We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Opera Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Opera Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Opera Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angle Avenue Mohammed VI et Avenue Hassan II, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #247 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend spent a week at the Opera Plaza in June. It was very clean and modern, nothing to complain about room wise either- big comfortable bed and great bathroom. Our room was overlooking the pool so was quiet and relaxing. I agree the staff in the hotel do not speak great English - we struggled to book a taxi or explain where we wanted to go but I expected that in Morocco. We ate in the hotel for the first 3 nights - wish we hadn't, food is much cheaper when you go elsewhere. We also bought bottles of water from the newsagents in the station across the road. We booked 2 trips through the hotel which we really enjoyed. Overall we couldn't have asked for much more from our holiday, would definitely stay at this hotel again. When I read the reviews beforehand I was apprehensive and can be quite picky when it comes to cleanliness and the standard of hotels, but it really is very pleasant.

Room Tip: You don't need to pay more than 50 baht to get to the markets by taxi Visit the ice cream parlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    149
    46
    20
    20
See reviews for
55
155
16
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed in this hotel on a recent trip to Marrakesh. Hotel very clean, food excellent and staff friendly and helpful. The morroccan restaurant was lovely but we did not eat in the other restaurants as was expensive and not part of our holiday. The only downside was that the hotel was very dark.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are quieter and lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Its difficult to summarise the hotel. The rooms are excellent with a lovely bathroom. The hotel is very clean, the staff friendly and there's a great pool. The bar is also good although the live music was too loud for our choice. The main thing which let it down was the food in the buffet restaurant. The restaurant is too small for the size of hotel and the kitchen staff really struggled to make sure there was enough food for everyone, which was often not the case. The wait for drinks is also excessive. After 3 evening meals we'd had enough and we went to the a la carte Morrocan restaurant. This was as different again. The food was excellent as was the service, although it was a bit slow. It was a shame that we were the only one's in the restaurant. If the management could only sort out the buffet it would improve our rating to at least very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

A nice building with great facilities, nice beds and toilet, located conveniently opposite the train station and just a few steps away from bus station. However, staff wasnt friendly and it lacked warmth.
The hotel served our needs (as we wanted to stay near the bus station to go to Essaouira), but it is not representative of the Moroccan hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour from the 15th - 18th September

The good points - The room was clean, the minibar fridge was stocked and the hotel itself was clean. We had a room facing the pool so were kept out of the traffic noise. There appeared to be the use of a gym and there was free wi-fi as long as you were in the lobby.

The average - Although the room was clean, the size was a bit on the small side, although there was enough wardrobe space, the room was too small for the low table and we had to keep moving the table and dodging our bags. The room could also have done with an extra power socket in order to charge things up without having to disconnect lamps. The aircon worked but was on the noisy side and the smell in the toilet was unpleasant (it smelt of cabbages).

The poor - The restaurant needs improvement, on our first day there was a queue for large plates. The selection of savoury food was varied, some local dishes, some international dishes buffet style. (They do have other a la carte restaurants but we didn't try these as the buffet food was included in our holiday). The overall taste of the food I would classify as edible but nothing to praise about it, it wasn't hot and the chicken was extremely dry. However the selection of desserts was nice. The breakfast selection wasn't much better and during our time there we weren't asked for a drinks order.

The bar - we were feeling a bit delicate and were chilling out in the bar and ordered a couple of teas - I wanted herbal, my partner wanted Earl Grey (both were on the bar menu). Initially the barman said they only had the regular "lipton tea" and I walked away, he soon came back with a selection box of teas. I asked for tea with milk for my partner and it came back made entirely of hot milk, we sent it back again asking for a jug of milk and eventually got what we asked for at the third time of asking - although I then realised that my 'herbal tea' was also Earl Grey!

Although the room was clean, the linen on the bed comprised of just a mattress protector with a duvet cover (no filling) on top and a sheet on top of that. There was no blanket in the room, I went to reception to ask for a blanket that evening however nothing came. I had to ask again the next morning and eventually got one although that morning I also had to ask for towels as the dirty ones had been taken but not replaced.

The communal toilets on the ground floor did not appear to be monitored for supplies, one evening there was no toilet paper in the toilets and the next morning upon visiting again the paper hadn't been restocked.

Although our stay was coloured by both me and my partner being ill (not the fault of the hotel) the hotel was very average and was let down by poor service and poor food.

Overall, If I were to revisit in Marrakech, I would not look to return here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband & I were looking forward to a week in Marrakech unfortunately we found the hotel staff to be rude and really not trained to provide a service. We arrived in our room to find the curtain track hanging off the wall, and therefore we were unable to use the curtains. We reported this at reception on Wednesday evening 10th Sept, again on Friday. Finally this was rectified on Sunday afternoon 15th Sept.
Food in the restaurant was extremely poor, in that food was reproduced daily in another form to what it was the previous day. The restaurant opened for breakfast at 7am and again in the evening for dinner at 7.30pm. We very quickly realised that unless you arrived to the restaurant near to opening times, that the supply of food ran out, along with crockery and cutlery these were in short supply!
The hotel provided excellent evenings of music in the bar, however the bar staff were not keen to serve drinks even if you went to the bar yourself, more often than not we were ignored whilst the staff were talking amongst themselves.
The hotel was rated 4 star and I would agree that this rating is correct. The hotel was extremely clean throughout and the bedrooms and bathrooms were to a good standard.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room overlooking the pool. Rooms facing the road are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Opera Plaza Hotel for 6 Nights in September , I was a bit worried after reading other Reviews if this was the right choice . But as it turned out it was a lovely Hotel just by the Station if that helps.
The room overlooking the pool which I emailed for was just great, cleaned everyday and the Bed was very large,so if you can get a room overlooking pool it's quieter.
The Breakfast was OK but not for catered towards the English,the pancakes cooked fresh while you waited we're lovely.
If you do stay we booked Half Board but its not worth it for the money,you are best to eat outside.
The service from the staff was very good and the Bar staff in lobby bar were great and the England Football Matches on the big screen was great.
Would stay here again as it was central to everything

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Opera Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Plaza Hotel

Address: Angle Avenue Mohammed VI et Avenue Hassan II, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Opera Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.