We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hostel in the midst of crazy Marrakech!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Fantasia Prestige

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Fantasia Prestige to your Saves list
Riad Fantasia Prestige
Arset Laghzail ndeg 11, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #613 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent hostel in the midst of crazy Marrakech!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Riad Fantasia is such a great welcoming hostel and I felt right at home upon arrival. Marrakech is a pretty full on place and this being my first visit it was nice to stay somewhere with friendly staff and happy like-minded travellers. The riad is about a 10 minute walk from the main square but I always enjoyed walking through the bustling streets to reach the souks and centre of the medina.

The riad has a very authentic Moroccan feel and was neat, tidy and super affordable. The staff were always obliging and willing to assist with booking tours or anything else to make you feel comfortable. Breakfast is included which features bread.....bread......and then for dessert some more bread. The staff were more than happy to whip up a mint tea for you too (which i could never say no to!).

In all, I had a fantastic 5 night stay and was sorry to leave.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    4
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
7
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Excellent, friendly, beautiful riad in Marrakech where the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The final night of my stay saw an entire mix of nationalities (Scottish, Italian, German, Lithuanian, American and of course Moroccan) sharing great food, a few beers, some stories and even some live music - an excellent end to my trip!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed for four nights here, very relaxing, delicious breakfast and we organised a 1 night sahara excursion which was great value and good fun. We also were cooked an amazing tagine by abdul. Was good knowing we could come back here after walking around in 45 degree heat all day.... Definately recommended

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merosg
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Found this place while walking towards another riad that ended up being closed, and this ended up being perhaps the highlight of our visit to Marrakech. The staff was very friendly, Abdul especially made sure we had a great time here, treated us like family. He was always serving up delicious Moroccan mint tea, offered us dates and even treated us to some dance lessons! He also taught some other guests how to make couscous. This definitely had a homey feel, ambient music playing in the morning and afternoon, delicious smelling dinners available, breakfast was good. They offered tours, but instead we went and visited some places on our own. The room was a very good size, decorated in Moroccan style, and there is a rooftop terrace with table and chairs, and a Berber tent style sitting area. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I have been traveling for 5 months and have stayed in a lot of hostels and this was by far the best. Spent 3 nights and wish I could have stayed longer, we had a double room which was huge! Bathroom and beds were clean as was everywhere else, the staff and service was excellent, amazing breakfast, lunch and dinner. The staff were so helpful and friendly could not have asked for more. The rooftop terrace was an added bonus. It is less than a 10 minute walk from the square. I would definitly stay here again. Thank you so much Abdul for an amazing time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

I have been traveling for 5 months and have stayed in a lot of hostes and this is by far the best, spent 3 nights and wish I could have stayed longer, we had a double room which was huge! Bathroom and beds were clean as was everywhere else, the staff and service was excellent, amazing breakfast, lunch and dinner. The staff were so helpful and friendly could not have asked for more. The rooftop terrace was a added bonus. It is less than a 10 minute walk from the square. I would definitly stay here again. Thank you so much for an amazing time.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is a lovely, authentic riad with a very nice manager who always opened the front door for us so we felt secure there. The room was huge and had 3 closets and a lounge chair (air conditioning was 50 dirham extra per night), bathroom was large but smelled moldy-there was no window in there so the moisture couldn't escape. They gave us mint tea when we arrived which was very nice.  The breakfast was included and was good: yogurt, coffee with milk, mint tea, bread, and a crepe with marmalade. It was very quiet at night, and is only a 10 minute walk from Djamaa el Fna. They have private rooms or a dorm with 8 beds which is very suitable for travelers on a budget. All rooms face an indoor courtyard.  There is a great rooftop patio with lounge chairs. It wasn't too hard to find--follow the directions from their website closely to walk there from Djemaa el Fna and you'll have no trouble finding it. My complaints: The manager pushed his daytime excursions hard every morning at breakfast, and also pushed us to have dinner there.  The pushiness of the tours is annoying when you're just trying to enjoy your morning and talk to your spouse during breakfast and he won't really take no for an answer. Just say no repeatedly and nicely. It will work. Also, he went next door to get our change for us when we were paying for our room on the last day, and as he returned and was counting our change, he counted the 1 dirham coins into my husband's hand and kept the 10 dirham coin in his hand. My husband said, "that's 34 dirham, but it is supposed to be 44 dirham". The manager said, "Oh!  I forgot!" Yeah, right. You just went to ask your friend for 44 change, returned, then dropped 34 into our hands. That's not forgetful-that is on purpose and it is disrespectful. Aside from that, the Riad was nice.

Room Tip: Choose a room upstairs for a better view and more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Fantasia Prestige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Fantasia Prestige

Address: Arset Laghzail ndeg 11, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #613 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Fantasia Prestige reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Fantasia Prestige, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.