We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute NO 5 star!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Garden Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Rose Garden Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rose Garden Resort & Spa
Ouaha Sidi Brahim 1, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #453 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Hoogeveen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolute NO 5 star!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This 5 star luxurious hotel is not what it shows. You pay a lot of money for things that are in very bad shape or just ain't there. The rooms are poor and breaking down and not very clean. With 2 person you get 1 small and 1 big towel, when you call the reception they are surprised you want more,the shower broke down. A lot of furniture in the garden and around the pool are in bad shape or dirty. The music around the pool area was so loud (also during the night) that a normal conversation wasn't possible. After a party at night there was a lot of mess in the morning, also broken glas around the pool. Drunk people were running around and shouting in the morning during our breakfast. We had several conversations with the owner and he promised every time that he understood us and that such won't happen again....after 4 nights we left..the owner didn't do nothing for us. It was soo disappointed! The breakfast was very poor, no plates,dirty tables and we had to ask for everything.the pool was cold and the jacuzzi dirty and full with insects.
The tennis court was in bad shape, and there were no signs to show the way.The minibar was empty, no free mineral water (as told in brochure) no shuttle service to city ( as told in brochure).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    1
    5
    9
See reviews for
6
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

my family and I stayed here for a week. front desk staff was wonderful. they would help us book restaurants and arrange transport with a smile despite several changes in our itinerary. they even helped me learn some Arabic. Their mint tea is delicious.

the rooms are huge. we also got the 2 people in 1 room but ony 1 set of towels but it just took 1 call to reception to fix it

it is far from the medina but we loved it. I was concerned at first that we were too far away from the medina but one trip to the souk convinced me that i didn't want to stay so near to the craziness.

The grounds were nice but the paths to the rooms get dark at night. I had to turn on my phone's flashlight for my mom who is elderly.

the spa is fantastic. ask for Nora. I got the traditional hammam which is just what i needed for my long flight back home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have been abused by the nice pictures and the wrong location provided by Booking.com!
This hotel was not located in the real Palmeraie (i.e. close to Tikida hotel as in the Google map provided), but 12 km away in the remote northern suburbs of Marrakech... i.e. the rocky hills of Djebilet... with a distant view to the Palmeraie !
We wouldn't definitely have select this hotel with a correct location information....
This remote area is poorly deserved /known by taxi, and neighbored with "chez Ali" a Disneyland-looking compound organizing for touristic groups diners, folkloric shows and fantasia !!
Despite the nice pictures, this hotel which change recently of name (and owner?) is poorly maintained: Rooms are large but very darks; first categories do not have private terraces; Bathroom shower was leaking ; You need to select between having a fridge and looking the TV due to a single socket...etc
Restaurant and breakfast not at all at the level of a 4 stars. Open air spa is abandoned, tennis court not maintained, no hotel shop or touristic infos...
Service is poor and dramatically long: any simple demand getting lost between un-professional, almost unpleasant managing staff and insufficient, good-willing and probably underpaid staff... Our booking was "lost in the computer" at our arrival... It takes 30 -45 minutes after ordering to start to get your breakfast or diner... or 1:30 hour to get some towels for the swimming pool !
The second day, our room was still not cleaned at 19:00 !
Cherry on the top of the cake, the evening before our departure, the reception managed to lose the key of our room.... In such case, every one would expect to use a double or a pass... No, they needed to search for a locksmith and change the lock after 2 hours ! What would they do in case of fire?
Despite the 56 rooms were announced to be occupied, the hotel seems desert with a decadent and gloomy atmosphere : A few isolated occidental tourist trying to enjoy the place... Other clients mostly remaining all day in their room: Young Moroccan couple in holidays but also too many Saudi men only here to consume prostitutes ....
They are so many nicer place in Marrakech, never again !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Me and my wife stayed at this hotel for a week and had a great and unforgettable experince. Wtih great staff that helped us 24, always with a smile on their face. From a noisy and overcrouded city it was great to come to a quite and relaxfull place. Even if its a bit "far" from the main city, its only a 15 min drive on way.
People in the reseption always helped us with every questions and if we wanted to book a table in a restaurant, they did it for us. Good food, and a Spa with a wow-factor. You just have to try the hammam.
We loved Marrakech and this resort was just what we needed to make it a perfect vacation.
Speciall thanks to Mustafa. If you stay their then ask for Mustafa and he will show you Marrakech like no one else.

We will defenitely see you guys again. Inshallah.
Mr and Mrs Butt.

Room Tip: choose the romanceroom:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week in Morocco in several cities. The stay in this resort was the ONLY black spot of our trip.
Excessively over priced to what they have to offer.
The directions were hard to find and the lady at the phone could not give any meaningful directions. Instead she kept insisting we park our car and take a local taxi! The reception staff were passive, had no motivation to connect us to any local excursions or give any suggestions.
We had foolishly decided to spend NYE party at this place which was $200/person and underwhelming food and entertainment for the cost.
There were no towels in the room, no drinking water. Upon calling for towels, they showed up after a couple of hours.
Grossly understaffed, mismanaged, expensive and uninspired staff.
Avoid avoid avoid

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Avoid Rose Garden at all costs. For a so-called 'luxury resort', it falls flat on all aspects, from service (which by even the most meager standards was not provided) to facilities (broken showerheads, blocked drains, rooms not turned over, no wifi in rooms). In staying at the Rose Garden, you will most certainly not get your money's worth, rather, you will endure gouging at all levels (bottled water, meals, so-called 'excursions' (or, rather, an all-day taxi driver)) as well as the insults of the staff.

