We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mirage

Save Saved
You added Riad Mirage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Mirage
Kenaria, Derb Sidi Boulafdail No10 | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Fagernes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Your home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

If you ever are going to Marrakech, this is a home away from home. The standard of the establishment is absolutely to satisfaction. The staff are just great. Madame Monica the owner, little English, but a big hart, she understands what is essential. The nigh boss Asiz, great guy. Nothing was a problem, food and drinks a at a great price, we had two dinners perfect Moroccan food. Price was give a way! We where in total 13 people, no problem very spacious rooms and great roof terrace.
One thing is for sure, we will return.
We booked trough www.roughtours.com Marrakech #1 tour operator.
The Riad is only 3 minute from the Fna Square

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    10
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
45
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
phoenix
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Ditto HopGod's review. We stayed in Marrakech for three nights at the Riad Mirage, also booked for us by Rough Tours, which I also recommend. We had the suite, which was very clean and large and totally enjoyable. Large and comfortable bathroom. Air conditioning that worked. Monique and Aziz were most helpful, and while Monique doesn't speak English, we had no trouble communicating our wants to her. Aziz is the kind of hotel employee you wish you could pack in your suitcase. He not only speaks English, but is a font of knowledge and just downright helpful. My wife and I were bit under the weather when we arrived and requested some soup and mineral water. We had a dinner tray including hot soup, bread, water and yogurt delivered to our room in 15 minutes. What great service. Like other visitors, we enjoyed a hammam on the last afternoon of our stay. That's not to be missed. And it was very comfortable having it right at the riad rather than going someplace else. This place gets high marks for a reason. Truly 5 stars for Marrakech.

Room Tip: Get the suite if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at Riad Mirage for 3 nights. It is true that the owners speak very little English, but they were very friendly and went the extra mile - picking us up and dropping us at the airport at no extra charge and being on hand to offer any advice or help they could, without being stifling. The hammam was an experience and the food was delicious too. Would recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Riad Mirage is ideally located in the medina, within walking distance to Jemaa el-Fna & the souks. We were guided there by our tour guide (Rough Tour) so we don't have problem finding it. It is not difficult to find but best to get the directions from the Riad prior to your arrival if you are there without a guide. Cars are not allowed in the medina after certain hours but you can easily arranged for porters to cart your luggage to the Riad. The riad was beautifully decorated, clean, comfortable and relaxing. Free wifi is available at the courtyard area (very weak signal in the room). They served traditional french breakfast which was simple but very good. If you have a chance to have your lunch or dinner in the Riad, try their Tagine. It was yummy! The owner, Monique and her husband (very loving cute couple) only speaks French. Despite the language barrier, we managed to communicate through their night staff Aziz (who can speak good English) and with the help of other guests. When my husband was down with food poisoning, they were very helpful and accommodating. Monique even let me used the kitchen to cook porridge for my husband and supply us with complimentary fruits! We were really grateful to them for taking such good care of us. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our stay here was arranged by our tour guides (Rough Tours), so we didn't do much hunting around for a place to stay in Marrakech. I have to say that we had a very good stay with great hosts and despite the language barrier (Monique only speaks French), I cannot complain about anything.

The riad is located in the medina, just a short walk from the D'jamaa el Fna. Cars are not allowed in the central area of the medina after a certain hour (and wouldn't fit in the passageway leading to the riad in any case, so porters can be arranged to cart your luggage for you (it was a fair haul from the parking area.

Inside, you are met with a clean, white and elegant courtyard, a sitting area for tea and conversation and a small dining area just off the court yard. The rooms are small but nice and comfortable. As in most places throughout Morocco, wifi is only available when you are close to the courtyard and in some instances, you can only use the wifi from downstairs in the lounge/dining area.

Monique is very French, very happy and very chatty, though my rudimentary high school French (twisted by two and half years of Spanish) means it can be difficult to understand her, but we found ourselves in need of nothing. She was extremely helpful in allowing us to store our baggage for a night when our day trip to Essaouira became an overnight trip.

The food was very good. Mornings were filled with lots of breads, jams, cheeses... a traditional French breakfast with very sweet (natural) orange juice, tea and coffee. You can arrange for meals if you do not want to eat in the medina (most people opt for the medina) and the dinners are very good. The riad stocks some very nice Meknes wines and we enjoyed them with a lot of vigor.

