We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location as a base for out of city day trips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Opera Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Opera Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Opera Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angle Avenue Mohammed VI et Avenue Hassan II, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #249 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
New Forest, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location as a base for out of city day trips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great location as a base for out of city day trips
Many people have mentioned on reviews of this hotel that the staff are not overly competent, and that was true in part on our trip. We stayed here for 3 nights in Feb13 after staying in a more expensive riad in the Medina followed by a 4 night trip to Essaouira, where we again stayed in a beautiful riad.
On this part of our trip, we used this hotel as a convenient bed and breakfast as our days were taken up on long day trips into the mountains on one day and a train trip to Casablanca the next. The Breakfast was as good as anywhere in our opinion.
We had a lunch in the poolside restaurant on our last day, and we could see what we guessed were the completed meals going cold on the side, by the waiting staff, while they were getting what appeared to be a training session on the tills. They were finally brought to us about 10-15mins later, a little cooler that they could have been.
One evening we got back late and decided to order a burger and dring from room service, 90 minutes and about 4 frustrating phone conversations later they finally arrived with an apologetic manager. We got the impression that without his final intervention, we would not have eaten at all that night. The staff kept telling us that they had it under control, but until we spoke to the manager on our 4th conversation, nothing had got done.
Yes, the reception staff are "matter of fact" in their approach, but overall we were happy enough with our stay here, and would recommend it as a functional home base.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    119
    42
    18
    19
See reviews for
48
135
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Epping, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our stay was from the 1st of April till the 8th , the location is good, the room spacious and very clean, bathroom spacious but soap and shamppo awful in tiny sample packs, the air con is of no use outside on the balcony 80 degree's, inside air con with hot air, the mangement does not turn it on to cool till 1st of May, offer of a change of room never happened althought promised by 3 managers, a picket line of ex staff outside the front door who have been sacked , senior staff only in post weeks, the Thai restaurant is a night mare, a wait of 45 minutes to be served the wrong starter as they did not have what was on the menue , order for wine then turned out not to be in stock in fact none of the wines we asked for, a simple white !!! The manager of the main restauarnt and the Thai restaurant manager said the charge would be deleted , after over 2 hours discussion the night before we left and when we left made no differnce the manager of finace Mr. Khalid would not remove the charge , on one day when the tempurture was so hot you could not sit in the sun, the sun umbrella's went out when the shade of the building made then of no use and no pool staff just some times. We could be still staying at the hotel even now as an early morning call that did not happen, room service for a bucket of ice took 5 calls and 1 hour and 15 minutes, and the waiter said that he had not been busy but was just not told.
A person was taken ill at the pool the family asked the manager to call an ambulance , after 15 minutes of a doctor and nurse staying at the hotel, giving mouth to mouth , and pumping the chest , the manager asked was an ambulance still needed , and staff taking video's on mobile phones, the man did pass away.

This hotel could be good, but staff who are not managed or trained , as for Thomsons who we spoken to for over an hour in London by phone and the rep Rashid we got no satisfaction and only when we left did the rep say did they move you and seemed shocked it did not happen.
Think long and hard before you book this hotel, it is in the Daily Telegraph Travel plus Thomsons be warned.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at Opera Plaza for 6 nights. Overall we were very satisfied with the services provided. Despite the fact that the first night, the hotel was overbooked, Sales Manager Wassima did offer an alternative hotel and she made sure we liked the room, provided a lift back and forth and did offer a free dinner. She picked up next day with a driver and kept an eye on us during our stay in order to ensure that we have access to anything that we may possible require. We stayed on the 3rd floor (311) which is a room overlooking the pool. No problem with noise as other mention, but we did come back to our room quite late. The location is pretty good as it take about 20 - 30 minute walk to the Medina or a 5 minute taxi ride ( 30 - 50 Dirham). The red tourist bus which goes all around Marrakech has a stop right infront of the hotel and you can buy a ticket from the driver. The breakfast was good with 2 ladies preparing fresh morrocean crepes (msemmen) and lots of other fresh baked sweets. Comparing to other staff in Morocco, I would sincerely comment that Opera Plaza does pay attention to customer satisfaction. My recommendation, when asking for something, be polite and firm and set the right level of expectations. This will help you avoid any disappointments. In conclusion, I did prefer Opera plaza to a Riyadh because of the space, facilities (pool, gym, bowling, 3 restaurants) and location. There are many restaurants closeby look up Dinos for amazing ice creams. Thumbs up definetely going back soon !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel lacks any kind of charm, character or atmosphere. Whilst being aesthetically pleasing, spacious and clean I cant say I had an enjoyable experience at the Opera Plaza. The reception staff were exceptionally unhelpful, and customer service in the bar and restaurant was appalling.

If you do decide to stay here I would strongly advise you not to eat at the hotel, the food was about 4 times more expensive than local restaurants and the quality was poor. We had an awful experience in the Moroccan restaurant where we were made to feel like an inconvenience; waiting a very long time to see a menu, then to order, then for our food which was incredibly disappointing. The breakfast on the other hand was great, especially the freshly made crepes!