The 'resort' staff is horribly underpaid, or this hotel goes out of its way to hire rude, mean spirited, and stupid people. The staff are incapable of addressing simple questions such as the address of the hotel, directions to the hotel, a schedule of events, schedules and prices of excursions, directions to one's cottage, how to operate the safe in the room, and so on.

Simple expectations of a hostel or B&B are not met by Rose Garden. Bottled water is extra, costing 3 Euros per bottle). Rooms are not turned over. Towels are not provided. Nothing is communicated - in any language - without much tooth-pulling and interrogation. Any sort of follow-up requires three to four calls, appearances at reception, and other reminders, in order to elicit any action.

The resort location (address or otherwise) is not listed on GPS, so unless one knows the neighbouring establishments - such as Chez Ali or Île de Fantasie - only a few taxi drivers will know where to find it. Finding it on your own is very dodgy. This was a shocker for Morocco and the level of the resort, given that I was able to a) find as well as b) receive accurate and detailed instructions for arrival at all other places I have stayed in the two trips I have made to the country. When arriving, Rose Garden could not be found by myself or any taxi drivers I found whilst in Marrakech, and I rang the hotel. The response of the desk was "hire [another] taxi to take you here" - no address, no instructions, no mention of landmarks, nothing. When asked to speak to someone who knew what they were doing, the desk rudely and abruptly rang off.

After a harrowing experience making it to the resort (three hours late and in the dark), I was surprised to see that no one was on hand to help me with luggage. After checking in, the path to the cottage was confusing and there were no boards, landmarks or sufficient light on hand to help navigate after dusk. I needed to demand thrice that staff help me find the cottage before I could make my own way.

At that point I was not in the mood to get lost in Marrakech again, and as the resort demanded a deposit prior to booking, I was not keen to leave. I really should have left at that point.

The room was not turned over, the shower equipment was broken, the drain blocked, the safe locked out, and there were no towels in the room. There were no instructions for using any of the room's 'amenities'.

I then foolishly opted for the evening event. I was shocked to learn the price of the event was €160 per person, 1.6x the price of a similar engagement at the local 5 star restaurants. Things went quickly south from there.

The bloody staff either could not or would not tell me any details of the event, including that the event started at 8pm. I only knew it was on when I could hear the Chaabi musicians from the cottage.

The event was poorly attended, indicating that only those who had been shell shocked by Marrakesh roads and taxi drivers gouging them were staying. The quality of the event was low, from the bland and tasteless food, to the third rate and non-complimentary drink (for €160?), to the poor entertainment (low grade, and poorly paid, chaabi musicians, band, belly dancers, and fire eaters who kept asking for tips with every alternate breath).

The morning after the event, the dining hall not cleaned up from the night before. It looked like a tornado had passed through, with broken glass, drink stains, and food strewn about. There was one man that morning to serve breakfast, make coffee, squeeze orange juice, etc.. For the rates they charge, they couldn't hire some more people from town to staff meals, cleanup or anything else?

Everything, from bottled water, to hand towels, incurred extra charges - and in Euros, not dirhams. I expect for people to try to gouge me at the souk, but not at a so-called luxury resort. I would have been far better off anywhere else.

The staff at the hotel was extremely rude, uninformative and inhospitable. Asking any questions - in French or Arabic - received either no response, or opaque, conflicting information. One had to pull teeth to get the basics on anything - and that was what the staff would eventually answer. However, the staff were very spry and quick to offer excuses and demand money. They were very slow to deliver anything, and had to be chased down to do so.

This place is run by management of a devious nature, and should be shut down.

Room Tip: Simply put, find a Riad somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Nothing works in this place! The transportation from the airport we had booked never showed up. When arriving to the hotel -late in the evening- we were told that there was no electricity or water in our room, so they would take us to an other hotel and promised to call us the next day. The other hotel was cold and simple and -of course- nobody called us. We were picked up in the end, late next afternoon, but our room still was not ready. The staff was "so sorry" but did not really show any servicemindedness. The staff, especially the ones working with room service or the bar/restaurant usually don't understand english. French did not work every time, either. Everything was very random. Ordering breakfast took 2 hours and we never got the things we ordered. There is no terrace bar or pool bar, and the "respaurant" is one room without table cloths. Instead of napkins we got a package of Kleenex on our table. The hotel is really far from Marrakech, in the middle of nowhere. Do not book this hotel -it is not worth it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#71 of 461 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Murano Resort Marrakech
Murano Resort Marrakech
#216 of 461 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Domaine des Remparts Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luxury, Romanti...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Kasbah Agafay
Kasbah Agafay
#119 of 461 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Pool, Beach, Fr...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Fellah Hotel
Fellah Hotel
#349 of 461 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Charming, Pool...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Garden Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Resort & Spa

Address: Ouaha Sidi Brahim 1, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #453 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Palmeraie Desert, Our majestic four-star getaway is located 14 kilometers (8.7 miles) from the Mystical City of Marrakech. Featuring 60 Suites and Villas you will find that at Rose Garden Resort and Spa every detail reflects true Moroccan style and architecture. Experience a small city setting where you will find amazing gardens through our stunning property. Discover our various offerings of fine dining, spa, activities including tennis and outdoor tours of the mountains or of the city. Here you will find your Rose at Rose Garden Resort & Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Rose Garden Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Garden Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.