The riad employs a night worker named Aziz, who speaks very good English, is very intelligent and engaging, loves football and will carry on a conversation about nearly anything. He, along with our guide staff were able to convey anything we needed to Monique and helped with the language barrier.

We did our second hammam here and it was astounding! I lost no less than 10 pounds in dead skin (and probably some living skin as well) and after 12 days of hauling all over Morocco, felt like 10-million bucks when we left. If you are considering hammam, it is well worth it as the ladies they bring in to do the job are ninja-masters! The hammam facility is a little small (for a 6'4" bloke) but the service was amazing.

All in, we had a great experience. I find it difficult to fault a place for only speaking French in a country that is heavily influenced and formerly occupied by ...France - make sense, but the language barrier is the only area where I can find fault with this wonderful place. I highly recommend it for anyone traveling to Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Weeks before going to Marrakech I researched riads and decided to stay at Riad Mirage as it had good reviews. I emailed with Monique the owner, and we agreed a two night stay (before and after a hike) and the price of 50euro per room per night.

Monique does not speak English, only French, so the emails took a little time coming and going due to her waiting for her daughter in France to translate. When I realised this I sent my emails in English and French (using google translate) to try to make it easier for her. We agreed everything and I was told I must wire her a deposit to secure the rooms at that rate, which I did. The week before we travelled I reconfirmed our reservation and changed the booking from two nights to one, which was agreed to and confirmed.

We had a nightmare trip to Marrakech and arrived at 9pm. We were met and taken to the riad - no problems. However, upon arrival we were told that we would not be staying in the Riad, but the "guest house" next door. It was no more than a converted barn. The walls were bare and had not been finished properly, the beds had no mattress protectors and the sheets did not cover the mattresses properly. It was a cold night and there was no heating in the building and no blankets of covers on the bed. The rooms were equivalent to a 2-star self-catering holiday in Spain. When we complained we were told by Monique (via Moroccan night staff who could speak English) that she had told me I would be staying in the "guest house" via email and I had agreed to this. I had my blackberry with me so it was quickly proven that this was not the case.

She then said what could I expect for such a low rate (the riads we stayed in in Fes and Tangier were better than Riad Mirage and the same price) and that it was all my fault. She said that because she didn't speak English it was not her fault. We demanded our money back and left as she would not honour what we agreed, and found ourselves homeless in a strange city, in the rain at 10pm at night. Luckily the excellent local night staff helped us find better alternate accomodation around the corner at another Riad.

If you book with Monique make sure you get in writing where you will be staying - Riad or Guest House. I would not pay more than 20 euros max to stay in the Guest House. Also make sure you have in writing how many rooms you want - she tried to tell us we had only 2 rooms booked instead of 3.

If you don't speak French and the local staff aren't to hand you will have trouble communicating with her - she does not speak Arabic or Berber or English at all. The hotel looks nice enough, although the single beds where tiny. That's as far as we got with viewing the facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Mirage is perfectly situated in the medina. The Riad was beautifully decorated and the two rooms we had were very clean, comfortable and relaxing. Monique who runs the Riad speaks French so a little french is useful but she was so friendly and helpful with nothing too much trouble. Aziz who works in the evenings speaks good English. We had a few meals in the Riad which we had served on either the roof terrace or the dining area. The food was plentiful, very tasty and and fabulous value for money. My children are a bit picky and they were very flexible in what they made which made it very easy for us as the children could have Pizza whilst my husband and I could try various traditional Morrocan dishes. There was also flexibility about when we ate. My daughter was feeling poorly on the last day (nothing to do with the Mirage!) and Monique was so helpful. We kept a room for the full day at no extra cost and she was keen to do anything she could to help. I would highly recommend this Riad and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mirage

Address: Kenaria, Derb Sidi Boulafdail No10 | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Riad Mirage, with its luxurious decor, its five bedrooms and its large suite, is pleased to welcome you to the serene neighborhood of Kennaria, Marrakech. Le Riad is located only five minutes away from the must-see destination Djemaa el Fna Square. Le Riad Mirage is conveniently located in the Medina, which is near many cultural sights and memorials that you can visit. Taxis can drive you up to 100m from your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mirage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.