We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Clean Riad, right in the middle on the action” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mirage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Mirage to your Saves list
Riad Mirage
Kenaria, Derb Sidi Boulafdail No10 | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Clean Riad, right in the middle on the action”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Situatted only 2 turns from the main chaotic square in Marrakech, this is a very well situated Riad. My excellent rating is based on the friendliness of Aziz and Monique, the great air conditioning and the how clean the place was.

We spent 3 nights here, during the hottest possible days (45-50 deg C), and had a great air conditioned room to stay in (rm 5 - the suite I believe). At that point my wife wasn't digging Moroccan food (I wasn't either), and the Riad was nice enough to make us some meals that were not a tangine or kafta - and were delicious as well. We were the only ones there 2 of the nights in the whole Riad, largely because it's a relatively new place, so word of mouth hadn't travelled too fast. Breakfast here was great, and had more food than we could possibly eat. Everything that we at here (3 breakfasts / 3 dinners) were great.

Worth mentioning for English speaking travelers, Aziz is the only one who is fluent english speaker (he's there on the night shift - likely when you'd be there), so you might need a bit of french to communicate with the other staff and owners.

Another item is that our room didn't have a TV. Usually not a big deal when traveling, but when it's 50 degrees you stay in, and didn't have much to do unless we stayed in the communal area which had only 1 TV. One weird / awkard thing about sharing a TV, is do you ask the owners / hosts if you can watch TV if they are. They have free Wifi, but the we couldn't get great reception out of the room, so we'd go down into the common areas. This would generally not be an issue, but with the outside temperature, us Canadian's hid in our ice cold room.

The rooftop jaccuzi was being fixed while we were there, which would have been a nice to have, but given the heat, no big deal.

So overall a very nice place to stay, and on a quiet street right in the action. Can't expect much more than this.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    14
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
49
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I stayed in the Riad Mirage with a friend and her daughter in June. From the moment we arrived we felt so welcomed there. We had two rooms and each were beautiful and looked exactly like the pictures on the website. Monique (owner) said we should treat the Mirage like our home - and it really felt like it.
They prepared beef kofta for us and it was by far the best kofta we had during the whole week in Morocco. For our schedule we had a rest afternoon before starting our tour and got massages and my friend did a hammam. The massage was very reasonably priced and it felt amazing. It was a wonderful start to our trip.
In the evening Monique's husband took us to a restaurant surrounding the market area and it was great and had a beautiful view of the shopping area. (less than a 10 minute walk from the riad) He also came back to pick us up - very nice!
We then stayed up late into the night and learned about Moroccan culture from Aziz. He was very nice and we had a fun conversation.
Our clocks never adjusted right so we were late waking up but everyone was really nice and they waited to serve us breakfast. This again was another wonderful meal. I really loved the crepes.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone because it is a nice hotel with very welcoming owners and staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We were in Marrakech for two nights and I can't say enough about the owners of the hotel. They were kind, helpful, and did everything they could to make our stay pleasant. I was sick on the day we were heading out to the coast and they arranged comfortable transport for us when it was clear I couldn't take the bus. The riad itself is exquisite. The rooms are beautifully decorated with every attention to detail. Each room has a place to sit as well as a bed. Each room has an outside table and chairs, and , of course, there's the rooftop deck where you can enjoy the plunge pool or simply eat dinner in an oasis of quiet and peace. Everyone who works there is kind and helpful. This is a place not to be missed!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Excellent and helpful staff. Brilliant traditional Moroccan decor. The rooms the roof top garden and spa the courtyard are all great. The little touches set this Riad apart. You will not regret your stay here. A little more expensive than some Riad's but worth every cent. Great value

Room Tip: From what we could see they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

This place really should be called an oasis! It's a beautifully decorated, cool, clean, calm, and comfortable riad in the middle of marrakech. Perfectly located just off the square but not too far that you could get lost- it's gorgeous and the staff is so friendly. We played charades with the French speaking staff and talked late into the night with the English speaking staff- everyone was extremely helpful, friendly, and hospitable. And the place was gorgeous- well decorated, great linens, showers with hot water AND water pressure, down pillows, great meals cooked daily of your choosing, and beer and wine to enjoy on the roof terrace. They even thought of straw hats to wear when sunbathing on the terrace. It's a really beautiful place with wonderful people.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

This Riad was amazing with awesome service and amazing rooms! The owners have done an amazing job of decorating the rooms and made us all feel like we were at home and relaxed. My brother and I had a room which was decorated to be like a Zebra room, and we were amazed at how much detail there was in this amazing and creative room. The terrace was very comfy and my family and I had brekky there. The Riad was in an amazing spot and you have a short and interesting walk to the main square. The beds were very comfy and the breakfast was amazing with croisants and lots of other stuff that was really nice.

THANK YOU RIAD MIRAGE

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Like most Riads you wouldn't be able to appreciate the luxury of the premises based on the unassuming outer walls. Once we entered we found a charming and inviting pad with friendly and helpful hosts who made us feel welcome. The Bedrooms come in a single double bed or two single beds with ensuite bathrooms. The are kept clean and comfortable with powerful showers. Breakfast was typically Moroccan with plenty of choice and of a high standard. If you decide to take a meal at the Riad I recommend the lemon chicken tagine...awesome! Your also only five minutes away from the main square. They also have a fairly fast internet connection.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mirage

Address: Kenaria, Derb Sidi Boulafdail No10 | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Riad Mirage, with its luxurious decor, its five bedrooms and its large suite, is pleased to welcome you to the serene neighborhood of Kennaria, Marrakech. Le Riad is located only five minutes away from the must-see destination Djemaa el Fna Square. Le Riad Mirage is conveniently located in the Medina, which is near many cultural sights and memorials that you can visit. Taxis can drive you up to 100m from your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mirage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.