During our stay we paid 300 dirhams for wifi in our room for 3 days. Unfortuantely neither myself or my partner could get it to work on our phones, hotel reception told us they couldn't refund our money and that they would send an IT technician to help us solve the problem. He never came. They were equally unhelpful when we had a bottle of wine go missing from our room claiming that it was impossible that someone could have taken it.

It cant be argued that the rooms are lovely, we had two twin beds which were the size of small doubles however both the bed and the pillows were incredibly uncomfortable. This combined with the lack of air conditioning with temperatures in the high 20s made for very sleepless nights.

On the plus side the location of the hotel is excellent if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of the old city and is a short and easy taxi ride into the main square.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights 23 - 29 March and enjoyed every minute. Walking into the hotel smelt lovely with the scent distributed through the air con. Check in was a pleasure with the ever so helpful, handsome man (whose name I didn't catch - sorry), he seated us down, made us feel welcome, and was amused at our request when we asked for our assigned pool view room be changed to a street view. The baggage boy showed us to our lovely spacious room which had two twin beds, seating area, plasma tv & mini bar, the only drawback was that it had no tea & coffee facilities. The balcony had two double doors which kept any noise outside. There was no balcony furniture/seating but was quickly remedied when we asked, The bathroom was also spacious but had no grab rail to enter the over the bath shower, which was very high. Plenty of hot water, clean towels but toiletries were disappointing consisting of 1 sachet of shampoo, 1 showerwash sachet and a small bar of soap. Rooms were cleaned spotlessly every day.

Breakfast was nice, hot & cold buffet, pancakes, tea, coffee, juices etc.

Morrocan Restaurant was lovely...didn't get to try the others.

Pool was really nice with comfortable sun loungers & seating areas, fresh towels always available served by the wonderfuly efficient pool attendent and drinks served by the polite bar staff.

Reception staff helpful and Jawad (the nightshift guy) was a gem...

The staff were lovely but the bar lacked atmosphere and was pricy, the live entertainment by the sound alike Gypsy Kings followed by Mark the soloist were Fantastic! and made up for it all. Both entertainment acts especially the Gypsy's were Great !!!!

Taxi's, buses, sightseeing bus all stop outside the hotel.

Coffee shops, train station a few steps away. Supermarket 10 minute walk Medina approx 30 minute walk. Guelliz Bars, restaurants 10 - 15 mins walk or 20 dirham in a taxi - Do not pay the 50 as suggested by hotel or the whopping prices by the taxi drivers. Hivernage 20/30 dirham.

Free wifi only available in the lobby & pool area - surcharge in room.

The hotel & staff here were really nice and attentive - I will certainly return.

See you soon Opera Plaza - We had an amazing time!!!

Enjoy your stay trip advisors :-)

Room Tip: Street facing rooms not at all noisy when balcony door closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed at the opera plaza for a week with my two daughters (20 & 22) for a week at the beginning of April. The holiday was organised by Thomson.
Our room was large and very comfortable - 2 double and 1 single bed. I think all the rooms have balconies with table & chairs; most face the pool which is beautifully lit up at night. The bathroom was huge- a word of warning about bath/shower- anyone with agility or mobility problems would have difficulty climbing in and out!
Useful reliable free safe in room; also minibar with space for a few of your own drinks. Kiosk selling drinks/water/crisps/choc just outside hotel.
Maids absolutely lovely, room cleaned beautifully and towels/toiletries changed daily.
Pool area is spotless, with charming pool attendant giving out towels and moving beds/parasols at your request.
Gym has 2 treadmills, a cross-trainer, a bike and a multigym- all newish and in good order. Gym very quiet (no attendant)
Large comfortable lobby area with free reliable wifi
Breakfast was brilliant- lots of fresh and dried fruit, pastries, cheese, ham, yogurts, boiled and scrambled eggs.
While I was there, I visited the spa and had a massage, a little bit intimidating to be honest!
Close to train station but little noise heard.
Taxi to medina 40 dirhams 50 at night. Not much around in local area that we found.
All in all a peaceful restful haven from the craziness of Marrakech!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Despite it's 4 star claim frankly I have stayed in more impressive Premier Inns.The sole raisond'etre of the hotel management is to cut costs and corners whilst squeezing as much money out of the guests as possible ,whilst being as unhelpful as they can. There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, no iron available in the hotel, nothing to open the drinks in the mini bar with.
The food in the International restaurant is truly appalling and the Asian restaurant has about half it's menu and wine list available.They were both reasonably busy the first night but empty after that , I wonder why that was the case? If you are thinking about booking this through Thomson don't bother ,because the Wi Fi is not free in the room and the air conditioning not available despite temperatures in the mid 20s.
Do not ask the reception staff for help as they are both elusive and economic with the truth and the manager is never available and also in on the act. Four star it is anything but, if it were in London it would require the immediate attention of Alex Polizzi.Do not stay here you have been warned!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Opera Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Plaza Hotel

Address: Angle Avenue Mohammed VI et Avenue Hassan II, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Plaza Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Opera Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.