We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tamarrakecht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Tamarrakecht to your Saves list
Riad Tamarrakecht
132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful riad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This family run riad was so beautiful, and we were sad to only stay here one night before flying out of Marrakech. I had heard that riads in the medina could be noisy, however this place was so quiet and peaceful (it was about a ten minute walk from the main square). The service was great (delicious breakfast), and the family were keen to help us with directions or any other information about Marrakech. As previously mentioned in other reviews, it's best to organise a taxi through the riad - we forgot to do this and ended up being dropped at the gate to the medina. We then had to pay a local to show us where the riad was - a lot of hassle would have been saved if we had contacted the riad first!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    21
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
117
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Unfortunately we only able to stay for one night, but when we return to Marrakech we will definitely book again at this family run riad. The service was impeccable, and the lady who greeted us was very polite, friendly, and very efficient in booking our airport transfer. We arrived late so had no food or drink, and were very tired, so were grateful for delicious tea on arrival, and she brought us some food (for free) that we ate on the beautiful terrace roof. Breakfast was delicious, and the family were extremely accommodating in providing this as we had an early flight. Would love to spend more time here, as this seems like a gem in the heart of the Medina.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed here a couple of nights. The family that owned the hotel were very accommodating and polite.
Unfortunately, we had the room right by reception and the kitchen so a little noisy.
There is a rather quaint higgledy-piggledy roof garden which is a real suntrap.
Recommended for a brief stay, if you're on a budget.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Most reviews I've read here before making a decision to stay at this riad are absolutely to the point. The place is very nicely decorated, the hosts are wonderful, and their homemade food is delicious. However, I would like to recommend everyone to slightly lower their expectations. No, I don't want to diss the riad on anything. But it is very important to know exactly what to expect, and sometimes one may have to adjust their western expectations to the Moroccan reality. In reality, the breakfast is almost always a few minutes late, the AC is not as arctically cold as it is at home, and the paint on a bathroom wall may be peeling. But despite all this, this riad is still a great place to stay and I would do so again without any hesitation.

Now, a few tips. Do reserve a taxi from the airport via the riad - in this case the driver will take you directly to the riad's door. It's close to impossible to find the place on your own unless it's marked on the map, you have a GPS, and you know the correct route. Do ask the innkeepers, Sara and Mokhtar, for recommendations about the food stalls on Jemaa El Fna. They have a dog and at least one cat on premises, so beware if you have any dog/cat allergies. 

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My husband and I visited Marrakesh for the first time and loved our stay here. However, we would highly recommend contacting the Riad in advance of your flight to let them know when to collect you - if you're unfamiliar with the medina it's extremely difficult to navigate (and we were taken advantage of by a "helpful" stranger). That said, the riad itself is absolutely wonderful and I wholeheartedly recommend it. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, and went out of their way to make our visit comfortable and pleasant. I highly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

After 7 days of trekking/climbing in High Atlas mountains followed by a 3 day sahara desert tour, i settled in here so i could explore, sight see, shop and get lost in and around Marrakech. When you first walk in you are transported in a oasis, very nice rooms, loved the terrace and the common room. Food was great, staff was very helpful and it was nice to finally meet sara in person. When i had to be up at 6 am for a early tour i had breakfast ready for me, that was a nice surprise. Easy walk to main square and all shopping your heart desires
If you are looking for a holiday inn express close to airport, then that is what you should get, if you are looking for a great locally owned raid, you wont do better then here

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The hotel was a charmingly traditional riad, and comfortable. Sara the owner's daughter, who manages the riad was most helpful and gave us lots of helpful advice. We would strongly advise anyone to contact her to arrange a pickup from the airport . We did not, and were ripped off. Sara was upset that we had missed her e-mail telling us about this. We agree that the location is not for everyone.

The views from the terrace, and the breakfast, were wonderful. But if you are a Hilton-type person this is not for you. For those who want an authentic experience, we highly recommend Sara and her riad.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Tamarrakecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tamarrakecht

Address: 132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Tamarrakecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tamarrakecht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.