We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service - be careful!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mirage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Mirage to your Saves list
Riad Mirage
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenaria, Derb Sidi Boulafdail No10 | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Terrible service - be careful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Weeks before going to Marrakech I researched riads and decided to stay at Riad Mirage as it had good reviews. I emailed with Monique the owner, and we agreed a two night stay (before and after a hike) and the price of 50euro per room per night.

Monique does not speak English, only French, so the emails took a little time coming and going due to her waiting for her daughter in France to translate. When I realised this I sent my emails in English and French (using google translate) to try to make it easier for her. We agreed everything and I was told I must wire her a deposit to secure the rooms at that rate, which I did. The week before we travelled I reconfirmed our reservation and changed the booking from two nights to one, which was agreed to and confirmed.

We had a nightmare trip to Marrakech and arrived at 9pm. We were met and taken to the riad - no problems. However, upon arrival we were told that we would not be staying in the Riad, but the "guest house" next door. It was no more than a converted barn. The walls were bare and had not been finished properly, the beds had no mattress protectors and the sheets did not cover the mattresses properly. It was a cold night and there was no heating in the building and no blankets of covers on the bed. The rooms were equivalent to a 2-star self-catering holiday in Spain. When we complained we were told by Monique (via Moroccan night staff who could speak English) that she had told me I would be staying in the "guest house" via email and I had agreed to this. I had my blackberry with me so it was quickly proven that this was not the case.

She then said what could I expect for such a low rate (the riads we stayed in in Fes and Tangier were better than Riad Mirage and the same price) and that it was all my fault. She said that because she didn't speak English it was not her fault. We demanded our money back and left as she would not honour what we agreed, and found ourselves homeless in a strange city, in the rain at 10pm at night. Luckily the excellent local night staff helped us find better alternate accomodation around the corner at another Riad.

If you book with Monique make sure you get in writing where you will be staying - Riad or Guest House. I would not pay more than 20 euros max to stay in the Guest House. Also make sure you have in writing how many rooms you want - she tried to tell us we had only 2 rooms booked instead of 3.

If you don't speak French and the local staff aren't to hand you will have trouble communicating with her - she does not speak Arabic or Berber or English at all. The hotel looks nice enough, although the single beds where tiny. That's as far as we got with viewing the facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Mirage is perfectly situated in the medina. The Riad was beautifully decorated and the two rooms we had were very clean, comfortable and relaxing. Monique who runs the Riad speaks French so a little french is useful but she was so friendly and helpful with nothing too much trouble. Aziz who works in the evenings speaks good English. We had a few meals in the Riad which we had served on either the roof terrace or the dining area. The food was plentiful, very tasty and and fabulous value for money. My children are a bit picky and they were very flexible in what they made which made it very easy for us as the children could have Pizza whilst my husband and I could try various traditional Morrocan dishes. There was also flexibility about when we ate. My daughter was feeling poorly on the last day (nothing to do with the Mirage!) and Monique was so helpful. We kept a room for the full day at no extra cost and she was keen to do anything she could to help. I would highly recommend this Riad and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liese p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights before our desert tour. Conveniently 5 minutes from the square, very easy to find. Run by the friendliest couple. We stayed in the suite, which was fantastic. Spacious, clean, great bathroom & shower. Strong airconditioner. And very, very quiet. The decor is a modern Moroccan, and very tasteful. They have a private hammam & spa, which was great value and oh-so-fun and relaxing. Had dinner our first night, which was delicious. They also stocked pretty good bottles of Moroccan wine (get a bottle of their white wine!!!) But the star of this estabilishment is the night caretaker, Aziz. The highlight of our stay was chatting it up with Aziz on their great rooftop deck after dinner on our last night, learning about each others lives, cultures, aspirations.

This is an up & coming riad, folks. Great value. Book them before they get too popular.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochgilphead, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I would recommend this riad to anyone wanting to stay in the medina on their first visit to Marrakech.
We were met at Cafe de France by Aziz (one of the staff), this eliminated the stressful haggling with an unofficial guide when tired.
We then met Sharif (the owner) who took us in and made us mint tea while introducing us to his wife Monique. Unfortunately we speak very little French and they little English but we were made to feel very welcome nonetheless.
Aziz returned later to give us a properly useful map and an explanation of how to get to the various attractions of the city.
His English is very good and loves to chat so he can practise, which was lovely.
He made us feel much more comfortable in Marrakech than we had on our initial night (at a different Riad, before heading to Imlil and Essaouira).
Riad Mirage has it's own hammam which we enjoyed on our last night before heading out for dinner.
It is modern and bright with sumptuous, elegant bedrooms, friendly staff/ owners, a lovely roof terrace (where we had breakfasts) and it serves alcohol :)
There is also a hot tub on the roof terrace.
All in all, a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this delightful riad for 4 nights, one before the tour we were undertaking and then three nights at the end of our stay in Morocco. The owners are so helpful and friendly but it does help if you can speak un peu de francais.
The riad's location in the medina is ideally situated and just a 5 minute stroll from the main square where all the main action takes place. It is tucked away down one of the medina's alleys and offers a restful and quiet night's sleep. It also offers an excellent and very reasonably priced cuisine. We ate all our meals there and enjoyed every single one.
We stayed in one of the very comfortable suites.
This riad is a little gem. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gargar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Myself and my husband were a little worried when we were walking through the small and quiet lane to ge to this Riad.
But of course when we get inside the riad, we were pleasantly surprised by how bright and lovely the place is.
The couple who own the Riad speak very little English but they are very friendly and tried very hard to communicate with us to ensure we are comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiqah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Riad Mirage ticked all the boxes - great location a hop and skip to the souks and square, beautiful rooms, great food and hospitable staff. It was an oasis in the heart of the medina offering solace and refuge from the hot afternoon sun. We had our dinners in the riad as well and the food was fantastic! The owners and the wait staff are extremely helpful and welcoming. The hammam and massage in the riad are also must do. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PinayinSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#125 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 744 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#113 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#166 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Basma
Riad Basma
#183 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Palais des Princesses
Riad Palais des Princesses
#182 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mirage

Address: Kenaria, Derb Sidi Boulafdail No10 | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Mirage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Riad Mirage, with its luxurious decor, its five bedrooms and its large suite, is pleased to welcome you to the serene neighborhood of Kennaria, Marrakech. Le Riad is located only five minutes away from the must-see destination Djemaa el Fna Square. Le Riad Mirage is conveniently located in the Medina, which is near many cultural sights and memorials that you can visit. Taxis can drive you up to 100m from your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing