We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Central Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Opera Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Opera Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Opera Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angle Avenue Mohammed VI et Avenue Hassan II, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #249 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Central Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

A group of friends stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. Having booked the trip in Feb and upon reading some of the negative reviews of this hotel, we were not sure of what expect. In reality, although this is not a 4* hotel, it is a very good 3* plus hotel. All the staff were very accommodating and went out of their way to assist, especially Hassan who really looked after us at Breakfast. The only recommendation I would make is that the breakfast menu didn't change from day to day and the choice on offer was the same each day.

The rooms were spacious and cleaned every day. As for the location of the hotel, it is perfect as it is opposite the train station an central.

The hotel has 3 restaurant. We tried Le Thaisu on our second night. Although it was empty, which initially provoked a concern, we actually had a very good meal.

There are other hotels in this area but Opera Plaza was the best. I have no hesitations in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    134
    43
    19
    20
See reviews for
50
143
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel is lovely. The fabric colours are smart and chic and the decor is very tasteful. The staff work hard and are very helpful, have friendly attitude and made our stay so good. The variety of restaurants serve excellent food in great surroundings, with choices from the menu that provide a diverse selection.
The hotel's central to most places, easy to get a taxi, train or bus and means other places for eating are very close with a good range of choices and prices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed over the Easter week. There's a common theme here and I'm going to add to it. If you're looking for good service, friendly staff and a a decent breakfast to start your day don't stay here. Certainly don't eat here for lunch or dinner. We got caught out on the first night arriving late we had dinner in the hotel's Morrocan restaurant. Just like faulty towers. A complete nonsense and the worst food we had during our stay. The rooms were clean fair play there but the soap, shower gel and shampoo sachets reminded me of budget holidays as a student. Also the location is not good unless you want to catch a train (station close by) or the red tour bus which stops outside. Air conditioning - what air conditioning? Anyway we moved out after 3 days having found a number of better places to stay for the remainder of the holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and would definitely recommend. Perfect location for exploring the city and right by the train station.

The hotel is spotless and there is a great pool area. All the hotel staff are so friendly and do anything for you. In particular Abdessamad is one of best waiters ive experienced anywhere.

Also the rossini restaurant run by Adib (who also is fantastic) has a great selection of food each night.

Overall a top experience would def come back

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great location as a base for out of city day trips
Many people have mentioned on reviews of this hotel that the staff are not overly competent, and that was true in part on our trip. We stayed here for 3 nights in Feb13 after staying in a more expensive riad in the Medina followed by a 4 night trip to Essaouira, where we again stayed in a beautiful riad.
On this part of our trip, we used this hotel as a convenient bed and breakfast as our days were taken up on long day trips into the mountains on one day and a train trip to Casablanca the next. The Breakfast was as good as anywhere in our opinion.
We had a lunch in the poolside restaurant on our last day, and we could see what we guessed were the completed meals going cold on the side, by the waiting staff, while they were getting what appeared to be a training session on the tills. They were finally brought to us about 10-15mins later, a little cooler that they could have been.
One evening we got back late and decided to order a burger and dring from room service, 90 minutes and about 4 frustrating phone conversations later they finally arrived with an apologetic manager. We got the impression that without his final intervention, we would not have eaten at all that night. The staff kept telling us that they had it under control, but until we spoke to the manager on our 4th conversation, nothing had got done.
Yes, the reception staff are "matter of fact" in their approach, but overall we were happy enough with our stay here, and would recommend it as a functional home base.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our stay was from the 1st of April till the 8th , the location is good, the room spacious and very clean, bathroom spacious but soap and shamppo awful in tiny sample packs, the air con is of no use outside on the balcony 80 degree's, inside air con with hot air, the mangement does not turn it on to cool till 1st of May, offer of a change of room never happened althought promised by 3 managers, a picket line of ex staff outside the front door who have been sacked , senior staff only in post weeks, the Thai restaurant is a night mare, a wait of 45 minutes to be served the wrong starter as they did not have what was on the menue , order for wine then turned out not to be in stock in fact none of the wines we asked for, a simple white !!! The manager of the main restauarnt and the Thai restaurant manager said the charge would be deleted , after over 2 hours discussion the night before we left and when we left made no differnce the manager of finace Mr. Khalid would not remove the charge , on one day when the tempurture was so hot you could not sit in the sun, the sun umbrella's went out when the shade of the building made then of no use and no pool staff just some times. We could be still staying at the hotel even now as an early morning call that did not happen, room service for a bucket of ice took 5 calls and 1 hour and 15 minutes, and the waiter said that he had not been busy but was just not told.
A person was taken ill at the pool the family asked the manager to call an ambulance , after 15 minutes of a doctor and nurse staying at the hotel, giving mouth to mouth , and pumping the chest , the manager asked was an ambulance still needed , and staff taking video's on mobile phones, the man did pass away.

This hotel could be good, but staff who are not managed or trained , as for Thomsons who we spoken to for over an hour in London by phone and the rep Rashid we got no satisfaction and only when we left did the rep say did they move you and seemed shocked it did not happen.
Think long and hard before you book this hotel, it is in the Daily Telegraph Travel plus Thomsons be warned.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at Opera Plaza for 6 nights. Overall we were very satisfied with the services provided. Despite the fact that the first night, the hotel was overbooked, Sales Manager Wassima did offer an alternative hotel and she made sure we liked the room, provided a lift back and forth and did offer a free dinner. She picked up next day with a driver and kept an eye on us during our stay in order to ensure that we have access to anything that we may possible require. We stayed on the 3rd floor (311) which is a room overlooking the pool. No problem with noise as other mention, but we did come back to our room quite late. The location is pretty good as it take about 20 - 30 minute walk to the Medina or a 5 minute taxi ride ( 30 - 50 Dirham). The red tourist bus which goes all around Marrakech has a stop right infront of the hotel and you can buy a ticket from the driver. The breakfast was good with 2 ladies preparing fresh morrocean crepes (msemmen) and lots of other fresh baked sweets. Comparing to other staff in Morocco, I would sincerely comment that Opera Plaza does pay attention to customer satisfaction. My recommendation, when asking for something, be polite and firm and set the right level of expectations. This will help you avoid any disappointments. In conclusion, I did prefer Opera plaza to a Riyadh because of the space, facilities (pool, gym, bowling, 3 restaurants) and location. There are many restaurants closeby look up Dinos for amazing ice creams. Thumbs up definetely going back soon !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Opera Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Plaza Hotel

Address: Angle Avenue Mohammed VI et Avenue Hassan II, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Opera Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.