We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Riad in the Medina with great hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tamarrakecht

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Tamarrakecht to your Saves list
Riad Tamarrakecht
132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Antwerpen, België
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Perfect Riad in the Medina with great hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Arrived in this Riad after a week hiking in the mountains and found exactly what we needed
A family runned riad where friendliness, service, and kindness are on place number 1.
The riad itself is very relaxing with the smell of roses everywhere.
Very romantic rooms and a great breakfast.

Definitely my number 1 choice if i am coming back to Marrakesh one day.

One tip: difficult to find, but best way to get there is arrive at Bab Aylan (the aylan gate) then it should be the second or third street left and again the first left.
If you cross the whole medina it will be very difficult...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    22
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
120
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Look no further than Riad Tamarrakecht for the perfect place to stay in Marrakech. In short, it is stunningly beautiful, incredibly relaxing and run with a warm professionalism that any hotel should try and replicate. The hospitality we received from Sara and her family was outstanding and really did help to make this trip unforgettable.

We were met at the airport by a pre-arranged taxi organised by Sara (we would highly recommend this, especially if you’re arriving late as the Riad is quite hard to find for the first time). As this was our first trip to Marrakech we didn't know what to expect and we were a little hesitant as we were led down a small alley to a fairly unprepossessing door. The minute we walked inside, we knew we had made the perfect choice; an instant oasis of calm from the busy streets of the Medina!

Upon our arrival, Sara offered us delicious mint tea and Moroccan pastries and then talked us through everything we needed to know – maps, routes, things to see, prices to pay for meals, goods in the Souks, taxi’s and so on….it was all invaluable information! We also ate at the Riad that evening which again, we’d recommend if you arrive late. The food, cooked by Sara’s Mother, was delicious (we ate there again as a result) & the whole evening made for the perfect start to our trip. Breakfast the next day (served on the beautiful sunny roof terrace) was equally delicious and helped set us up for a busy day exploring…after which, nothing could have been better than coming back to Riad Tamarrakecht to relax in our beautiful, spacious and clean room before heading out all over again.

Words cannot express all the wonderful nuances of this fantastic Riad but when we come back to Marrakech, we won’t even need to look on Trip Advisor as we know exactly where we’ll be staying and we cannot wait to go back!

Thank you Sara and your family for all your kindness and for answering our MANY questions!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The welcome and hospitality we received from Sara and her family and staff helped to make the holiday a positive and unforgettable experience.
We were collected at the airport and we ate in the Riad on the first night as we arrived quite late in the evening. We had contacted Sara prior to our trip to make arrangements.The meals and breakfasts were served on the roof terrace and were excellent.We especially enjoyed the fresh orange juice in the mornings.
The information we were given and maps were really helpful and Sara was always around to help.
I would recommend this Riad to anyone visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuppertal, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We spend a wonderful week in the Riad Tamarrakecht beginning of April.
The Riad is only a 10min walk away from the Djemna el Fna.
What makes this riad really special is the care and hospitality of Sara and her family.
Sara and her family will take care of anything you require and will also organize taxis, tours etc.
The rooms are very nice and clean. Each room has a different style and is furnished with traditional moroccan furniture. The rooms are located around the atrium. The roof terrace is splendid and a great escape from the busy town to relax and enjoy the sun. You can also have your breakfast (which is very good) on the roof terrace - a great start in to the day.
The home cooked food is delicious and the best food we had during our stay. Many thanks to Sara's mom.
We spend an amazing time in Marrakesch!

We can highly recommend the Riad Tamarrakecht and we are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Lovely family run Riad in the old city. Beautifully decorated spacious rooms. Wonderful service and advice. Delicious food. Bab Aylan is the closest gate, and it is only a 10-15 minute walk from the main square Jamaa al Fna.
A friend and I had a 4 night stay at this Riad in April. When we arrived we were greeted with Moroccan tea and great hospitality. The room was much nicer than we expected, it was in fact beautiful and spacious and quite romantic. It had lots of Moroccan charm, presented in a clean and modern fashion. The bed was a king size and there was adequate storage space.
The rooftop terrace was perfect for breakfast and for lounging in the afternoon sun.
The family who run it are all very nice people and will go out of their way to help.
We were very comfortable there. It felt relaxed and friendly and I would highly recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at the Riad Tamarrakecht at the start of March 2014 and we couldn't have wished for a more beautiful Riad, with such wonderful, friendly staff.

From the beginning the staff - particularly Sara - helped us organise everything. Sara helped us arrange spas, taxis, hotels and was so friendly and accommodating.

The location was great and just a 10 minute walk to Djemaa El Fna square. We felt safe and had no problems, particularly with the help of the hand drawn maps!

The room was beautiful, spacious and comfortable and was such fantastic value. A particular highlight was breakfast on the roof terrace - the food was lovely and plentiful.

We couldn't recommend Riad Tamarrakecht highly enough and if (and when) we go back to Marrakech we would definitely stay there again.

If you're thinking of going to Marrakech, stay here!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This is a lovingly restored Riad located near the Bab Aylan in the medina of Marrakech. Sarah and her brother who run the hotel couldn't be kinder and more helpful. Every room is different and all are lovely. The rooftop terrace is great for breakfast and provides a fscinating view of the city. The breakfasts are fantastic! Highly recommended if you prefer staying in the warren-like medina over the Ville Neuve, with its broad avenues ans more familiar characterisics. I love the exotic, so I thoght this place was just perfect!

Room Tip: Every room is different and has a different price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Tamarrakecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tamarrakecht

Address: 132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Tamarrakecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tamarrakecht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.