We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Le Rubis

Save Saved
You added Riad Le Rubis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Le Rubis
Derb Jdid Sghir Laksour Medina, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #446 of 1,043 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Bergamo, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Living Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful Riad, close to the most famous square of Marrakech. Very comfortable and traditional rooms. Great hospitality and fantastic breakfast!!! The Riad can plan for you excursions and can organize the taxi from/to airport. Thanks a lot and hope to see you again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    13
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Riad is in a great location, very close to Jemaa El Fna, though some of the alleys you have to travel down do feel a bit dodgy later in the evening. The room was clean & tidy, and was cleaned everyday. The room had air conditioning but it did create a rather large puddle on our floor. The staff were friendly enough, however when asking for advice with regards to places to visit and transport they were no help at all, didn't even seem interested in helping. Breakfast is included but nothing special. They do offer a transport from the airport, though a taxi is probably cheaper. The cost was reasonable but do watch out for some hidden cost when you receive the final bill.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

This riad is located deep in the medina through the market place and down a few alley ways one in particular which looks very dodgy. Once you check in though you are welcomed by true Moroccan hospitality. The staff are very friendly, hospitable, accommodating however only have basic English. There are no basic room amenities you would expect such as mini bar/fridge or toiletries (only hand soap) so prepare to bring your own everything. Aircon work though as expected in the weather. We were told that transfer to and from the riad was incl in the booking price but was added to our final bill which was much cheaper/safer than taxi but nonetheless could have been more transparent. Another important note is that they don't have credit card facility to finalize your final bill upon checkout, so be prepared to have Moroccan dirhams or euros in cash.

The staff are great and the breakfast which is incl is nice but basic. It is a safe city but the location (filled with cats) would make any single traveler very conscious about their well being. I was with my wife and we felt wery and were tr only guests staying in the riad over 4 days.

Did I mention the staff were great!?

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. Firstly, the location is excellent. It is a 2mins walk from the square and very easy to get too once you have found it once!

The riad itself it very nice, traditional. The communal area is a little small but quiet and cool. There is also a small plunge pool for cooling off. The room (we stayed in Le Rubis) was spacious, with a large bed and large shower. PLenty of room for storing clothes. Breakfast was basic but delicious - coffee, fresh orange juice and selection of pastries with jams. Yoghurt was standard in our case.

The staff were really nice and very accomodating. Rashida, the day receptionist was lovely, limited english but very good french. She was very helpful and polite throughout our stay, just as the night porter was too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Wife and I spent two nights here in middle March 2012, at the recommendation of our Rough Tours booking agent. 65 euros per night.

PROS: Clean; attractive; close access to the Jemaa El Fna; shower designed to not flood the rest of the bathroom; wake-up door knock on time; pretty indoor pool/spa; well-lit room; comfortable twin beds pushed together; effective A/C unit.

CONS: Room (Koutubia?) was narrow, not for the claustrophobic (next-door room, The Atlas, may have been a bit bigger); female daytime clerk (the only help on duty) spoke virtually no English or Spanish; spotty WiFi in the room; boring, limited breakfast (included in room price), had to ask for yogurt; no problem hearing the 5 am call to prayer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We picked the Riad le Rubis among hundreds of riads in Marrakech because it was newly opened in 2011, it was recommended to us by our desert tour guide, and Philippe the owner, offered a very decent discount rate. We were not disappointed. Once you're oriented to it, it is not at all difficult to find, as it's very close to the Jemaa el Fna, perfect for hanging out in the square or orienting yourself to Marrakech's shopping scene.

We rented two rooms, the Jemaa el Fna Suite and the Ruby Suite. Both were well-appointed with comfortable beds, a wardrobe for clothes, nice colorful windows and doors, and baths with hair dryer and plenty of hot water. The large mirrors in each room are a nice touch that made the rooms seem even larger. Both rooms had air con/heaters and for our January stay, both heaters could have worked slightly better, but we were not uncomfortable. All spaces and the stairwells were very clean.

The ground floor foyer area has a lovely serene dipping pool which was WAY too cool in January but could be awesome on hot summer days. In January, the foyer and breakfast areas could have used a patio or other type of heater to take away some of the chill.

On our arrival, we enjoyed a Royal Couscous meal on the beautiful rooftop terrace that overlooks the Jemaa el Fna and looks to the Atlas Mountains in the distance. Awesome views! The meal was delicious and very graciously served by Hassan, who took care of all our needs on our 2-night stay. Philippe, the owner, was not on-site while we were there, but he phoned on our arrival and followed up with us by email after our departure. I consider that to be sign of an owner who cares and wants his riad to be the best that it can.

I would highly recommend Riad le Rubis and hope that my first feedback on TripAdvisor will prod others to check it out for a stay in Marrakech. Good luck, Philippe!

Room Tip: The Jemaa al Fna Suite is special because it has direct access to the rooftop terrace, but all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Le Rubis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Le Rubis

Address: Derb Jdid Sghir Laksour Medina, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #446 of 1,043 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Le Rubis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Le Rubis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.