an evening meal at a local restaurant. The night time entertainment left a lot to be desired but that might have been because it was towards the end of the summer season. If it's like that all year round, if recommend spending your evenings elsewhere. All in all, a pleasant stay in a nice hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms with a pool view are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We spent one week in the Opera Plaza Hotel in october for our honeymoon. We didn't get any special treatment for our honeymoon but that wasn't needed because the hotel was very good at taking care of alle the guests.

Breakfast: very large and mix between healthy and not so healthy stuff. We even got an early breakfast on request because we took an early trip.
The people working in the hotel are always very nice and healpfull, the cleaning lady's do their jobs perfectally.

It is ideally located for a visit to Marrakech, right outside the busy centre, but still in walking distance.

The prices in the restaurant are a bit high, but outside the hotel there are plenty of other options to eat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks over the pool, because the street can be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Opera Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Plaza Hotel

Address: Angle Avenue Mohammed VI et Avenue Hassan II, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Opera Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.