We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Opera Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Opera Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Opera Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angle Avenue Mohammed VI et Avenue Hassan II, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #247 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had a very enjoyable three-day stay here. The location is not great - it's at least a 20 minute walk to the souks, but you can easily get a taxi for a couple of pounds. The hotel was spacious and clean, and the staff were all very helpful. We never had to wait more than a few seconds for a lift. The pool area offers plenty of comfortable chairs and loungers, and lots of them are in well shaded areas. Service at the poolside bar was excellent. The dining area can get a bit congested at peak times, but hey, you get the chance to brush up on your German or Italian ... or whatever. The choice and quality of food was good, but really no better than that. Our room (suite would not be over-stating it) was truly sumptuous, with everything very clean, comfortable and functional. The rooms vary quite a bit in size and location, however, and we just struck lucky. Others in our group were less fortunate. If you want to know - we had room 220. Go for it - if you can!

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the pool, not the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    119
    42
    18
    19
See reviews for
48
135
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed at opera plaza 9-13th oct 2013 and had an amazing time. Room lovely and spacious and spotlessly clean bathroom great but you do have to clamber out of the bath and shower. Restaurants on site very good breakfast great especially the square pancakes! We found the staff very helpful and perfectly able to understand what we were asking for especially mustapher who was a star. Would love to stay here again soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend spent a week at the Opera Plaza in June. It was very clean and modern, nothing to complain about room wise either- big comfortable bed and great bathroom. Our room was overlooking the pool so was quiet and relaxing. I agree the staff in the hotel do not speak great English - we struggled to book a taxi or explain where we wanted to go but I expected that in Morocco. We ate in the hotel for the first 3 nights - wish we hadn't, food is much cheaper when you go elsewhere. We also bought bottles of water from the newsagents in the station across the road. We booked 2 trips through the hotel which we really enjoyed. Overall we couldn't have asked for much more from our holiday, would definitely stay at this hotel again. When I read the reviews beforehand I was apprehensive and can be quite picky when it comes to cleanliness and the standard of hotels, but it really is very pleasant.

Room Tip: You don't need to pay more than 50 baht to get to the markets by taxi Visit the ice cream parlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed in this hotel on a recent trip to Marrakesh. Hotel very clean, food excellent and staff friendly and helpful. The morroccan restaurant was lovely but we did not eat in the other restaurants as was expensive and not part of our holiday. The only downside was that the hotel was very dark.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are quieter and lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Its difficult to summarise the hotel. The rooms are excellent with a lovely bathroom. The hotel is very clean, the staff friendly and there's a great pool. The bar is also good although the live music was too loud for our choice. The main thing which let it down was the food in the buffet restaurant. The restaurant is too small for the size of hotel and the kitchen staff really struggled to make sure there was enough food for everyone, which was often not the case. The wait for drinks is also excessive. After 3 evening meals we'd had enough and we went to the a la carte Morrocan restaurant. This was as different again. The food was excellent as was the service, although it was a bit slow. It was a shame that we were the only one's in the restaurant. If the management could only sort out the buffet it would improve our rating to at least very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

A nice building with great facilities, nice beds and toilet, located conveniently opposite the train station and just a few steps away from bus station. However, staff wasnt friendly and it lacked warmth.
The hotel served our needs (as we wanted to stay near the bus station to go to Essaouira), but it is not representative of the Moroccan hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour from the 15th - 18th September

The good points - The room was clean, the minibar fridge was stocked and the hotel itself was clean. We had a room facing the pool so were kept out of the traffic noise. There appeared to be the use of a gym and there was free wi-fi as long as you were in the lobby.

The average - Although the room was clean, the size was a bit on the small side, although there was enough wardrobe space, the room was too small for the low table and we had to keep moving the table and dodging our bags. The room could also have done with an extra power socket in order to charge things up without having to disconnect lamps. The aircon worked but was on the noisy side and the smell in the toilet was unpleasant (it smelt of cabbages).

The poor - The restaurant needs improvement, on our first day there was a queue for large plates. The selection of savoury food was varied, some local dishes, some international dishes buffet style. (They do have other a la carte restaurants but we didn't try these as the buffet food was included in our holiday). The overall taste of the food I would classify as edible but nothing to praise about it, it wasn't hot and the chicken was extremely dry. However the selection of desserts was nice. The breakfast selection wasn't much better and during our time there we weren't asked for a drinks order.

The bar - we were feeling a bit delicate and were chilling out in the bar and ordered a couple of teas - I wanted herbal, my partner wanted Earl Grey (both were on the bar menu). Initially the barman said they only had the regular "lipton tea" and I walked away, he soon came back with a selection box of teas. I asked for tea with milk for my partner and it came back made entirely of hot milk, we sent it back again asking for a jug of milk and eventually got what we asked for at the third time of asking - although I then realised that my 'herbal tea' was also Earl Grey!

Although the room was clean, the linen on the bed comprised of just a mattress protector with a duvet cover (no filling) on top and a sheet on top of that. There was no blanket in the room, I went to reception to ask for a blanket that evening however nothing came. I had to ask again the next morning and eventually got one although that morning I also had to ask for towels as the dirty ones had been taken but not replaced.

The communal toilets on the ground floor did not appear to be monitored for supplies, one evening there was no toilet paper in the toilets and the next morning upon visiting again the paper hadn't been restocked.

Although our stay was coloured by both me and my partner being ill (not the fault of the hotel) the hotel was very average and was let down by poor service and poor food.

Overall, If I were to revisit in Marrakech, I would not look to return here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Opera Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Plaza Hotel

Address: Angle Avenue Mohammed VI et Avenue Hassan II, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Plaza Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Opera Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.